Paris

Today I chose to travel back to Paris whilst Art Journaling for the new challenge that is being hosted by the lovely Alison over at A Vintage Journey which is:

We’re all getting older.

It has nothing to do with your age, it’s all about making things look older; here’s what the challenge is about:

“Time for weathering and distressing, or some ageing and antiquing. Make a project using techniques for making the new look old, whether that’s paper projects, altered art or mixed media. Just remember to ensure that you create in one of our preferred styles of vintage, shabby, mixed media, art journaling, industrial, timeworn or steampunk”.

I created a worn and distressed Art Journal page of Paris making the collaged papers look old.

To start, I ripped pieces of book pages about France which came from an old encyclopaedia and also pieces from a sample of Paris themed wallpaper. Then I collaged them onto the page using matte gel medium.

Once dry, I distressed the collage papers by staining them using Ground Espresso and Brushed Corduroy Distress Inks. I did this by stamping the ink pads onto an acrylic block, spritzing with some water and pressing/dripping the ink onto the page and also by painting diluted ink along the edges of each of the collaged papers. To add to the worn grungy look, I also lightly sprinkled the page with some Dark Brown Brusho powder, spritzed it with water to activate the colour and dried it with my heat gun. Next I added some white gesso using a baby wipe and when dry, I edged the collaged pieces using a Dark Sepia Faber-Castell Big Brush marker smudging the ink with my finger.

I stamped a series of Paris related stamps using black Archival ink; the stamps included some little round “T” postage mark stamps from Prima Marketing and also a birdcage, bee, “Paris”, filigree branch and two crowns by Graphic 45 from Hampton Art. I then splattered the whole page with black DecoArt acrylic paint using a paintbrush.

I die cut some flower shapes and a round disc from dark brown and blue patterned papers using some Spellbinders dies and my Big Shot machine. Then I used two rectangular pieces of the same patterned papers which I distressed using scissors, the Brushed Corduroy Distress Ink and the Dark Sepia Big Brush marker. I cut out an oval picture of the Eiffel Tower from the wallpaper sample and backed it with white card. Then I layered them all onto the page using double-sided tape and added some pearl gem stickers along the edge of the patterned paper.

To finish, I added a butterfly sticker from Tim Holtz and some pretty pale blue silk roses which are stuck in place using Glossy Accents.

If you want to join in the fun why not create a weathered, distressed or age effect too and share it with us at A Vintage Journey, it would be lovely to see you there!

For more Inspiration, please pop over to see the amazing creations from my fellow Creative Guides over at A Vintage Journey too.

It seems like many years have passed since we visited Paris, so I guess I must be getting older but hopefully not as worn and distressed as my page (grin!).

This is one of the yummy patisseries that we went to – can you guess which cake I chose from the lovely display here?

My favourite is always the strawberry tarts, they are so delicious and I only had one, I promise … well I only had one everyday for the week we were there (double grin!).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m pleased to join Art Journal Journey where I’m hosting the Something New challenge this month as I took “new” papers and distressed them to make them look old. Also smooshing the Distress Inks directly onto the neutral collaged papers to make them look old was “new” to me and I’m so glad it worked; it was so much fun making them worn and grungy (grin!).

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Paris wallpaper sample
  • Book pages from old encyclopaedia
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Brushed Corduroy, Ground Espresso)
  • Colourcraft Brusho (Dark Brown)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Hampton Art 7 Gypsies (Birdsong ICO151)
  • Prima Marketing Clear Stamps (Rossi Belle 587499)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Spellbinders Die Cut – Unknown
  • The Works Paperstack (Vintage Experience CRO239/TW6)
  • X-Press It! double-sided tape
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology Salvage Stickers (Crowded Attic #TH92898)
  • The Works (Craft Flowers)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Poundworld (Pearl Embellishments)

19 thoughts on “Paris

  1. I love this vintage looking and distressed page Jo. Paris was a good choice for this challenge. Especially since it seems to work so well with the vintage look. I haven’t been to Paris in I think 11 years so I guess that means that I am also getting older-ha-ha. I also hope that means I am not as worn or distressed, but I don’t think you are from what I can see. The strawberry tart looks yummy. Happy new year Jo but I think I might have said that. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a treat of a page spread – those inky edges really do give the papers an aged look, and there’s a nostalgic feel to the whole thing, with perfect vintage images. It sounds as though you still have happy memories of your trip to Paris, and I think that shows in the page. Fabulous!
    Alison x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a beautiful collage Jo x I love the wonderful layered and distressed papers x Charming images and the jewels add to the finished appeal xx As Alison says its clear to see that you have wonderful memories xx
    Happy New Year xx
    Annie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You may have noticed I didn’t stop by to visit when you linked to Art Journal Journey, The reason is quite simple. Wednesday evening, just as I was saying good-bye to my dear friends SC and ND who dropped by to wish me a happy new year, my electricity went out. When I looked outside and saw the neighbors across the street, whose lights NEVER go out when mine do were also out, I knew it wasn’t a blown transformer. My friends decided to stay to see what the problem was. Not more than three or four minutes later, we heard sirens, not just police, but fire, too. We knew it sounded close, so we walked in the direction of the sirens. It was quite dark, but my friends had their cell phone lights to guide them. Two blocks west and one block south we saw that someone in a big truck had hit a light pole so hard, it knocked it over and stretched the wire so hard iy broke. That shut the electricity off in the area on one side, while the other side was draped over someone’s house and was zapping live sparks on the ground in the road.

    At first we thought it was a drunk driver, but after the ambulance arrived, we saw the man either had a heart attack or possibly a seizure. As the electric company was arriving, they told the crowd it would be at least a day before we would get our power back. Instead of staying home in the freezing cold and dark, my friend SC, who lives in another town, invited me to her home. I am just now getting home. Even though she has an I-Pad, I don’t know the password that gets me onto blogger (which is stored on my computer only). Granted, the electricity is on (I’m not sure how long it’s been on), but it’s freezing here. Thanks for understanding, dear.

    I love how you made the new papers look old. That was a great take on your theme, Jo. I wouldn’t have thought of that. That was inspiring. I also love the old wallpaper Eiffel Tower. That is awesome. Thanks for sharing another lovely (and inspiring) journal page with us for Art Journal Journey.

    I read the comment you left on my comment at AJJ. I DID get two gifts I can use at Christmas, but most of my gifts were of the “practical” or decorative kind. You saw one of the gifts already, which are the lovely cancelled postage stamps RO sent me. The other I’ll show on T Tuesday.

    Now I’m hungry for a Strawberry tart! You temptress you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh.. we will always have Paris! And strawberry tarts… Great ageing techniques on your page, they make all the pieces come together beautifully.
    Wishing you a Happy New Year 2020, Jo. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A beautiful vintage style aged spread Jo, I like how you aged the new papers as well.
    I would have chosen that fruit tart as well, it looks delicious. Have a good rest of the week,
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a wonderful art journal page Jo, love the use of the vintage papers and how you collaged them together for your background and aged them with the Distress Inks. Wonderful Parisian embellishments and thanks for sharing your memories of Paris, definitely on my bucket list! Deb xo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful journal page, so perfectly aged, like a fine wine, not all wrinkly like me! Ha! Ha! Well, I’m not wrinkly YET! Always enjoy seeing your journal pages and artwork, but it is the photos that add that personal touch that I love about your blog. Delightful to see your ET photos, the pastry showcase (which, by the way I did choose the one you did, even though I don’t think I know of your strawberry tart weakness) and your lovely portrait! Have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.