Birthday cake

It was my birthday last week, and I thought my birthday cake packaging and ribbon would be great to recycle to create an art journal page, so here it is (smile).

I started by adding the wording “Have your cake & eat it”, which I ripped from the bag that the cake came in and then stuck into place using a glue stick. Then I added clouds over the page covering the wording too, to match the blue cloudy sky design on my cake, using Speckled Egg and Salty Ocean Distress Ink and a Slimline Sunburst Stencil/Mask by Marianne Design. The circles were die cut from the cake box packaging and I arranged them onto the page with the pretty rainbow ribbon which was around the base of the cake. To finish, I added some Tim Holtz Label Stickers to the circles; they read “Happy Birthday, “Eat cake”, “Thanks” and “Make a wish”.

Don’t forget that there is still another week to join our Rainbow Colours challenge over at Try it on Tuesday, it would be lovely to see you there.

Here’s my birthday cake, it was a light sponge cake filled with buttercream and raspberry jam, covered and topped with royal icing decoration; it was very yummy and we needed a fire engine with all the candles my mum added to it (smile!). 

Hoping that you all stay safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m joining the lovely Valerie and her Geometric Forms challenge over at Art Journal Journey with the circles on my page (smile!).

9 thoughts on “Birthday cake

  1. Your cake box makes the perfect background for a page. And it certainly has lots of geometry on it. Thanks for sharing it at AJJ for Valerie’s challenge. That is a great looking birthday cake too. I hope it was a good celebration. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fabulous cake! How surprising it was to read it had been covered with Royal Icing, not many are these days. Well done on your mum for finding one and what a fun cake it was with all those balloons flying about.

    Great idea of yours to keep the box and make it into a journal page. I love the wording on it and the way you have reworked some of the background to proide more interest.

    Belated Birthday wishes, & a Hug, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday to you, Jo! I think that birthday cake looks like a fun time! Your inspiration for your AJ page is stunning! I love those very large letters and happy colors! So many fun elements and a great idea! Enjoy a fabulous weekend! HUGS

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m trying to concentrate on the fabulous page you made and ignore the cake! Sadly won’t be eating cake today, but did indulge while out with friends last week…and won’t be doing it again for a while. Thanks for sharing at AJJ,,hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.