Let’s get lost (in Venice)

It’s the first Friday of the month, so it’s time for our new challenge at the Creative Artiste Challenge Blog, which as always is Anything Mixed Media Goes.

My mixed media page was inspired by a trip to Venice last month (smile!).

For the background, I applied Antiqued Bronze Distress Paint over the page and then I smooshed and stencilled some Salvaged Patina Distress Paint over the top. When dry, I used the same stencil to apply some more of the Antiqued Bronze Distress Paint. Next I distressed different postcards and Venice design papers, from an Around The World Stamperia pad, using Ground Espresso Distress Ink and a Dark Sepia Faber-Castell marker. I arranged them onto the page with some photo images, which were recycled from a free Venice map. To finish, I added the fabric leaves, fabric bunting and “Memories like these …”,  “Adventure”, and “Let’s get lost” stickers; everything was by Little Yellow Bicycle.

For more inspiration please check out the amazing creations from our Guest Designer and my fellow Design Team members over at Creative Artiste too. All you need to do is to use three different mediums on your projects to join our mixed media challenge; I hope you are inspired to join us, it would be lovely to see you there!

Accademia was one of the areas that we explored and this is one of the views from the Accademia Bridge over the Grand Canal; the domed Basilica you can see is the Santa Maria della Salute which is also featured on my page (top photo image).

The flower shop, as we exited the bridge, was so very pretty (did you spot the lion in the centre of the photo on the pillar above the shop – smile).

We also had fun exploring the Garden District of Castello, with all the greenery I added the fabric leaves on my page. We enjoyed walking along the lagoon promenade through the green areas, parks and over the bridges.

Castello is where we discovered the Arsenale di Venezia, which I featured on my Venezia post last Friday, and this pretty bridge was very close by.

It’s very easy to get lost in Venice as it can be quite disorienting with the narrow streets and limited views. However with such beautiful scenery and architecture around every corner, who cares (smile!).

I hope you’re staying safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m joining the lovely Valerie and her Geometric Forms challenge over at Art Journal Journey with my rectangle images and paper pieces on my page.

10 thoughts on “Let’s get lost (in Venice)

  1. March looks like a fabulous time to visit Venice. I am going to keep that in mind. Your spread is really lovely. Those photos are wonderful. And the architecture is perfect for Valerie’s challenge. Thanks linking up to AGG. Have a great weekend. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jo! Venice is such a beautiful place, I have wonderful memories of my visit there. Thanks for sharing the lovely photos and for linking to my challenge, much appreciated.. Hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful layout with your Venice photos! The background texture works great with them and I really love the added elements too! These are such beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing and have an amazing weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Definitely memories you need to bottle and cherish Jo what a grand place to visit so much inspiration. Each element on your page tells a new story, the metallic stencil in the background is lush but my favourite has to be the banners with those extra pom pom snippets.. Fabulous share Jo… now I really wish I was there.

    So glad you enjoyed your break… Happy Crafty April Big Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A beautiful page to cherish your travel memories, Jo! Looking at how much you have loved your trip, I’m sure this piece will bring a smile to your face every time. 🙂 Your photos look so wonderful too, and I love that flower shop! Hope you have a happy and crafty month ahead. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love your pages Jo – a great reminder of what looks like a fabulous trip. We’ve never been to Venice but it’s on our list of places to go in Italy – did you enjoy it? Did it suffer from the smells often people complain about?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Fiona! Yes we really enjoy visiting Venice and have been there a number of times. We have found that March is a great time to go; the weather is normally sunny about 16 degrees Celsius, not too much rain this time of year although it’s worth packing a brolly just in case, and the water levels have receded so no flooding. You’ll find that the smells are more potent in Summer when it’s hotter, no smells while we were there in March. Also it’s a quieter time of year, so there are less tourists around. We love Venice and it’s definitely worth visiting. Hugs, Jo x

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.