Here comes Summer

It’s time for a new challenge over at Try it on Tuesday, which for the next two weeks is Here Comes Summer.

I was inspired by summer sunshine and the pretty poppies that we have in our garden.

I started by covering the page with Cadmium Yellow and Cadmium Orange Liquitex Basics acrylic paints and then using Pébéo white gesso to add the stencilling with a Tim Holtz stencil/stamp set. Next I fussy cut the poppy flowers and foliage from an old garden flower book and I stuck them in place using Liquitex matte gel medium. I had fun adding more colour to the flowers using a Black Ink Derwent Inktense pencil, Yellow, Sunflower, Scarlet, Crimson and Sea Green Spectrum Aqua markers, a white Uniball gel pen and a black Uni Pin fine line marker. I defined the stencilled images a bit more using the white Uniball gel pen and then I splattered the page using black DecoArt acrylic paint. To finish, I added the wording “Hello Sunshine” and “The Sweet taste of Summer”, which were cut from a Summer Season’s Graphic 45 paper.

For more inspiration please pop over to Try it on Tuesday to see the amazing small inspired creations from our Guest Designer and the rest of my Design Teamies.

The Welsh Poppies are flowering beautifully in our garden and enjoying some much needed sunshine (smile!).

Stay safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m joining the lovely Matilde from 100% Handmade/Craftowanie and her What Makes You Happy challenge over at Art Journal Journey as the summery colours and flowers makes me happy.

12 thoughts on “Here comes Summer

    • Pink, yellow and orange just scream summer, as do your pretty poppies. This is a pretty page! And lucky you to have blooming poppies. I’d on’ t have any luck growing them. Thanks joining Matilde’s challenge also (at AJJ) Have a great day hugs Erika

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s such a happy and colorful page! Perfect for Summer! Love the texture of your paints, stenciling and pretty floral images! I love the flowers! Hope you have a fabulous week my friend!

    Like

  2. Such beautiful summer flowers on your gorgeous card and love your yellow poppies!! Thanks so much for having me as a guest designer at Try it on Tuesday this time around!

    Like

  3. What a fabulous summery entry. It screams summer with the bright colors you chose and the poppies. It is awesome. I was also delighted you shared it with us at AJJ using Matilde’s theme, too. The poppies in your garden are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.