For Men Only at Sparkles Monthly Challenge

I’m thrilled and honoured to be able to join the Design Team at Sparkles Monthly Challenge and as we launch a new challenge theme on 15th of each month, today our theme is For Men Only.

For those of you who don’t know me, I live by the sea in the North West of England with my hubby and I started Art Journaling just over 6 years ago as a way of expressing my life through words and pictures. I really enjoy paper craft and I often make cards/tags for family and friends and I find myself drawn to papers and die sets more and more; so I’m looking forward to sharing these cards, tags and mini page creations with you at Sparkles.

For today’s page I used some amazing Stamperia Voyages Fantastique papers.

I started by collaging bicycle papers from a Stamperia Voyages Fantastique 8×8 paper pad onto the page using a glue stick and then I added three pieces of green bicycle washi tape. The man on the Penny Farthing and the clocks were cut from the same Stamperia paper, edged using Ground Espresso and Rusty Hinge Distress Ink with a blending tool and then stuck in place using double-sided tape. I also edged the whole page using the Distress Inks too. Next I arranged some chipboard cogs and numbers, which I had covered with copper embossing powder and a sprinkle of Antique Silver embossing enamel, onto the page using Ranger Glossy Accents. Then to finish, I added some copper metallic domed gem stickers.

I hope you’ll join us at Sparkles Monthly Challenge too, for more inspiration please check out the amazing For Men Only designs from my Sparkles Buddies in the Design Team too – thanks so much for having me and for the warm welcome! We would love for you to join us but please be sure to check out the rules here.

As T Stands for Tuesday and to compliment the masculine steampunk design of my page, I’m sharing this Steam Brew IPA and saying a big hello and welcome to the T Gang- Happy T Day!

This beer is alcohol 4.9% vol and is described as “The delicate but nevertheless aromatic body of the triple-hopped Session Pale Ale ensures a pleasant drinking experience. The exclusive hop variety “Vic Secret” surprises with exotic and tropical, fruity notes”.

Of course when I noticed the glass I’d used, I took another photo to reveal the lion etched onto the glass as it made me think of Iris in the T Gang – Roar!

I hope that you’re staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

As well as Sparkles Monthly Challenge , I’m pleased to be joining the following challenges:

Paperbabe Stamps and their #163 – Anything Goes challenge with my masculine page.

Rather Blustery Day challenge over at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog as creating masculine pages is for some reason difficult for me – do you find this too?

Bit O’Green challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge with the green bicycle washi tape and hints of green as part of the paper design on my page.

30 thoughts on “For Men Only at Sparkles Monthly Challenge

  1. That is a fantastic page Jo- those Stamperia papers are gorgeous! Great looking design on the beer can, and I love that you spotted the lion for Iris. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your page is fabulous – and very “manly”. I’m not a steampunk fan, but I do like your page and especially the paper you used. And I certainly like the bicycle washi tape. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations for being on the design team for Sparkles Monthly Challenge.
    Oh a great page! I love steampunk. And that is probably why I also bought that beer you showed. They sell it here at Lidl. (Together with other variaties) .
    Happy T-Day,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats for joining a new design team Jo. Your steampuk page is amazing. Stamperia makes some great papers, don’t they? And what a cool beer can. I love how your can works with your page. I wonder which inspired you first. I hope you had a wonderful T day and week ahead. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on being on yet another design team, Jo. How wonderful for you and for us so we can see the beautiful art you create. Your steampunk inspired art with the embossed cogs scream manly. Simply wonderful. BTW, I have that same bicycle washi tape. It’s the first washi tape I ever got.

    Thanks for sharing your Pale Ale with us. It sure looks good in that glass with the lion, too (nod to Iris). And of course, thanks for sharing your art for T this Tuesday, dear Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jo, love those papers on your AJ page. I actually almost bought those papers this week – I think I am going to go buy them now. Fab theme – I may have to join in. The drink looks and sounds fabulous – I know I would like that one. I thought of Iris the minute I saw your glass – lol. Happy T-day! Hugz

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your page is awesome Jo! I love the Steampunk theme and I think it’s very fitting for a masculine style look too! I have some of those Stamparia papers/stamps and haven’t even used them yet…so maybe it’s more difficult than I thought?! LOL Glad you enjoyed your beer and congrats on your well deserved DT spot friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Firstly; Congratulations on your new DT placement!! Secondly; Thank you for sharing the info on the Mothering Day details (I forgot to add that on the last entry) since I had no idea UK celebrated this during Lent. Thirdly; YES; I also struggle with making things for my ChiefHubby, yet I seem to be able to make it end up looking ‘manly’ when I’m shooting for ‘grunge’. ..??? And lastly; this GORGEOUS make is definitely helpful to me in the way of ideas on how to use those Stamperia papers! I do love the Paperie but struggle on what to use them for. My one & only time was successful, yet I haven’t tried since. Your page is simple yet clever! Thanks for inspiring others!
    And thank you for entering in The Funkie Junkie Boutique!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on your new DT position Jo, I will be sure to follow and hope maybe join in a challenge when life calms a little. Your cracked the man challenge with your Just for Men journal page. Love those Stamperia papers, find it hard to use mine, maybe one day hee hee.. The beer looks very refreshing, perfect for a sunny day.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend & hope a new tablets falls your way very soon (wink)
    Hugs Tracey xx … and thank you again for sharing @ PBS always a pleasure my friend x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! Yes I have lots of Stamperia papers and find it hard to use them but now how the perfect excuse to use them with joining Sparkles DT (smile!). Wishing you a wonderful weekend, enjoy the sunshine and plant repotting 😁. Looks like an angel (my mum) is spoiling me with a new tablet, she’s so kind and thoughtful. Hugs Jo x

      Like

  10. Congrats on joining the Sparkles DT. What a fabulous page Jo. I have started to cut into my Stamperia papers more – no point just having them to look at. This is a perfect masculine page. The can your drink is in looks so pretty – don’t think it would persuade me to drink beer, but a lovely can!!! Belated Happy T Day, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This is very cool! I am the opposite – I struggle with feminine pages – I have two sons and dont often created frilly or pink…Thanks for playing along with The Funkie Junkie Boutique

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You had me at Stamperia… And for men, all of the collections of Voyage Fantastic and Mr/Mrs Vagabond are just fabulous!! I love the paper collaging and the copper embossing is the perfect finishing touch. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.