Moose Coffee

October means a week of Birthday celebrations for my hubby! So we went to one of our favourite places, Liverpool and discovered a wonderful café called Moose Coffee which inspired this page.

moose-coffee-ajp

To start I added 3 strips of washi tape to the page and applied silver metallic paint with my finger and then a baby wipe. I used stencils to build up layers of metallic copper ink spray and Brusho crystal powers which I diluted with water to make a spray and then Distress inks which I applied using a blending tool. I edged the page by applying Faber-Castell Big Brush marker ink using an old plastic gift card and then added the pumpkin images which are rub-on transfers. The moose is cut from decoupage paper and stuck to the page using a UHU stic, it is outlined with Big Brush marker and the words “hot chocolate” and “pumpkin spice” are stamped using Memento Ink. I used the lovely takeaway cup from the café to adorn my page too, using my Big Brush marker again to edge them.

cafe

Liverpool has some beautiful architecture, here’s the wonderful café building, isn’t it fab!

sign

I love this sign too – this metal work inspired the industrial look of my page and the use of the metallic paint and spray.jo-hot-chocolate

So when we saw all the syrups in the café window, we went in and asked if they had Pumpkin syrup. They did so instead of coffee we requested a shot of their pumpkin spice syrup in a hot chocolate, which is not at all common here in the UK so we got some surprised looks. They use real chocolate to make their hot chocolate drink and with the addition of the pumpkin spice syrup it was so very very yummy! In fact we liked it so much that we ordered a bottle of the syrup to add to the hot chocolate we make at home. I’m wishing a Happy T Day to everyone over at T Stands for Tuesday and a big hello to all of the T Gang!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Michelle Marsden Crafts Scrumptious Precious Metal Spritzer  (Copper)
  • Colourcraft Brusho Crystals (Dark Brown)
  • Poundland Metallic Acrylic Paint (Silver)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Brushed Corduroy, Black Soot)
  • Memento Dye Ink (Rich Cocoa)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush artist pen (Sanguine 188 B, Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Viva Décor Universal Stencil (Past Times 9002 703 00)
  • Creative Expressions That Touch of Mica Masks (Distressed Dots)
  • Ranger Dina Wakley Media Stencil (Wheels MDS45588)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alpha Folk DCE907115)
  • The Works (Enjoy the Ride Washi Tape)
  • The Works Santoro Decoupage Paper (SNDEC043)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Transfers (Bats, Cats & Ghosts #EDW355 Rub-on)
  • UHU Stic

26 thoughts on “Moose Coffee

  1. I love your journal page and the wonderful moose, he looks like he’s enjoying the coffee as well.
    The drink you ordered sounds yummy, you must be pleased to finr the pumpkin syrup on sale, so you can enjoy adding it at home.
    Happy T Day
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YUM you did a great job inspired by the industrial chic of Moose Coffee Cafe.
    You really are a pumpkin fan aren’t you 😉
    Continued Happy Birthday celebrations to your husband.
    We only got to stay one night in Liverpool on our UK trip and we wished we’d had more time there.
    Happy T Day and thank you for your visit and really nice wishes Jo.
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Patty! Yes we love anything pumpkin :-). We always enjoy ourselves in Liverpool, it’s such a beautiful city and there is so much to see and do! It’s so nice to talk with you, thanks for stopping by and wishing you a very Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. A belated happy birthday to your husband. It certainly looks like a great place you went to and the pumpkin spice syrup sounds really interesting.
    I love your page and how you created the same atmosphere as the cafe.
    Thanks for your kind comment.
    Happy T-Day and a good week ahead also,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would have been here sooner, but Sally called and asked me to go to the doctor with her in case she couldn’t drive home after her procedure today. Then it was off to vote early and shop for Sally’s medical supplies and reduced Halloween candy.

    I fell in love with that sign because it looks rusty and I LOVE rust. I also like the eclectic mix of buildings in your photo. Of course, it is also wonderful that you shared the entire experience in your art journal, too. I never get over how you relate your journal pages to everyday life.

    That chocolate and pumpkin sound wonderful together. You may have started a new trend. Thanks for sharing it with us for T this Tuesday, and please wish your husband a lovely belated birthday. Seems I’m running late everywhere today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I love to capture memories in my journal, it’s so much fun creating the page and looking back to recall events and experiences :-). My hubby says thanks very much for the birthday wishes. Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  5. My hubby just had his birthday too, but I was sick with this head cold so it was VERY uneventful. I love the idea of hot chocolate with pumpkin syrup. I bet it was good. And your moose page is great. I live in moose country so I love a good piece of moose art. Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry to hear you are unwell, hope you are better soon! I love moose – I have a few Christmas decorations from New England with moose on them and to create the moose image for my page I drew around a metal moose wall hanging ornament we bought at the Fryeberg Fair :-). Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

    • Many thanks Chris! Anthony Gormley’s Another Place at Crosby is wonderful isn’t it (unless you get there when the tide is in … lol!). Thanks for the heads up they have a Moose Coffee there :-). Happy belated T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  6. Love your moose inspired page Jo and all the fabulous details.
    The café sounds fascinating and the pumpkin spice syrup very intriguing, I would never
    of thought of that in a cup of chocolate.
    Hope you’ve had a good week…. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love your moose page. I have never seen one in my life. What a majestic animal! That café is perfect. Who wouldn’t love to go to Liverpool and drink coffee there?! Belated Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.