Frosty Winter

As we live by the sea we don’t get many frosty mornings, but we have seen both frost and snow this month which inspired this frosty winter page.  

I started by recycling a piece of kitchen towel which I had used to mop up blue inks by tearing it into pieces and sticking them in place using some Liquitex matte gel medium; I used the wet gel medium to reactivate the inks which gave some of the white areas a slight bluish tinge. Next I arranged the pretty blue flower images and wording which were from a Paper Collection by Craft Sensations; the wording reads “A beautiful thing is never perfect”.

I continued the frosty theme by adding some glittery silver snowflakes, some Silver Ranger Stickles and also some round blue gems using Ranger Glossy Accents which finished the page.

As we walked along the promenade by the beach, we were surprised to still see a thick frost still lingering in the shadows behind the wall. The jagged edges inspired me to arrange the square corners of the images/wording diagonally across the page.

The flower and plant images that I included on my page were inspired by the frosty silhouette of the palm tree that we found on the slate in our front garden one morning – so amazing (grin!).

Hope that you’re all staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of the materials that were used to create this art journal page:

  • Recycled kitchen towel that was used to mop up Ranger Dylusions Ink Spray (After Midnight), Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Speckled Egg) , DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (Black)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Craft Sensations (Creative Paper Collection CR0458/GE)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • X-Press It! double-sided tape
  • Docrafts Create Christmas Glitterations (Snowflakes – Silver PMA818917)
  • Hobbycraft Decorative Embellishments (Blue Round Gems)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
Challenges

I’m pleased to join the lovely Erika from BioArtGal over at Art Journal Journey and her Favourite Things challenge this month as seeing the snow and frost is always one of my favourite things

I’m so pleased to join the Squares Challenge at Country View Challenges with the square of wording on my page.

I’m happy to join The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog and their So Delicate challenge with the delicate wispy edges of the kitchen roll background and pretty snowflakes.

I’m also joining the Make Your Own Background challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge with the frosty background I created.

I’m pleased to join the MITCB #45 – Anything Goes + Bleaching challenge over at Mix It Up Challenge Blog with my frosty page too.

I’m also joining in the fun over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge and their We’re On A Roll challenge with the round blue gems on my page.

Don’t forget that you still have over a week to join our Winter Blues challenge at Try it on Tuesday too; it would be lovely to see you there!

25 thoughts on “Frosty Winter

  1. That is a gorgeous frosty page Jo. You captures such great detail with your crinkled tissue paper. And those leaves on the black do look frosty. Of course I want to say you are lucky not to get too much frost. Actually frost is cool but snow and ice…smile. And thanks for the idea of linking up to Country View Challenge. I never get over there as I never remember too. It’s fun to try out new challenges. Thanks for joining AJJ. Much appreciated. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very cool page, Jo. Frosty feel for sure and the torn mop up is perfect choice for that backdrop. Love the snowflakes and your words too. Great page for all your challenges. So great to see your pictures too. Where your live looks very pretty. Hugz

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My sincere apologies for taking so long to visit. Sometimes life gets in the way of computer time. I’m so far behind, I may never catch up, but I’m trying.

    I love how you recycled kitchen towel bits to add both color and texture. This turned out beautiful. It was great that you placed the images and quote on the diagonal. It made for a great composition. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Art Journal Journey using Erika’s theme, too.

    Intriguing how the ice melted away as the sun shone on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Here is another ingenious way to make a background. I hope the blue ink spill was not too disastrous and I’ve been told that a mistake or disaster is a design opportunity. It looks great when it has been softened by the medium. The blue flower images are indeed very pretty and I am impressed by your inspiration for placing them diagonally. Inspiration is everywhere and I love your jagged edges. I hope you are enjoying the cold weather and I think it must be easier to walk on the beach rather than on icy paths.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Indeed a frosty look to this, and frosty photos too. We haven’t gotten any snow this year and likely won’t, but it’s been more consistently cold than usual. We’ve had several frost-blanketed mornings. Since we only get snow on occasion, I have come to see the beauty in frosty mornings. 🙂 Have a good week, XOX

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great artwork and photos. I didn’t realize it until seeing your artwork, but in the Winter, when I think of blue, I think of cold and frosty like your artwork. And in the Summer, when I think of blue, I think of warmth and summer oceans. Blue is quite a versatile color. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How lovely it must be to live by the sea. I am longing to go for a walk along a promenade somewhere – anywhere will do. It is good that you were inspired by the patterns as you walked and in your garden.
    You certainly created a beautiful page in your journal. I love the background. So often I have a piece of kitchen roll that I like but then I save it and later it gets binned. I should remember that you tore yours into small pieces and try that some time. It works so well on this page and the addition of the flowers with those dark backgrounds and the words all in rectangles looks so good. Also it is nice to know that someone else uses Stickles. I love mine and find it is the quickest way to add glitter (I am not a real glitter fan but love the look of Stickles) and it certainly works well within your journal page.
    Loved it, thank you for sharing.
    Hugs, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. First, it tickles me to hear your words for paper towels there! Second, I love how you are inspired by your surroundings, and you seem to have nailed the cold frosty environment in the confounds of your art journal page! The snowflakes are so delicate and perfect for our So Delicate challenge at The Funkie Junkie Boutique blog! Looks like I have a few more of your wonderful projects to enjoy! I’m so thankful you play along!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.