Sisters

This page was inspired by my sister; we go to Aqua Aerobics every week together where you’ll find us singing along to the songs and giggling (a lot – smile!).

Purple is my sister’s favourite colour, so I started by painting a purple wash around the edges of the page; gradually pulling the colour into the centre so that the purple faded out in the centre. Then to make the centre brighter, I added some white acrylic paint blending it with the purple using a baby wipe. Next I used a stencil, around the edges of the page, to add some Ranger Texture paste which I had coloured using DecoArt Glamour Dust Purple Passion Glitter Paint, and then I left it to dry. The wording was a Kaisercraft sticker and reads “Giggles, secrets, sometimes tears, sisters and friends, through the years”. I added some little hearts that were cut from the sticker cardstock using a heart shaped punch. Finally I arranged the paper flowers and assorted gems, which my sister gifted me one Christmas (thank you!).

There’s still another week to join our Inspired By A Song challenge over at Try it on Tuesday; me and my sister always enjoy singing and “Sisters” is a favourite of ours.

Of course, the Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye lip-synced version is fab and so much fun (smile!); both are from the same film, White Christmas.

As part of my birthday present this year, my sister kindly treated me to some Purple Moose beers; here we have Elderflower Ale (Pale Ale), Chocolate Moose (Chocolate and Vanilla Porter), High Hops (Tropical IPA), Antlered IPA (India Pale Ale) and Navigator (Red IPA).

My gift included this amazing glass, if you look closely it has lots of little white mooses all over it – yay! As T Stands for Tuesday, I’m sharing my glass and beers with the T Gang – cheers and Happy T Day!

I hope that you are staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

13 thoughts on “Sisters

  1. I love how your last post was about brothers and now we’re onto sisters. That’s a classic and fun song from White Christmas, and it’s great you have an actual sister to inspire you. I wonder if you dressed up like the performer sisters did in White Christmas. Nice you used her favorite color too. I really like your page, and I really like that birthday gift. What a cool glass. I hope you have or are having a happy T day. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an awesome page! Love the purple and the flowers. Sisters are very awesome – I have four sisters and two brothers (but only one of my sisters is still with us). Love the videos and photos you shared. And what an awesome moose glass!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a wonderful way to honor your sister and make a fabulous journal page, too. I had never heard that song before, so I’m glad you share both the original and lip-synced one.

    There was no stout (crying right now), but your sister knew how to give you gifts you would appreciate. Those beers are wonderful, but the glass is even more special. I am so glad to see you posted this week for T. Thanks for sharing your journal page, the videos, and your beers with us for T this Tuesday, dear Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve made my day with Danny Kay and Bing Crosby! And their version of Sisters was hilarious.

    The beers look very interesting, but of course the glass is really special.

    Nice journal page to honor your sister.

    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very fun post. I would love to hear the songs but it’s the middle of the night so my computer is on mute!

    Enjoy your beer!

    best, mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your page is gorgeous Jo! I’m a lover of the purple color too! There’s nothing better than to be inspired by memories and then to think of that person while you’re creating it! Love the popped out flowers and the tiny hearts added to it! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great art journal page, Jo. Thank you for the videos. Loved White Christmas. I miss the old actresses and actors. Today it just isn’t the same. Happy T Day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.