Makes your soul sing

I was so pleased to see the robin in our garden this month that I created this art journal page to celebrate (grin!).

I started by painting the page with some white acrylic paint and when it was dry added some Dark Sepia Faber-Castell Big Brush marker by scribbling the ink onto a blending mat and then applying it to the page with a baby wipe. Next I tore some green heart designed paper and an old calendar page into strips, edged them with Cold Grey Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and stuck them to the page using a UHU Stic. I die cut some foliage from recycled tissue paper using Tim Holtz Wildflower Stems thinlets, they are stuck in place using Liquitex matte gel medium. The robin is fussy cut from an old calendar and the wording is stamped using a Paperbabes Stamp Set and the music notes using a Docrafts Stamp Set using black Archival Ink. I coloured the wording using a silver Derwent Rowney Paint Pen and a Cold Grey Faber-Castell marker; it reads “Create what makes your heart dance and your soul sing”. Then I splattered the whole page using black DecoArt acrylic paint and added some wooden flowers using glue dots, which finished the page.

We haven’t seen our robin much this winter, so I was excited to see him sitting in the tree at the back of our garden; this is a European Robin not to be confused with an American Robin (grin!).

He also made his way to our bird feeder too (grin!)

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m pleased to join the lovely Eileen from The Artful Crafter and her Green challenge over at Art Journal Journey this month with the paper and flowers that I used.

I’m joining in the Bit O’Green challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge with the green that I added to my art journal page.

I’m happy to be able to join the Use Some Green challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge with my page too.

I’m also pleased join the Anything Goes challenge over at Paperbabe Stamps with my page.

I’m also happy to join in the The Eyes Have It challenge over at Country View Challenges with my robin on my art journal page.

I’m also joining the Aquamarine challenge over at the Frilly & Funkie Challenge Blog with the blue/green coloured paper on my page.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Art Discount Acrylic Paint (White)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Dark Sepia 175 B, Cold Grey IV 233)
  • Studio Light Paper Pad (PPSL84)
  • Old Calendar
  • UHU Stic
  • Recycled tissue paper
  • Tim Holtz Sizzix Thinlets (Wildflower Stems #2 664164)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Paperbabe Stamps (Fun Alphabet Outline Stamp Set)
  • Docrafts Creativity Essentials A5 clear stamp set (Musicality DCE907112)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Daler Rowney Acrylic Paint Marker (Silver)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (Black)
  • Melinera (Scatter Decorations – Wooden Flowers)

26 thoughts on “Makes your soul sing

  1. I’m friends with three robins in our garden at the moment – we sing and chat to each other as I’m feeding the birds, and it really does make my heart sing – especially the one who perches right next to me as I put the food out. I love your Robin page as well as your lovely photos.
    Alison x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am in LOVE with this wonderful page and
    Create what makes your heart dance and your soul sing
    fits perfectly and I can tell your heart always is singing on your pages and mine sings as well watchin and enjoying your art!

    What a lovely Robin, I have one in my garden restaurant as guest from time to time as well but never get a good photo. Great pic!

    Happy weekend dear Jo!
    Susi xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful page Jo! I love the pop of red from that sweet robin. We are fortunate to have a pair of robins in our garden this year. I love the way that they dance around each other.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend,
    Alison xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I adore your sweet page and robin Jo. You were lucky to be able to get the photographs as well, they seem such shy birds in our garden.I like how you used the torn papers for the background as well. Thank you for linking to Eileen’s theme at Art Journal Journey.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely and sweet gae, JO. I love that you alwyas share your inspiraion too. I’s fun to see what sparked your muse. Thank you for sharing this with us at AJJ. Eileen xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your robins in England are so cute. I can see why you were excited. Nice page. I love the little flowers you added. They give a nice touch of spring. Happy weekend Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your robins are SO different from ours in the states. They are much cuter than ours. This was a lovely journal page, Jo. I was especially interested in how you created and outlined the words/letters. Thanks, too for sharing this with us at Art Journal Journey using Eileen’s theme. It’s a real beauty and makes me want to sing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a gorgeous AJ page, as always, Jo! How beautiful a bird both on your page and at your feeder! Much prettier than our robins here in the USA! Thanks so much for sharing your artwork and inspiration with us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog. Praying for you and your family’s health during this uncertain time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The collaged robin and the real ones are lovely Jo, they brought a smile to my face too! Gorgeous page, and his eye is perfect for our challenge at Country View, thanks for sharing with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A great page Jo and I love your quote. We have a resident robin in the garden who I love to watch and I’m pleased you managed to capture him on your feeder, it’s a lovely photo.
    Stay safe and take care, Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.