BOO!

This page was inspired by all the questions and interest I had in my last post about Pumpkin Beer. As you can see these guys are having lots of fun in the pumpkin patch!

boo-ajp

I applied a very thin layer of light red Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour paint with a baby wipe and then sprinkled Colourcraft Brusho Crystals powder over the top. I used three colours of the Brusho powders, dark brown, orange and yellow, and spritzed them with water, and then I watched the magic as the colours exploded on the page. These Brusho powders are amazing; there are so many different effects you can create with them. Once dried I stamped leaf images using Archival Ink, then re-stamped them off-centre using Distress Inks to give them a ghostly appearance. I added the ghosts which are rub-on transfers I bought in the sale at a local craft store. To finish I applied Faber-Castell Big Brush marker ink using an old plastic gift card and Uni Pin black marker to the edges of the page and some gold gem stones. This was a really fun page to create and makes me smile when I see the – BOO!

beer-glass

Thanks so much for all your interest in our pumpkin beer, we make beer throughout the year and pumpkin is one of our favourites. It’s subtly spiced and amber in colour with an ABV (alcohol by volume) of 5.2%. To answer some of your questions, it takes around 6 hours to make and 6 weeks until it is ready. This time we made 40 UK pints (that’s 50 US pints) and it will be ready in a couple of weeks, although it does improve with a little ageing – if it lasts that long! In the meantime I did manage to find a photo from last year, as you can see I always coat the rim of the glass it is served in with sugar and cinnamon – yum! Our inspiration for this beer comes from our holiday visits to America as pumpkin beer is readily available in the fall, unlike here in the UK. That’s why we get so excited when pumpkins are available in our stores as we can start to make our own pumpkin beer.

pumpkin-cityOne of the reasons we enjoyed our American holiday so much was the many pumpkins on display at farmers markets, farm stalls and just around town. It’s always such a lovely time of year to visit!

displayWith this month’s theme “Indian Summer – Golden October – Autumn”, I’m delighted to be able to join Valerie over at Art Journal Journey.

I’m also pleased to join the Halloween Party challenge over at Moo-Mania.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Colourcraft Brusho Crystals (Dark Brown, Orange, Yellow)
  • Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolours (Light Red)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Festive Berries, Spiced Marmalade, Fossilized Amber, Brushed Corduroy)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush artist pen (Sanguine 188 B, Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • BoBunny stamps (Falling Leaves #12105154)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Transfers (Bats, Cats & Ghosts #EDW355 Rub-on)
  • Poundland (504 Gems)
19 thoughts on “BOO!

  1. What a fun and fantastic page today, great colours and design. I love the effects with Brushos, too. I don’t drink much beer, but your pumpkin beer looks very inviting. Enjoy it! I love seeing all the pumpkins here, too. Thanks for joining us again at Art Journal Journey, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brushos are real fun to use, nothing turns out the same. which is a bonus and its good to see the results. I love what you did with this fantastic background. The ghosts are having a great time.
    Your photos of the pumkins looked great, I don’t think we will ever get to this stage in the UK.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This page is simply AMAZING! What a fun! Thank you so much for another fabulous idea linked to AJJ and to Moo Mania & More! You rock!
    The beer looks so inviting – I would really love to taste it and I am glad that here we also have many pumpkins ( but sadly no pumpkin beer ) to see everywhere just now. That wasn’t so popular in the past as I remember- as I was younger we ate no pumkins – they were just grown in Styria here and used to make pumkin-seed-oil and the rest was pigswill. But now they are very popular for delicious recipes here as well.
    Today I got a big pumpkin from a small self-service stall at the roadside. It took me nearly 5 minutes to chose one. They had so much different colors and forms – I took a classical orange one and I put it on our outside entrance area – but just for a few days a guess – I am looking forward to eat it!!!
    Happy Thursday Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BOO to you, too. I adore this page, and simply love the leaves and the ghosts. It’s a wonderful AJJ and MM&M entry.

    I was delighted that you explained this beer to us, and I like how you serve it, too. I’ve never seen it here, but I live in the midwest (US of course), where we don’t often get the good beers from the west and east coasts. Your photos of autumn look like home, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jo! I love your happy journal page – those ghosts certainly do seem to be having fun in the pumpkin patch! I have heard of Brusho powders before but have not tried them. There are so many fun art supplies out there to try aren’t there?! Your pumpkin photos are great, too. Glad you enjoyed your vacation. Thanks for sharing your work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You had me fooled with that photo. I’m thinking, it looks like around my house. Then you mention it was from your trip so that makes sense. 🙂 I love cinnamon sugar around the rim with pumpkin beer. Like dessert. 🙂 Loving the ghosties on your page today. Not only Indian Summer but very much Halloween too. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • So funny … lol! The photo was actually taken in Cornish, which is in Maine, when we went to their Apple Festival, I seem to remember that it’s not far from New Hampshire :-). We had the perfect time wandering around and looking at the shops and stalls, I loved the apple fritters too – they were delicious! Happy Days! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Your happy playful ghosts look wonderful on your lovely Autumn page Jo!
    You and your husband seem to enjoy each moment and it is fun to hear about.
    Beautiful fall photos and your pumpkin brew does look extra inviting with your spice rimmed glass.
    Sorry I haven’t been around much.
    Such a lot going on here and in all directions I am finding it a real challenge to focus.
    Happy beginning of the weekend oxo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Boo-tiful page Jo – your ghosts are adorable and your page has a gorgeous glow – I love it!
    The sugar and cinnamon on the rim of your beer glass sounds really nice – loved reading the last 2 posts about your home made beer – thanks for sharing.
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

