Use Your Scraps

For the next two weeks our new challenge over at Try it on Tuesday is Use Your Scraps.

I find it very hard to throw things away so have lots of scraps in my craft stash so this challenge gave me the perfect excuse to get creative using them; I hope you like it too (grin!).

I often have scraps leftover from journal pages although I have to say my pile of scraps didn’t really get any smaller, but I so enjoyed creating this pretty art journal page.

My selection for this page was from my scrappy box of embellishments, words and die cuts along with my inked and stamped papers which are created when I experiment with ink techniques and stamps before using them on my pages. I often stamp onto tissue paper so I can position images and wording on my pages too.

I started by tearing an A5 piece of paper, that was stamped and covered with ink, into five pieces and stuck them onto the page using a glue stick. Once in place, I added more images that had been stamped onto white tissue paper which included postage marks, flowers, tags and wording. I layered them together with bits of blue tissue and decoupage papers, torn pieces of wallpaper and sheet music and also papers that I had tested different colours of blue inks on. I covered the edges with a light covering of Liquitex matte gel medium so when dry I was able to outline them using a black Uni Pin marker (without my pen being ruined by the glue) and smudging the marker using my finger. Next I added some scraps of torn washi tape which I also outlined using the black marker.

For the birds in the birdcage, I cut up and joined together three different failed stamped images to create the one on the page which looks pretty perfect now (grin!) It is hung from a tree branch which was also previously stamped on some tissue paper.

From my scrappy box, I added some white die cut hearts, a couple of blue sequins, an alphabet button, a couple of paper flowers and some wording that I had pre-cut from a birthday card; this finished the page.

To inspire you further, my Design Teamies have been busy using their scraps over at Try it on Tuesday too, please pop over and take a look at their amazing creations!

As T Stands for Tuesday, I’m sharing my cup of green tea that I enjoyed with a Chorley Cake from a local bakery. As you can see this pastry was actually as big as my head so of course I shared it with my hubby (grin!). I’m saying a big hello and welcome to the T Gang and wishing you all a Happy T day!

If you didn’t know, a Chorley Cake is a flattened fruit filled pastry traditionally associated with the town of Chorley in Lancashire, England. The filling can be made from currants, raisins or sultanas which are evenly distributed and sandwiched between two layers of unsweetened shortcrust pastry. These cakes are not to be confused with an Eccles Cake which uses flaky puff pastry and is normally baked to a deeper brown in colour and covered with sugar. Here in Lancashire, Chorley cakes are often eaten with a light spread of butter on top, and sometimes with a slice of Lancashire cheese which makes them extra yummy (double grin!).

I hope that you are all staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m pleased to join the Texture challenge over at Art Journal Journey that I’m hosting this month with the collage layered texture on this page.

I’m so happy to join the Birds challenge over at the The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog with the birds in the birdcage that I added to this page.

Here is a list of all the scrap materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Stamped and inked papers, stamped tissue paper, ink coloured paper
  • Pieces of blue tissue and decoupage paper
  • Pieces of wallpaper and sheet music
  • Pritt Stick
  • Liquitex Matt Gel Medium
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.2mm)
  • Bits of torn washi tape
  • Die cut white hearts
  • Sequins
  • Alphabet button
  • Paper flower embellishments
  • Ranger Glossy Accents

28 thoughts on “Use Your Scraps

  1. I love your scraps page Jo, it looks amazing!
    This challenge is right up my street, as I’ve been using scraps on my icads this year. My box doesn’t seem to be getting smaller either 😂
    I’m craving a Chorley cake now, your one looks very tasty!
    Hope you’re having a good week,
    Alison xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Alison! I loved creating this page, it’s so much fun to use up scraps 😁. Happy to share a Chorley Cake with you …lol! We are having lovely sunny days here – yay! I hope you’re having a good week too! Hugs, Jo x

      Like

  2. Loving your scrap page. The colors are pretty and nice to see you use those bits rather than tossing them out. Those scraps just keep collecting, don’t they? And your page is perfect for AJJ too. And I have never seen or heard of a chorley cake. It is huge. Sound yummy.Hope you enjoyed it with your tea. Have a great T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love how you put together so many scraps to make a delightful and cohesive page Jo! And wow- that Chorley cake is huge but it sure does sound yummy with a cuppa tea or coffee. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This page looks like it was so fun to make! I love the love birds at the center of it all and of course, that wonderful color palette! Great page! So perfect for our Birds theme! Thank you for joining us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique challenge blog! PS I didn’t finish reading, but went straight to looking up Chorley Cakes, and you described it perfectly! Looks yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi love your page-I save scraps too-that is an excellent theme for a challenge
    I loved the photo of your cuppa and the chorley cake-thanks for explaining as I didn’t know what they were-sounds delish Happy T hugs Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello Jo! I am right there with you. I can’t bring myself to get rid of scraps. Perhaps that is why I can’t find anything on my worktable. HAHA. Your used of scraps is perfect on your page. I love how you incorporated all sorts of interesting images and doodles into the background. And I love that you organize your scraps in a container.
    I enjoyed reading about the differences between cakes. Your Chorley cake is huge and it sounds SO yummy. One more thing to add to my ‘things to bake’ list. Thanks for sharing.
    Happy Tea Day,
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A great way of using up your scraps Jo, there’s so much to look at.
    I had a Chorley cake when DD was at Uni in Preston, but it was nowhere as bit as that, but still very yummy.
    Have a great week, Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A fabulous page Jo I spent a while looking at all the scrap pieces you added, I think like many of us your pile will be just as high by mow.
    Great inspiration for both the challenge themes.
    Stay safe.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a fun page using scraps. I like how you outlined fragments with your black pen. Amazing how the bird cage did come together perfectly in the end.
    That chorley cake is huge. I have never eaten one, though I am familiar with eccles cakes. I’m sure it is just as nice.
    Happy belated T-Day,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are so organized. All you scraps in a box. You put them together beautifully. Love photo of you with the big Chorley. As I was reading I thought, “What is a Chorley” and then you answered the question. Sounds sooo good to me. Enjoy your day.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You have some very neat scraps. I love the page you made with them. Thank you for the “stamp text on tissue paper” tip.

    Happy T-Day. Stay safe and well. Hugs, Eileen

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mmmm chorley cakes, it’s midnight but I could still eat one hee hee! Love your scrap page Jo, had a little squeal when I saw this TioT theme, one of my favs and I have to say you are very good if that is your only scrap box, your hubby would surely faint it he saw mine 😀 Those miss stamped images look fine to me, and add to it’s whole ambience. Super duper page.
    Thanks for sharing Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Tracey! I have more scrap boxes than this …lol… I have tidied up though so don’t have as as much as I did … I’d rather create than tidy , it seems far more appealing to me 😁. Happy weekend! Hugs, Jo x

      Like

  13. I apologize for taking so long to visit. It was definitely beyond my control. I’m trying to catch up, but it’s harder than I actually imagined it would be, especially with my very slow internet.

    I really like how you store your scraps. Yours aren’t hodge podge like mine. And your page is wonderful. Thanks for another wonderful entry using your theme at Art Journal Journey, too, dear.

    That is ONE BIG Chorley Cake. I can see why you shared it with your husband. I’m sure it went well with your tea, too. Thanks for sharing it with us for T this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I never knew about Chorley cakes… cousin of the Eccles cakes that I am quite partial to…
    Love your “recycled” page, personally I try to use my bits but it really is a losing battle and the bits keep on multiplying!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I saw “scraps” and I had to click lol. It’s my fav thing to use but you’re right, the pile doesn’t get any smaller lol. I really need to find a better system to store it all. I love the colours in this one too and all the little bits and bobs that you used. I have not had one of those pies but I would like one right now haha. My BIL has cheese on his Christmas cake and preferably Lancashire cheese. He got me into that too, and it is delicious. Elle xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.