Free to Fly

It’s the first of the month so it’s time for a new challenge at Country View Challenges which is Things With Wings.

The lovely Rachel is hosting this month, so be sure to include things with wings on your projects; like birds, butterflies or even aeroplanes.

I’m sharing this holiday/vacation inspired journal page and of course the three Silhouette Birds qualify as my Things with Wings.

I started by stamping some old Travel related stamps using Black Archival Ink over the background. Then I covered the page with some Documented stamps by Tim Holtz using Moonlight White Brilliance Ink. I also used this ink pad to add the smudges of the white too. The birds were die cut from some Kraft Cardstock – Classic by Tim Holtz, using a Silhouette Thinlits Set; they were edged using a black Faber-Castell marker and stamped using one of the Documented stamps and the white Brilliance Ink. Once the birds were stuck in place, I added the “Free to Fly” wording, which was from a Thoughts Label Sticker Set by Tim Holtz. It was framed using some strips of the cardstock that I had used to create the birds. To finish, I highlighted some of the Travel lettering with a white gel pen.

For more inspiration please see the amazing creations from my fellow Design Team members over at Country View Challenges.

We are looking forward to seeing your makes and you never know, you might even win a £20 voucher for the shop, Country View Crafts! Before you enter your project though, please read the rules!

As you may be aware, we’ve had quite a stressful couple of months with one family thing after another, so my hubby decided to treat us to a mini City Break to Venice, Italy last week. Here’s a photo of the Alps from the plane as we flew over them, it was so magical (smile!).

We travelled to Venice from the airport on a boat, and as I love boats it was so much fun! I’ll be sure to share more photos soon and I’m hoping to be able to catch up with you all after my birthday next week.

Stay safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

19 thoughts on “Free to Fly

  1. These birds are beautiful and so colorful. They contrast nicely with the background. This is truly a fun and lovely journal page, Jo. I could tell you were definitely ready for that trip you were obviously dreaming of when you created that page.

    So glad you were able to get away for a few days and the airplane over the Alps truly IS magical. I look forward to more of your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you went with a travel theme and added birds too. Since they are migrating now that is. And Venice sounds amazing. I’ve been to Rome, Florence and Naples, but I would love to visit Venice. I hope you have some photos to share. I’m flying this morning on a mini travel break myself. I’m leaving the fresh snow I woke up to and flying down south to visit a friend for a few days. Have a great start to April! hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jo, how wonderful that you were able to have a trip to Venice to compensate for the hard times recently. Looking forward to seeing more pics! Love your bird journal page, really wonderful. Have a good week, take care, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The combination of birds and travel words is unexpected but it works, you are thinking outside the box, Jo! Your mini break sounds like bliss…
    Have a great April! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.