Take a chance

I love to recycle and use up leftovers from previous projects on my pages, so here’s such a page to inspire you to join our Nature challenge over at Art Journal Journey, which I’m happy to be hosting this month. I hope you’ll join us there!

For my grungy background, I recycled some paper kitchen towel which I’d used to mop up Distress Inks; they were layered onto the page using Liquitex matte gel medium. Next I added the two butterflies and lots of die cut foliage and flowers that were in my craft stash; as far as I remember, the butterflies were stamped using a Paperbabes Stamp set using black Archival Ink onto some ink stained tissue paper, and the flowers and foliage were die cut using a Wildflower Thinlits set by Tim Holtz from yellow and brown tissue paper, and also from some black/white cardstock that was recycled from some cookie packaging. I added the wording “Take a chance don’t ever look back” which was a Kaisercraft sticker. Then to finish, I splattered the page using black DecoArt acrylic paint.

This page was inspired by these colourful flowers that we saw whilst walking to Riva from Torbole in Lake Garda, Italy.

I love Red Hot Pokers and these looked picture perfect with Riva and the mountains in the background.

Thank you so much for joining me and I hope you’ll join us over at Art Journal Journey.

Happy Journaling! Hugs, Jo x

Challenges

MIUCB #68: Nov 1 – Dec 15 — Anything Goes + optional Stamping (rubber/clear – no digis)

Triple B Challenge BlogBirds, Butterflies & Blooms – November Challenge

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Grunge It Up

15 thoughts on “Take a chance

  1. Such a beautiful page! I wish I would think to use leftover bits from other projects and/or paper towels used to mop up inks! I’m so absentminded sometimes and just throw stuff away without thinking. But I really love this and the look you achieved with these items! SO pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love using interesting “dirty” kitchen rolls and also other bits that I work on. This piece is quite pretty, and I can see why you attached it to your background. I have a page I die cut some plants using printed paper too. It gives a great look, doesn’t it? And I’m just checking one last time if you ever got my AJJ email. Have a great rest of your week, and we’re happy to have you join us too. Or I should say I am happy you’re joining us. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautiful Jo and a great reminder of your trip to Italy. I love the texture and how its a perfect backround for your images. Fabulous inspiration, hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How lovely that you can relive the joy of your holiday in this page in your journal. The colours are so pretty and I love how muted the whole look is. The butterflies add to the gentle look of this page.
    Hugs, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.