Le Cinque Terre

It’s time for a new challenge over at Try it on Tuesday, which for the next two weeks is Book Pages.

I’m still capturing our Italian adventures in my art journal, so my page today is a reminder of the five fishing villages of Le Cinque Terre; it features various book pages and even a book mark that I purchased whilst there (smile!).

I started by tearing pieces of book pages from an old dictionary, a cyclopaedia, and an Italian tourist booklet. I arranged them onto the page with some striped design paper and some colourful houses which I’d cut out of the tourist booklet. They are stuck to the page using a glue stick and some Liquitex matte gel medium. Next I added some white gesso over the page, including the white space, using my finger. Once everything was dry, I edged the book page pieces with a black UniPin marker and then flooded the white space with water using a paintbrush to add some aCharcoal Grey Spectrum Aqua marker. The small square Cinque Terre images and wording were from the same tourist booklet. To finish, I added the pretty bookmark which lists the five fishing villages of the Cinque Terre with some fun fishes.

For more inspiration please pop over to Try it on Tuesday to see the amazing small inspired creations from our Guest Designer and the rest of my Design Teamies.

Cinque Terre or Five Towns, is a string of five ancient fishing villages perched high on the Italian Riviera just south of Genoa in northwest Italy; 3 out of the 5 towns are only accessible by train or boat, there are no cars. This is Riomaggiore, which is one of the most scenic places in Cinque Terre with its lovely harbour and amazing atmosphere.

We had fun travelling to the different towns by boat and the day we took a boat trip it was a bit grey and overcast. When we arrived at Riomaggiore, we walked from the harbour, up the winding narrow streets to one of the highest points to look back on the town; if you look closely you can see the main street in the centre of the houses.

We had some sunny days there too; this was taken on one of the many hiking trails that link the towns; it was very strenuous hike, but the views were breathtaking!

Hope you enjoyed visiting Cinque Terre with me (smile!).

Stay safe and well! x

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Challenges

I’m joining the lovely Matilde from 100% Handmade/Craftowanie and her What Makes You Happy challenge over at Art Journal Journey with my page as remembering our Italian adventures makes me happy.

11 thoughts on “Le Cinque Terre

  1. What a fun page especially for your travel journal Jo! I love how you’ve taken the torn pieces and edged around them! The little postage images are great additions to the theme too! Thanks for having me along as your guest for this challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Jo, you had a gorgeous Italian adventure. These towns in Cinque Terra are just amazing, and your page is amazing also. I think after looking at your pages I’ve added this part of Italy to my bucket list. Thanks for joining Matilde and her challenge at AJJ. This page is perfect for her challenge. I hope June is treating you well. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A beautiful page Jo, I love the bookmark! Wonderful photos too. We walked the coastal paths to the picturesque villages there a few years ago, such a memorable holiday.

    Hope you’re having a good week.

    Alison xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, I loved visiting the fishing villages with you. What a beautiful holiday you must have had, the photos of the villages are stunning. Such beautiful places and how fascinating that you had to travel to them by boat.

    Your page is striking in how you have built it up. I like how you outlined the torn shapes of the text with a black marker and its contrast with the red of the houses and the orange background paper.

    So very enjoyable.

    Hugs, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a brilliant thing to save the tourist guide to use in your art. And of course, the bookmark was the icing on the cake. Just a brilliant entry. LOVED how you used so many different book pages. This is a super journal page and ideal for Matilde’s theme at Art Journal Journey, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.