Eat Cake

It’s a new month so it’s time to launch a new challenge over at Country View Challenges which is Happy Birthday; the lovely Monika is hosting and asks that “you join this challenge with a birthday card and/or a gift”.

So for this challenge, I’m sharing this fun birthday card which I created using a Sizzix Celebration Cake Mini Thinlits Die.

I started by die cutting the cake using the Sizzix Thinlits die from some leftover soft pink cardstock, some recycled grey paper and some bright pink design paper. I also used the same bright pink paper to create the background and frame the cake by die cutting a circle from the paper. Then I layered everything together onto a 3×3” white card and I embellished the cake with a thin strip of the background paper and a pretty flower sticker. To finish, I added the “Eat Cake” wording which was a Sentiments Label Sticker from Tim Holtz.

As this card design was simple to make, I made a few of them to send to family and friends.

For more inspiration please see the amazing creations from my fellow Design Team members over at Country View Challenges. I hope you’ll join us, it would be lovely to see you there and you never know, you might even win a £20 voucher for the Country View Crafts shop! Before you enter, please read the rules!

As I’m also joining T Stands for Tuesday today, I’m continuing the birthday theme by sharing my cuppa with a piece of one of my homemade birthday cakes (smile!) – Happy T Day everyone!

Wishing you a Happy August and I hope that you’re staying safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

As well as Country View Challenges, I’m pleased to be joining the following challenges:

Paperbabe Stamps and their #173 – Anything Goes challenge with my birthday cards.

LTSCB#156 – Anything Goes over at Love To Scrap Challenge Blog with the leftover and recycled papers that I used on my cards.

27 thoughts on “Eat Cake

  1. Your cards are fun Jo, and it was smart to make a stack of them at the same time because if you’re anything like me, you all of a sudden need a birthday card, having forgotten that it is someone’s birthday. And your cake looks very yummy too. How did you get the chocolate so smooth? Or perhaps it is fondant. Either way, it looks yummy. Happy August my friend. I hope your month starts off in a good way and you have a happy T day also. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those cards are fabulous. I like how you created several and they are so versatile, too. So great that you changed the backgrounds and the sentiments to match the color of each cake.

    Your real cake is unbelievable. I’ve never seen a piece of cake stand up like that before and not fall over. It is amazing. Lovely to see it with your cup of tea. Thanks for sharing these remarkable birthday cards, your cake, and your tea with us for T this nearly Tuesday, dear Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What lovely cards! And so simple too. I have tried cutting holes like that but I have never been able to make a hole as well as you have done. Do you use a knife or scissors?
    Your birthday cake looks delicious. Was it really your birthday? Congratullations and many happy returns of the day.
    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fun birthday cards, Jo. Super cute. We should all eat more cake (or maybe I just wish we could eat more – lol). Love your coffee and cake picture – looks totally yummy!!! Happy T-day and hugz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.