Have a cup of Positivi-Tea

I had fun creating this page out of recycled teabags to showcase the fun quote “Have a cup of Positivi-Tea” (grin!).

For the background I covered the page with used teabags using Liquitex matte gel medium and left it to dry; I found them difficult to stick down as they were a nylon type material which wasn’t very malleable, luckily I wanted texture so the lumps and bumps didn’t matter. To add to the texture you can see black speckles which are dried tealeaves and I also stuck the strings and tabs from the teabags onto the page too. I stamped the page with a Chevron stamp from Kaisercraft and black Archival Ink, and then I added more colour using Tea Dye Distress Ink which was spritzed with water to blend out the colour. Then I applied Dark Sepia Faber-Castell Big Brush marker along the edges of the page to frame it.

The wording was created using some silver glitter foam letter stickers which added some sparkle and dimension.

The teacups and saucers were cut using a die cut from Crafter’s Companion from some turquoise paper that I backed with card. I added some shadows to saucers at the base of the teacups using a silver Daler Rowney paint pen and also some lines to the teacups and saucers using a black Uni Pin marker and some silver Stickles. As the surface was uneven I stuck the teacups and saucers in place using glue dots and to finish I added some little cupcake stickers.

The Hot Cinnamon Spice tea I have been drinking is made by Harney & Sons and is a black tea with cinnamon, orange and sweet clove – so delicious! This pretty tin of teabags was gifted to me (I normally buy loose leaf tea) so I thought I’d recycle the teabags especially as they were made of this nylon type material as I’m pretty sure that they wouldn’t break down in the compost bin (grin!).

As T Stands for T Day, I’m sharing my page and tea with the T Gang and wishing you a Happy T Day! Also for those who love lions and kittens (you know who you are – grin!) you may wish to check out my last post (I was thinking of you while I was creating it – double grin!).

I hope that you are all staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

With the texture from the teabags, stamping, foam stickers and Stickles, I’m pleased to join the Texture challenge over at Art Journal Journey that I’m hosting this month; it would be lovely to see you there!

I’m joining the Staying in the Background challenge over at the The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog with the teabag background that I created for this page.

I’m also pleased to join in the fun over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge and their Frame It challenge with the simple frame I created with marker on this page.

I’m also happy to be able to join the #128- Dimensions challenge over at Paperbabe Stamps with the dimension from the letters and teacups on my page.

Here is a list of all the scrap materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Recycled teabags
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Kaisercraft Clear Stamps (Chevron CS149)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Crafty Things (Eva Letter Stickers 51114)
  • B&M Craft Goody Bag (Turquoise 321451)
  • White cardstock
  • Pritt Stick
  • Crafter’s Companion Signature Collection by Sara Davies Vintage Tea Party Metal Die Set (Toppling Teacups)
  • Daler Rowley Acrylic Paint Marker (Silver)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.5mm)
  • Ranger Stickles (Silver)
  • Stix2 glue dots
  • Fun Stickers (Cupcakes 603)

29 thoughts on “Have a cup of Positivi-Tea

  1. I love the pun of your pretty page. So clever. I just had a cup of that same blend the other night! It’s getting quite chilly at night and cinnamon tea makes a perfect cup of comfort at night. Happy T Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very very fun play on words for your page Jo. I love the tea theme (had to go make myself a cup of tea when I saw it). Using the tea bags makes not only a great background but also some cool texture. And your tea choice for T day sounds quite good. I just made a cup of ginger peach. But yours has a great fall sound. Hope it’s been a great day. Happy first day of fall too. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A fantastic inspiring page for your Art Journal Journey theme Jo. I love those images you used and your play on the main word . Tea comes high on my list these days, together with positive thoughts.
    Stay safe.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooooh, I have tried that hot cinnamon tea and it is delicious! I haven’t had it in a while but it makes me want to run out and get some. It is the perfect fall tea.
    I am loving your journal page with it’s Ode to Tea. What a great way to re-purpose teabags. Your composition is great!
    Happy Tea Day,
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, Jo! Oh, I always love seeing a tea page. Such cute foam letters and matching glitter on the cup rims too. Interesting way you had to adhere the background. I hate when things don’t work but your background is lovely regardless. I hope you are having better weather than we are. Happy Weekend! XXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I wasn’t bothered about the teabags as I wanted the texture and I was pleased how it turned out too …lol 😀. We’ve been having such beautiful sunny days the last two weeks although we have rain today but the garden is very happy about not 😉. Happy week and weekend to you too! Take care! Hugs, Jo x

      Like

  6. What a fun page and definitely a fun background. The tea bags give great texture and the little speckles of tea add an almost rust-like look. Thanks for joining us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That Tea does sound delicious Jo, maybe one to warm the cockles now the weather has become much cooler. Love your page with it’s teabag background and very cleverly worded glittery text, your sparkly embellished cups and saucers are very well matched.
    Happy to see this dimensional delight over @ Paperbabe stamps, many thanks for sharing.
    Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fun cups of positivi-tea – I’m reminded of Denise Daffara and her Creativi-tea posts!
    I have both loose and tea in bags, need to play with some in my collage as well! I grow Tea Camellia, and must say my own green tea is one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.