Carry your heart with mine

I’m thrilled and honoured to be over at Altered Book Lover with Bleubeard and Elizabeth today as part of her 22 days of recycling leading up to her happy bEARTHday.

One of my goals this year is to recycle and use up leftovers on my art journal pages, so I was delighted to be invited and very happy to join in the fun – thanks so much! 

The background and main images for this page were created using recycled materials; they just seemed too nice to throw away (grin!).

For the background I collaged strips of recycled tissue paper, brown paper packaging and some of the card that I place under my journal pages whilst crafting to catch any excess paints, inks, modelling paste etc; like all the paper elements they were stuck in place using Liquitex matte gel medium. When dry, I outlined the edges of these collaged pieces using a black Faber-Castell Big Brush marker smudging the ink with my finger. I also added some gold embossing powder to highlight the texture of the tissue paper and to match the gold on the main images. I fussy cut the cute dogs, heart balloons and patterned foreground from a beautiful anniversary card that my mum and dad kindly sent us; I had fun fussy cutting everything which took quite a bit of time. I arranged them on either side of the page and then I added the Kaisercraft sticker wording which reads “Wherever you go, no matter how far, I carry your heart with mine” which finished the page.

I hope that you’re inspired to recycle and repurpose materials for your art creations; there’s lots of inspiration this month over at Altered Book Lover too (grin!).

The little dogs on my page reminded me of this pottery dog that sits on our mantel in the lounge which was from a local gallery. It’s Raku pottery which is my favourite type of decorative pottery and derives from a traditional Japanese process where the fired raku piece is removed from the hot kiln and is allowed to cool in the open air. I believe that this spotty dog was decorated with coloured slips, glazes and metal leaf before it was Raku fired.  

Hope that you’re all staying safe and well!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of the materials that were used to create this art journal page:

  • Recycled white tissue paper
  • Recycled brown paper packaging
  • Recycled card that I place under my journal pages whilst crafting covered in paints, inks, modelling paste, stencilling, scribbles, washi tape, sticker off cuts etc
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Versamark (Watermark Stamp Pad)
  • Ranger Embossing Powder (gold)
  • Recycled anniversary card
  • Kaisercraft Sticker Sheet (Havana Nights SS354)
Challenges

I’m pleased to be able to join the following challenges today which are:

Art Journal Journey where the theme is Inspired By in honour of Eileen from The Artful Crafter’s Blog who picked the theme and was supposed to host this month but sadly passed away shortly after her heart surgery last month – I miss her greatly! I’m so pleased to be able to her challenge and was inspired to recycle; I think the wording “I carry your heart with mine” is perfect to remember Eileen by too!

MIUCB#48 – Anything Goes + optional No Stamping challenge over at Mix It Up Challenge Blog with my recycled page which contains no stamping.

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog and their Not a Card challenge with my recycled art journal page.

LTCCB#57 – April Anything Goes over at Love to Craft Challenge Blog with the recycled materials on my mixed media page.

24 thoughts on “Carry your heart with mine

  1. What am amazing journal page you created, Jo. From the sneak peek, I would never have guessed the dog was holding heart balloons, or that the images came from an anniversary card. This is a fabulous use of recycled materials and I am so, so, so honored that you created this as part of my birthday recycling. Thank you so much for this real beauty. And thanks for sharing it with Art Journal Journey, too. What a great gift you given us today, dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your raku ceramic dog is wonderful! Your local gallery must be a lot of fun for shopping and looking. I like the way your recycled dog resembles it.

    be well… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this page Jo. I really like how you recycled pieces on it and got closer to your goal of finishing up recycled pieces. The pups are adorable, and I like how they are facing each other. They go with your Japanese Roku piece and it is like they are guarding the entrance to something on your page. This is perfect for AJJ, thank you for sharing, and for Elizabeth’s birthday also. Hope your week is going well. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A terrific job of recycling! The anniversary card was so cute, but you’ve taken it a step further turning it into an awesome journal page. Your mop-up or excess paper looks so interesting. I usually use newsprint in that way, but I’m switching that out for some white sketch paper just in case I end up with something interesting enough to save. It has happened before but it’s rare and always on newsprint…not the greatest paper for saving art. Inspiring recycle page!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a delightful page made from your card and scraps. I’m always intrigued by how you use the FC Big Brush pens. I have stepped up my use of their little pens because they don’t spread on their own like alcohol markers can and their points are finer and I can stay better in the lines on small images. I do need to use my big ones more! Hope your weekend is great! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So important to use up our scraps and what not’s, I find myself thinking about ever little piece and what can be done with it. You’ve created a little treasure here Jo from something given as a token of love you’ve expanded it, now held in time and suspension for ever. Journaling is a beautiful way of keeping things safe and reflecting back on precious memories.
    You wee Raku Dog is fab, not an easy technique to master i’m glad he survived the process :))
    Have a great weekend Big HUgs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Fabulous page and you have inspired me to try to do something similar for a background in my journal one day, if you don’t mind. I love the red against it, it really does make the whole thing pop and those pups are so cute.
    I remember doing Raku at college, the tutor did the Raku firing in the college kilns and when we returned on the Monday the big heavy table where we housed all our clay had gone through the floor and landed in the Drama department underneath. The ceramic department had set on fire!
    Hugs, Neet xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. There’s so much to love about this page, starting with the fact that you were able to recycle those cards used to protect your journal pages to make that wonderful artful background. And then your brilliant use of the anniversary card! Love those little dogs and yes, I can see how you were reminded of your own mantel decoration. What a great little piece of pottery! This is certainly one of my favorite pages–so much love and attention to detail!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.