Fall into Autumn

Hello Everyone, I’m so pleased and honoured to be Guest Designer today for the Fall Foilage challenge over at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog.

Jennie is hosting this challenge which is described as “According to most search engines the Fall season has officially begun so we should be starting to see the emergence of all those beautiful Autumnal colours, unless Mother Nature throws us a curve ball! Let’s celebrate them anyway by creating a vintage or shabby chic project in traditional Fall shades that includes some form of foliage”.

This Fall Foliage challenge was perfect as I love the leaves and colours of autumn so my page was inspired by our woodland walks that we enjoy this time of year. As I also wanted to combine both the American and UK names for this season, I added the saying “Fall into Autumn”.

The woodland background was created using some fun techniques with Colourcraft Brusho powders; the colours I used were Yellow, Sandstone, Orange, Brilliant Red, Moss Green and Dark Brown. First I sprinkled the Brusho powders over the left-hand side and bottom of the page, spritzed them with water and then watched the magic as the colours exploded on the page. I used a piece of kitchen paper towel to mop up any excess colour and then I applied more of the Brushos until I achieved the finish I was after. Next I splattered the page with the Brushos that I had diluted with water and then using Liquitex matte gel medium I stuck the coloured kitchen towel (which I had just used to mop up the excess colour) over the top. As you can see the kitchen towel also had some black acrylic paint on it and it added the most gorgeous texture for my woodland setting.

The fungi images were from a Field Notes Ephemera Pack from Tim Holtz; I stuck them to the page with glue dots and then covered their bases with small pieces of the coloured kitchen towel so they blended into the foreground. Then I added some twiggy brown grasses which were die cut using a Funky Florals Thinlit set by Tim Holtz from some cardstock that I coloured with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

The branches and leaves were cut from different autumnal coloured design papers using a Fall Foliage Thinlit set by Tim Holtz. I edged some of the leaves using a Dark Sepia Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and then arranged them onto the page so it looked like the leaves were falling from the tree branches to the woodland floor. To finish, I added the “Fall into Autumn” wording which was die cut from the same design papers as the leaves using a Docrafts alphabet die set.

I love the yellows, browns and coppers colours of the autumnal leaves …

… and this time of year we see lots of fungi on our woodland walks so I thought I’d capture them on my page (grin!).

Both me and my hubby love this time of year and it happens to be our 32nd wedding anniversary today. We are normally on holiday but as you probably guessed we are happily staying at home this year instead, so I’m sharing a photo of us when we travelled to Maine in America that was taken on our anniversary a few years ago – wishing you a very happy anniversary my darling hubby, love you (grin!).

Thanks so much to The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog  for having me as Guest Designer! I hope that you are inspired by the Fall Foilage challenge too and are able to join in the fun!

Stay safe and keep well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m glad I found out about Challenge Blogs, like it The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog , as I enjoy taking part, they provide me with inspiration for my pages and are a wonderful way to meet like-minded arty people. So here are the challenges I’m joining today:

I’m so pleased to join the LTSCB #138 – Fall Back over at Love To Scrap Challenge Blog with my Fall into Autumn art journal page too.

I’m happy to join in the fun over at the Mix It Up Challenge Blog with the Brusho techniques I used.

Over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge their challenge is Dry Embossing, so I’m pleased to join them with the embossed linen textured cardstock that I used on this page.

I’m also joining in the fun over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge and their Make It Sparkle challenge with the sparkle from the metallic cardstock I used for the yellow leaves on my art journal page.

Don’t forget that you still have time to join the Autumn Colours challenge over at Try it on Tuesday too; it would be lovely to see you there!

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Colourcraft Brusho Colours (Yellow, Sandstone, Orange, Brilliant Red, Moss Green, Dark Brown)
  • Kitchen Paper Towel used to mop up Brushos
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Poundland Design Pad (Changing Seasons CR0701/16PL1)
  • Metallic Linen Embossed Textured Cardstock – Paper Bundle
  • Tim Holtz Sizzix Thinlits (Fall Foliage 660995)
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology (Ephemera Set – Field Notes #TH94051)
  • Stix 2 glue dots
  • Docrafts X-Cut A5 Die Set (Folk Alphabet XCU503286)

20 thoughts on “Fall into Autumn

  1. Happy number 32 Jo. Time has flown by, hasn’t it? Love the photo of you and your husband in Maine. Staying home isn’t so bad as long as you celebrate somehow, even in a small way. And your page today gorgeous. The Brushos and the scrunched up tissue really create a wonderful ground for the falling leaves and mushrooms. This page has a lot of depth. Enjoy your anniversary and take care. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy, Happy Anniversary Jo – here’s to the next 32 years, my they be just as happy as these past years have been! Love the journal page with the wonderful colours, so beautiful, as are the gorgeous photos. Love those fungi! Have a great weekend, stay safe, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy slightly belated 32nd anniversary. And you two still look happily in love, too. Not just in the photo above, but ones you have taken recently. Congrats, too on being the guest designer. Nice honor.

    I like to use that same sentiment because I’m one American who prefers to call it autumn. I love how the leaves are falling from the branch and landing near the fungi, This is a brilliant, brilliant entry, Jo.

    I really like how the leaves are turning in your area. They don’t turn like that where I live. You have a glorious place you can walk.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, happy belated Anniversary to you and your husband! I loved seeing the photo of the two of you here on American soil, and the photos of your local nature. How fortunate you are to have such a lovely place to walk and trees that actually turn. (We have very little fall color here in the coastal south.)

    I love your AJP with that brilliant watery background, the ‘shrooms (as seen on your walk) and the leaves. The title is just perfect, too! Thanks so much for being our special guest designer at The Funkie Junkie boutique blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.