Guest Designer at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog

Hello Everyone, I’m so pleased and honoured to be Guest Designer today for the Tickled Pink challenge over at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog.

The challenge is being hosted by Maggi who wants you to be “Tickled Pink!” and asks you to “design a vintage or shabby chic project using the color pink. You may use other colors as accents, but, pink must be predominant. There are many shades of pink ranging from fuschia to soft baby pink so let your pink imagination go wild!”.

I had fun creating a page for this challenge as pink isn’t a colour I use that much. I took inspiration from the beautiful pink peonies that are currently flowering in my garden – I hope you like it!

The background is a collage of torn pieces of: a dictionary page detailing the word “peony”; old sheet music; recycled white tissue paper that I scrunched up and stained with pink ink; and three peonies from some Botanicals Collage Paper by Tim Holtz.

I coloured the three peonies pink using a mixture of Festive Berries Distress Ink and White Linen Dylusions Ink Spray by mixing the inks together and painting the colour onto the reverse of the Collage Paper.

I can’t take credit for the beautiful pink and peach colouration though, as the ink colours separated when the ink re-activated with the glue that was used to stick them in place (grin!). It was a lovely surprise and looks so pretty.

Next I applied some Specimen rub-on transfers from Tim Holtz over the background and then I splattered the page with black and white acrylic paints.

Then I added more Tim Holtz products; the die cut flowers are from a Field Note Ephemera Set and I created some shadows around their edges so that they stood out more by applying and smudging some of the Black Faber-Castell marker with my finger before sticking them down; I chose the “28”, “5” and “20” Countdown Brads to depict today’s date 28th May 2020; and the wording “Beautiful Moments” is a Quote Chip which finished the page.

Here are the beautiful peonies that have been flowering in our garden as you can see they are quite a vibrant pink rather than the pale pink that I decided to use on my page.

They have such large flower heads and look so rich and vibrant (grin!).

Thanks so much to The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog  for having me as Guest Designer! I hope that you are inspired by the Tickled Pink challenge too and are able to join in the fun!

Stay safe and keep well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m glad I found out about Challenge Blogs, like it The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog , as I enjoy taking part, they provide me with inspiration for my pages and are a wonderful way to meet like-minded arty people. So here are the challenges I’m joining today:

I’m pleased to join the lovely Mia from Craftartista over at Art Journal Journey and her Flowers challenge this month my peony page.

I’m also pleased to join in the fun over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge and their Anything Goes challenge too.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

23 thoughts on “Guest Designer at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Challenge Blog

    • Thanks so much dear Susi! Yes it’s a wonderful time of the year, isn’t it, everything’s so beautifully green and the new blooms are magical 😀. So lovely to hear from you, hope that you are doing well my friend! Take care! Hugs, Jo x

      Like

  1. You sure did tickle pink with this gorgeous page Jo. Love all the bits and pieces of your collaged background. And wow, what gorgeous peonies. I have over 20buds on my plant and I am waiting for them to bloom. I hope soon! Have a great Thursday and thanks for linking up to Art Journal Journey too. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely stunning Jo! I LOVE your peonies on your art journal spread as well as in your garden! Just gorgeous! Have a super rest of your week! ((HUGS)) Helen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite color is not pink, but your page is so pretty. The peonies in your garden are gorgeous. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the bright pink variety. Enjoy your day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You know, I’m not a big fan of pink either, and don’t use it much, but I love how you achieved the variation in color as the inks separated–what a serendipitous artsy moment! This is just stunning, and I’m tickled pink that you were inspired by peonies — one of my favorite flowers. The ones we had in our garden up north when I was a child were more the color of those on your AJP. I’ve never seen such brilliantly colored ones as those in your garden. They are drop dead gorgeous! Congratulations on being our Guest Designer, and thank you for your inspiration and your hard work. Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful spread, Jo. Love those separated colours. Isn’t it great when something like that happens? The trouble is you can never replicate it, even if you try, lol. Great use of tissue paper. I love peonies – though I used to call them ‘pee-on-mes’ because my lovely dog used to head straight for them in the garden and cock his leg over them – he always managed to kill them before they bloomed. It was strange the way he always went straight for them – and not just in my garden! ! I did get another one when he died and that had very delicate, pale pink flowers. No perfume, though – some of them are really fragrant. Such a shame they don’t last long but they’re often the first to bloom.
    Congratulations on your guest designer spot 🙂 Have a great week/weekend!
    Cath x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What an incredible journal page, Jo. I loved how you explained the glue changed the colors of the peonies. That surprised me, too, but it is truly a beautiful and very happy accident. Your entire entry is amazing. Such beauty and so well done, too. I love how your collaged background worked so well with the flowers. Thanks, too, for sharing this beauty with us at Art Journal Journey. Maybe I should say I’m tickled pink.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So happy to see you guesting over at the FJBB – and with such a gorgeous page. The soft pinks are so pretty and I love all the layered print and music – fabulous! Thank you for popping over too – though there’s no actual Speckled Egg involved in the tag at all… it hasn’t arrived yet, and hadn’t even been revealed when I made the tag – it was a complete coincidence!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful moments and a beautiful page Jo. I loved seeing all the details you added to the piece. Thank you for linking to Art Journal Journey and for the support you give us there.
    Stay safe.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats for your GDT, Jo. You certainly deserve it! What a stunning page! I love everything on this piece and, of course, the lovely flowers. Thank you so much for joining again my challenge at AJJ. Kisses!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A beautiful page Jo, love the ‘surprise’ colour of the peonies against the black and white scripts of the background. The peonies in your garden look lovely, I have the pale pink, which flower mid June.
    Have a great week. Hugs Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jo this page is so beautiful, there is just the right amount of pink on those marvellous peonies to make them come to life on your page, you mixed the ink & spray perfectly to create those vintage hues. I make such a mess with that spray on it’s own hee hee! Lovely mix of hand picked and highlighted words, a collaboration of beautiful moments indeed. Congrats on your GD spot over at TFJB it’s a wonderful display.
    Sending sunshine & creativity your way hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Woww this is an Amazing Art journal page JO !! I loove it, you have created a wonderful background, and chosen beautiful colours. The peonies in your garden are lovely, and have a very intense and bright colour. Congratulations for be the Guest Designer at the FunkieJB.
    I wish you a very nice new week, stay safe always, and
    Big hugs
    Caty

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Terrific Shabby chic ~ I bought some peonies from Trader Joe’s and the buds were so tight I didn’t know if they would open, but they did and they even changed color ~ They brought me so much joy! Blessings on your garden blooms and your wonderful art 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.