Autumn/Fall

Hi everyone! I am so delighted to be in the Designer Spotlight this month over at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Thanks so much for inviting me!

This week the theme is Autumn/Fall.

As it is the first Monday of the month, Simon Says Stamp are featuring Tim Holtz so I created this birthday card as I have lots of family birthdays this time of year.

For the centre piece of my card, I stamped a maple leaf using a Tim Holtz Maple Sketch stamp and black Archival Ink onto a piece of Ranger Kraft paper which I tore along the edges to give it more of a rustic look and then coloured using a Sanguine and Black Faber-Castell marker. I also added a piece of lace and bound some twine to the bottom of the Kraft panel and attached a button which I threaded using the same twine.

I used the Tim Holtz Maple Sketch stamp again to stamp the maple leaf onto some Watercolour card stock using my Tim Holtz stamping platform. This enabled me to stamp the watercolour card again after I had coloured the leaf using Fired Brick, Spiced Marmalade, Mustard Seed and Picked Raspberry Distress Ink. I cut out the leaf, edged it with a black Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and stuck it over the top of the leaf that I stamped on the Kraft panel using double-sided foam tape so it stood out more. The card was completed by mounting the finished Kraft panel onto a 6x4inch card which I made from white cardstock, stamped with a repeating pattern of “Happy Birthday” using Rich Cocoa, Toffee Crunch and Potter’s Clay Memento Ink and then finely splattered with Fired Brick, Spiced Marmalade and Picked Raspberry Distress Ink.

Maple leaves always reminds me of fall in New England …

… so the colours on my card were inspired by this beautiful tree in Biddeford, Maine that we saw this time last year whilst on vacation to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

It happens to be our 31st wedding anniversary tomorrow, so as T Stands for Tuesday I’m sharing a photo of me and hubby enjoying some samplers of beer at Banded Brewery in Biddeford, Maine which we also visited whilst we were there – cheers and Happy T Day!

Which reminds me to wish Erika a very Happy Anniversary too!

I enjoyed creating this card with my Tim Holtz products for the Autumn/Fall challenge and I hope you will join in the fun too! For more inspiration please check out the fabulous creations from the Design Team over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

Don’t forget that Simon Says Stamp is generously giving away a $50 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store! and one lucky participant will be randomly drawn to win this voucher. How amazing is that! Good Luck to everyone!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of materials to make this card:

34 thoughts on “Autumn/Fall

  1. Gorgeous card Jo 🙂 the leaf is fabulous and so beautifully coloured and I love the torn edges and background stamping too, altogether awesome!! 🙂
    Happy Wedding Anniversary! great pics!! 🙂

    thanks so much for agreeing to be in the spotlight!! its so lovely to have you back with us! 🙂
    luv
    Lols x x x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s brilliant, Jo! The technical sketches of the maple leaf is just so sophisticated and ended beautifully with the lace and the button! Love it! lovely picture of you and hubby, Happy Anniversary! 31st….!!! That’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Anniversary, Jo! Your card is a beautiful match to that gorgeous photo, and such a luscious blend of color on that leaf. Love that you turned it into a birthday card. Thanks for the many kind comments you leave me, and I am thrilled you are here with us for the month of October!! Welcome aboard! hugs, Maura

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its a beautiful autumn Birthday card Jo and congratulations on being in the designer spotlight at Simon says stamp.
    Happy Anniversary to you both as well, I hope you have a lovely day.
    Yvonne xx
    Oooops Nearly forgot to say Happy T day wishes Jo
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy 31 years anniversary. And congrats on being picked in the designer spotlight. So much good excitement. Your card came out great. Picking the kraft panel for the background was a smart choice. And I like the photo also. Enjoy your anniversary and T day Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Anniversary to you and hubby, Jo! What a pretty crisp happy card you made! I am probably as surprised as when you see me make an art journal page, lol. We should do both more often. Best wishes for a fun celebration, xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! So funny, I do make a lot of cards every year for my family and friends but I don’t tend to share them that often on my blog as my art journaling comes first, maybe I should share more …lol 😉. Thanks again! Hugs, Jo x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Your card is lovely and the colours are lovely and warm, gorgeous tree, we were in Boston years ago in the fall, so pretty.
      Happy Anniversary to you and your DH, hope you have a lovely day.
      Jan x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy Anniversary to you and your hubs! Congratulations on being in the designer spotlight well deserved! The colors of autumn and your card are beautiful. Wishing you a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Anniversary Jo !! I wish you the best ever.
    Happy T-day ! This is a wonderful card, I love this leave. Congratulations for your DT !! that´s a great opportunity !
    I wish you a very nice day, and send big hugs,
    Caty

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great to see you in the spotlight Jo! Your card is fabulous- love how you coloured the leaf! You have reminded me how envious I was of your visit last year! Happy T Day! Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats on being in the spotlight.
    Your card is beautiful. I happen to love kraft and the red on the kraft is just superb.
    The tree in Biddeford, Maine is stunning. (They must have been settlers from Bideford in Devon).
    Great photo of you two. Happy belated anniversary and
    Happy belated T-Day,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Who would have thought a pesky squirrel could have sidelined me for over three days. It ate through my phone/internet line and sidelined ME, as you may have read. Otherwise I would have been here sooner.

    I really like your take on autumn. I always love the TH stamps that look like blueprints. They appeal to my engineering side. The maple leaf is a joy and one I would LOVE to own. You colored it beautifully, too.

    Happy, happy belated anniversary. The beautiful maple trees you shared with us were perfectly paired with your card. And the idea of a sampler beer at a micro-brewery was the ideal way to remember what you did to celebrate your anniversary last year.

    Thanks for sharing your incredible card, the lovely maple trees, and your beer with us for T this week and to celebrate your 31st anniversary, too. I swear, you must have gotten married when you were 13!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Happy belated Anniversary Jo, I hope you both had a wonderful day. You are such a happy couple. Beautiful photo. CONGRATS on your GD spot over at SSS what a stunning Autumnal card, great choice of stamp set and I love the addition of the lace and button.. you knew I would :))
    Sending Hugs your way Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Your card is beautiful. Lovely photo of the Fall colored Maple tree. (The colors where I am in CT are dull this year due to the hot Summer.) Congratulations on the anniversary. Happy Belated T-Day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.