How long is forever?

Over at Try it on Tuesday our challenge for the next 2 weeks is Add A Quote; we are not looking for a one or two word greeting.

I created an art journal page inspired by a quote from Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, Alice asks “How long is forever?” and the White Rabbit replies “Sometimes just one second”.

For the background, I started by stamping the clocks using a Provincial stamp set by Kaisercraft and Ground Espresso Distress Archival Ink and also a Steampunk stamp set from Docrafts and Vintage Photo Distress Archival Ink. Next I added some cogs and wheels through a stencil by Paperbabe Stamps using Vintage Photo Distress Ink. Then I used the corresponding template from the same Paperbabe Stamps Stencil set to apply Scattered Straw Distress Ink. I sprayed some water over the top and used a kitchen towel to mop it up which gave the background more of a blurry/grungy look. I used a Fragments stamp set from Tim Holtz to add the pretty wallpaper detail, over the Scattered Straw Distress Ink, using Hickory Smoke Distress Archival Ink. I then coloured the clock faces by painting them, like watercolour, with some Hickory Smoke Distress Ink.

The little girl was a Maryleedee in Wonderland stamp from Paperbabe Stamps which Kim kindly sent me as one of my prizes for winning her challenge over at the Paperbabe Stamps blog. She was coloured using Spectrum Noir markers, fussy cut and then stuck in place.

For the quote, I used a Bellissima Alphas stamp set by Docrafts which I stamped on some recycled playing cards; I applied Pébéo white gesso to the playing cards and when dry, the words were stamped over the top using black Archival Ink. I cut the words into tiles and edged them with some Ground Espresso Distress Ink and then I coloured the letters using Spectrum Noir markers before arranging them onto the page.

For more inspiration please pop over to Try it on Tuesday to see all the quotes my Design Teamies used on their wonderful creations too (grin!). I hope you are inspired to join our challenge; it would be lovely to see you there!

My page reminded me of Alices, where we used to go for afternoon tea (grin!). Unfortunately this café closed before the lockdown which is such a shame as it was an amazing place.

There was so much thought and detail with regards to design – there were stairs on the ceiling and chairs as lights, upside down electric plug sockets, beautifully decorated furniture and even the door fittings were back to front!

There afternoon tea was served on mismatched china and consisted of a delicious selection of sandwiches, crisps (chips) and salad, scones with jam, cream and strawberries as well as a selection of cakes and a big pot of tea – yum! As T Stands for Tuesday, I’m reminiscing about Alices and our afternoon tea with the T Gang and wishing you all a Happy T Day!

Hope that you’re all staying safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

For the sake of brevity I’m no longer listing the individual items that I used to create my page, however I’m more than happy to let you know which particular product was used if you contact me via comments below or using the following contact me link.

Challenges

As well as Try it on Tuesday, I’m pleased to join the following challenges:

Art Journal Journey and the lovely Erika from BioArtGal who is hosting this month with her Let’s Face It challenge as Marydeelee in Wonderland is on my page.

Paperbabe Stamps and their #159 – Anything Goes challenge with my Wonderland page – thanks so much for the stamp!

Love To Scrap Challenge Blog and their LTSCB #153 – Anything Goes challenge with my Alice page.

Out with the Old, in with the New over at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog with the new Marydeelee stamp and old clock stamps and recycled playing cards that I used as part of my design.

Anything Stamping Goes with the option of Wings challenge over at We Love Stamping all the stamping on my art journal page.

33 thoughts on “How long is forever?

  1. Cute page though Alice looks like she could get up to some mischief. I really love the alphabet stamps you used. Too bad Alice’s Tea Room closed it looks like a fantastic spot, The cream tea looks delicious, too. Happy T Day

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The designer of Alice’s tea room had plenty of imagination for interpreting Lewis Carroll’s descriptions. I love the dishes on the ceiling! The food looks right in keeping with the decor. Too bad it’s out of business.

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That Maryleedee or Alice, is a cutie. You color SO well. I was impressed. I also love that stamp set you used for the quote. It’s also colored beautifully, too. Such a sweet entry and she’s perfect for Erika’s theme at Art Journal Journey, too.

    I remember you taking us to Alice’s before. I was saddened to read they have closed. So many places have been forced into that very same situation. I really enjoyed seeing the tea and the wonderful high tea spread they created. That would be a treat in anyone’s eyes. Thanks for sharing your incredible art and Alice’s wonderful restaurant with us for T this Tuesday, dear Jo. I was simply thrilled to read you have joined us again for T Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a fun page and quote Jo. I love that alphabet set. I haven’t seen it but it works great for making quotes and having the individual letters capture the eye too. And that is too bad about Alice’s tea shop. It looks like such a fun place, and if your photo is a good example, a yummy place too. I’m glad you’re back for T day too. Hope you are doing well and want you to know I am thinking of you. Thanks for sharing that fun page over at AJJ. It’s perfect with that cute Alice. Have a great T day and week ahead Jo. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oh this is just incredible. I love the Alice you used she is so sweet. The tea room looks like it was fun, such a shame it closed. There is a Mad Hatter one near to me. Thanks for sharing with us at We Love Stamping challenge.

    Like

  6. Alices looks like a place I would enjoy – how sad that it closed. I can understand that you remember it fondly. Their afternoon tea looks so delicious!
    Beautiful art journal page!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a shame Covid put an end to so may, our own village tea room also closed, but you lovely creation is a fitting tribute to s special place, thanks so much for sharing with us at We Love Stamping.

    B x

    Like

  8. I love this fantastic Alice styled page Jo and the super images you used. I think many of us could relate to the quote you used in these current times.
    Stay safe Jo.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fantastic AJ page with lots of details and lovely PaperBabe stamps and stencils!! A so beautiful piece of Art!!
    LOVE the photos of the Alice’s Cafè, thanks for sharing! It’s really a big shame that has been shut down because of covid restrictons!
    Thanks so much for joining us again at We Love Stamping January challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow! Your Alice AJ page turned out so cool with the clock background! Really amazing coloring with the Alice image too! That did look like a wonderful tea room joint to be in and I would certainly want to take a visit there! Thanks for sharing and have a happy day!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What fabulous page Jo. I love the clocks as part of that background with the vintage style wallpaper. A great idea to use playing cards to add your words. Maryleedee is a perfect stand in for Alice and also makes this a wonderful addition to Erika’s AJJ theme! I’m sorry we didn’t get to Alice’s for tea before they shut down! Belated Happy T Day,Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What an amazing place that cafe was. Being an Alice fan i would have loved to have gone there. Your page is amazing too, I love how you have created that background, such a lot of work has gone into it but it is well worth it. I tend to only like Tenniel’s Alice but must say I like this one, she is so refreshing and must be so nice to colour.
    A truly delightful page and especially for the Alice fans.
    Hugs, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Beautifully coloured Jo it’s as if she is wearing Alice’s very same dress. The sky blue really pops against the distressed clock face background and I adore the font(s) from that letter stamp.
    How amazing was that little Tea room, such a shame it is no more.
    Thanks for sharing your fabulous page over @ PBS Challenge xx
    I hope you and the family are keeping safe and well? Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Wow! Your art journal page is absolutely beautiful, Jo. I love the background, the way Alice stands out, and the wonderful quote! And it looks like Alice’s Tea Room was such an amazing place. I am so sorry to hear that it closed. Thank you for sharing your amazing page with all of us. Hugs, Sharon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.