Alphonse Mucha Exhibition

Whilst we were in Liverpool recently, my hubby treated me to the Alphonse Mucha “In the Quest of Beauty” Exhibition at the Walker Art Gallery. Mucha is one of my favourite artists, he is famous for his Art Nouveau artwork and the exhibition was amazing!

To match the pretty colours of the exhibition poster and booklet I started by covering the page with Watermelon, Guava, Peach, Butter Cream and Caramel Faber-Castell Gelatos and smudging the colours with my finger which I wet with a baby wipe. I applied two layers of gelato colour to achieve a brighter intensity of colour and then I used Earl Grey gelato around the edges of the page to frame it. Next I stamped a series of art nouveau designs over the background using Pistachio Memento Ink; this included a wood mounted circular design by Dovecraft, a scrollwork design by Royal & Langnickel and a flower design by Craft Sensations. I added the cream art nouveau border vertically on down each side of the page which is an outline sticker and then I covered the whole page in a thin layer of watered down Liquitex Matte Gel Medium using a paintbrush to fix the colours and stamped images. As Mucha always added beautiful flowers to his posters, I stencilled a flower design from Craft Sensations using Pébéo modelling paste, I used the stencil several times to build the image allowing the modelling paste dry between each application. I arranged some pretty paper flower blossoms on the page, sticking them down using double-sided tape and foam tape. I layered and curled the petals to give them more volume and used large pearls and clusters of pearls from Trimcraft, for their centres. Then I stuck the Alphonse Mucha exhibition booklet onto the page using double-sided tape and added a piece of lace trim along the bottom and a paper flower.

The lace trim is secured around two of the larger pearls so that it can be unfastened on one side to allow the booklet to be opened. I outlined a circular vintage die cut shape with a moss Spectrum Aqua marker and stuck it to the page using double-sided tape; I liked that it had text on it as we learnt so much from the exhibition information that was alongside the artwork. Then I added a butterfly from the same die cut pack using double-sided foam tape which finished the page.

We really enjoyed the Alphonse Mucha Exhibition, it was so informative and the artworks were breathtaking. As many of the artworks on show were originals no photos were allowed and in fact the lighting was subdued in the exhibition to preserve the art pieces. For photos and more information about this exhibition click here.

If you are interested here are some interesting facts we found out about Alphonse Mucha and his beautiful art:

  • Alphonse Mucha (1860-1939) was an artist and illustrator who was born in Czechoslovakia. We were surprised to find out how much he travelled throughout his career between Prague, Paris and America.
  • He rose to fame in Paris in the late 1890s with his advertising posters for the famous French actress Sarah Bernhardt. The first poster he designed for her was in 1894 for her production of “Gismonda” and it was so desirable that people stole the oblong panel prints from the hoardings. Following the success of the first poster, Mucha created a further six theatrical posters for Bernhardt. They were to revolutionise poster design with the use of the long narrow shape, the subtle pastel colours and the full-standing figure of the actress placed in a raised shallow alcove.
  • Following the success of theatrical posters, in 1896 Mucha created some 80 poster designs over the next five years for the publisher F.Champenois to advertise their products. We found out that the advertising posters reflected the modern rich Parisian life in La Belle Époque (The Beautiful Age) with a female figure central to the composition, flowers and beautiful decorative motifs.
  • Mucha’s fame also lead him to receive commissions to design product packaging and ornamental objects as well as advertising posters. We saw intricately designed perfume bottle boxes and labels as well as biscuit tins, labels and box wrappers at the exhibition.
  • Mucha had a long-lasting friendship with French Sculptor Auguste Rodin, who Mucha called Master (maître). There were many photos of them together as Mucha was a keen photographer too, in fact he also used photography to capture the female models he used for his posters.
  • His work inspired the then emerging Art Nouveau style and is easily recognisable with his distinctive graphic designs; he has inspired generations!

On exiting the exhibition I had fun trying on the different flower headdresses, which one do you prefer, we have spring, summer, autumn or winter (grin!).

Challenges

With the circle designs of the stamps, outline stickers and die cut, I’m pleased to join the “Circles” challenge over at Try it on Tuesday.

Mucha is well-known for his central female figures and elegant artwork, so I’m also joining in the fun over at Moo Mania & More for their “Make It Feminine” theme.

As my flowers design includes stencilling using modelling paste, I’m pleased to be able to join the “Stencils” challenge over at Country View Challenges.

I’m also happy to join the “All Creatures Great And Small” Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Faber-Castell Gelatos (Watermelon, Guava, Peach, Butter Cream, Caramel, Earl Grey)
  • Tsukeniko Memento Ink (Pistachio)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Moss)
  • Pébéo Modeling Paste
  • Dovecraft Wood Mounted Stamp (DCRS99)
  • Royal & Langnickel Clear Choice Stamp Set (Ornate Scrollwork Mini-CCS123)
  • Craft Sensations (Clear Stamps CR0274/16R1)
  • Craft Sensations (Deco Stencil Set 154892)
  • Alphonse Mucha Exhibition Booklet – Walker Art Gallery
  • The Range (Crafting Lace CR0546)
  • Docraft Anita’s Outline Stickers (Delicate Lace Borders White ANT8101510)
  • Trimcraft Fall in Love (Adhesive Pearls LCDOT002)
  • Dovecraft Collections Back to Basics III (Paper Blossoms DCBL005)
  • The Works M&C Boutique (Vintage Die Cut Shapes)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided tape & double-sided foam tape

35 thoughts on “Alphonse Mucha Exhibition

  1. Gorgeous page, love the delicate colours and patterns – very pretty indeed. Lucky you being able to go to the Mucha exhibition, his paintings are always so amazing. Nice headdresses, too, all of them. Thanks for linking to TIOT, too. Have a good weekend, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! The Mucha exhibition was so amazing and it’s a lovely memory to capture in my journal 😁. The headdresses were fun, glad you like them all …lol 😉. Wishing you a Happy November and good weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  2. I simply adore this post. I am a BIG fan of Mucha and I think you did a great job of bringing the exhibit home. I especially appreciate how you treated the booklet by placing the lace over it. I always love interactive art, and this one really said a lot. So much detail and beauty. You captured the Art Nouveau movement beautifully with your laces and flowers. And I fell in love with you trying on headdresses, too. I could never pick just one, I fear. Hope your weekend is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! We did actually get two booklets as they formed part of our tickets and I thought I’d use one for my journal page. I wanted to keep the booklet intact though, I couldn’t bring myself to cut it up …lol …. It’s nice and safe in my art journal so I can look at it again and again, which makes me happy 😁. Have a wonderful weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  3. This page is UNIQUE! I love this amazing colours and all the lovely details you added – that is adorable! I can imagine that this exhibition was most enjoyable! GREAT!
    I think all the headdresses go nicely with your charming smile!
    Thank you very much for joining Moo Mania & More dear Jo ! Thank you also very much for joining us at Try It On Tuesday!
    Happy weekend my friend!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Several years ago, the Worcester Art Museum had a Mucha exhibition. Not only his paintings but jewelry and objects. They had a large book of his work for sale in the gift shop, and I splurged. You look so pretty in each of the floral crowns. Hard to pick just one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, you are very kind! I’m not sure about any of the flower crowns, it was only a bit of fun and if I had to choose it would be the the warmer coloured flower crowns as yellow is not really one of my colours …lol 😉. We had so much fun at the exhibition and I bet your book is amazing and a much loved keepsake 😁. Wishing you a Happy November and Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  5. We missed the Mucha exhibition as we had to cancel our planned trip to Liverpool the other week and now I fear I am too late! (just looked – I am!!) This is fabulous page Jo – the colours and style you have used very much reflect Mucha’s art! So pleased to see that you linked to Try It On Tuesday! Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh you lucky girl, the exhibition of Muncha’s work must have been awesome to see.
    The page you created is gorgeous and it is a lovely idea to include the booklet on the page as well as all the other fantastic details.
    You suited all the flower combinations, I think if it were me I would like the autumn shades, but its always down to how we feel ourselves.
    Thank you for joining us at TioT’s Jo , we love seeing your work over there.
    Happy weekend
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Yvonne! The Mucha exhibition was amazing and his artwork was so intricate and elegant 😁. The flowers were just a bit of fun, I’m not sure I’d wear any of them …lol 😉. Wishing you a happy weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  7. Wow. You made a super page Jo. I can see the inspiration you had for it. I have never heard of Alphonse Mucha. I checked him out on line. He made some beautiful works of art. Too bad for us we couldn’t see photos of it, but I am glad you at least introduced me to a new artist. Have a fabulous weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Astrid! We had a wonderful time at the exhibition and I was so inspired that this page just seem to come together once I had created the background and the white stencilling looks so pretty with the paper blossoms and pearls 😁. Wishing you a Happy November and Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  8. Hello, Jo. We went to this amazing exhibition when it was in Glasgow. Wasn’t it wonderful, we spent ages admiring everything. Thanks for all the great reminders of what we saw.
    Your own art page really captures the delicacy and colour and pattern of the Mucha art. The background is out of this world and so creative, and I like the way you’ve made the stencilling, superb work. I see you are also now tantalising me with the Gelatos and their evocative colours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Sheila! It is an amazing exhibition, isn’t it, and I’m glad my page reminds you of the wonderful time you had too 😁. The gelatos are always so colourful …lol 😉. Wishing you a very happy weekend! J 😊

      Like

  9. Jo, this is stunning! What a wonderful art visit, and loved seeing your playful moments at the end with the flowers. I am a fan of Art Nouveau so this was a treat to see. Your cover is so lovely and feminine with the colors you chose and pretty lace. Thanks so much for the lovely comments you leave me, I really enjoy hearing from you! Thanks so much for sharing your awesome project with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge! hugs, Maura

    Liked by 1 person

  10. hi jo,your mucha page is so beautiful,i love mucha too,and the colors with the white roses is so amazing 🙂
    your wonderful headresses is so wonderful with your charming smile,i love all of them.
    iam glad you have fun of this mucha exbitions .-)
    wishing you a happy sunday,dear jo!

    jenny

    Liked by 1 person

  11. A beautiful page Jo, and you’ve captured Mucha’s influence so well. Lucky you going to the exhibition. I did one a good few years ago when I visited Prague – Fabulous.
    Avril xx
    p.s. Thanks for sharing at TioT

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh what a fun to visit an exhibition of the amazing Mr. Mucha. I love Art Nouveau and especially Mucha’s Artworks. Your Mucha page looks great! The photo game with you and different flowers is a nice idea and looks gorgeous. My favourite is you and the big white flowers. To visit exhibitions is evey time a great inspiration isn’t it?
    Big Hugs
    Sabine

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always enjoy visiting exhibitions too and you are right you come away with so much inspiration 😁. Mucha is a fabulous artist and we really had a wonderful time looking at his art and finding out more about him, it was amazing! Wishing you a lovely week! J 😊

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.