Hello Springtime

I am so delighted to be hosting Art Journal Journey this month and the challenge that I have chosen is:

Hello Springtime

Now it’s March, spring is just around the corner so along with Susi, Bleubeard & Elizabeth, I would like you to join in and say Hello to Springtime. You could include flowers, blossoms, new foliage, birds, birdsong, butterflies or any other nature on your designs or perhaps capture the changes in the season with sunshine and blue skies or even new beginnings as spring is a time of change!

For my background to depict springtime sunshine and blue skies, I scribbled Yellow and Aquamarine Spectrum Aqua markers on a blending mat, spritzed with water and pressed the mat onto the page. Then I stencilled a trellis design from Creative Expressions using Tea Dye, Frayed Burlap and Black Soot Distress Ink with a blending tool. Next I stamped a Music Sheet stamp from Woodware Craft Collection, a Script stamp and a Vintage Circle stamp both from Kaisercraft using black Archival Ink and painted some Pébéo white gesso using my finger on parts of the page to add some contrast.

I then die cut the “Hello Springtime” wording from some Tim Holtz design paper which I stamped using a blossom spray stamp from Stampendous and the black Archival Ink; the letters are stuck in place using Liquitex matte gel medium and once dry edged with black Uni Pin marker. Then I created the different springtime scenes which included: a little bird sitting on a branch and some feathers from Kaisercraft Anthology Collection with a Tim Holtz Pocket Card featuring Nest & Eggs; a pretty butterfly tag to which I had tied a piece of white thread; a Tim Holtz Pocket Card featuring trellis-work and yellow flowers and a little butterfly sticker from Kaisercraft; four clocks cut from a Tim Holtz Pocket Card, a tag from Kaisercraft Anthology collection which I tied another piece of white thread to and the Eiffel Tower from a die cut set. They are all edged with a Dark Grey Faber-Castell Big Brush marker, stuck in place using double-sided tape or a glue stick and accented with some pretty pink, blue, yellow and white die cut blossoms that we see at springtime. To finish the page, I added all the springtime words which are created using Tim Holtz idea-ology Label Letter Stickers stuck to some strips of a neutral coloured design paper from American Crafts.

I hope that you are inspired by this month’s Hello Springtime theme too and are able to join in the fun. I am really looking forward to visiting you and seeing all your wonderful springtime creations!

It has felt like spring the last couple of weeks as the weather has been unusually mild. This has meant we have had spring flowers appearing in our garden, birds visiting our bird feeders, blue skies and lots of sunshine. I’m not sure that it will last but it definitely felt like springtime to me (grin!).

Challenges

I’m glad I found out about Challenge Blogs, like Art Journal Journey, as I enjoy taking part, they provide me with inspiration for my pages and are a wonderful way to meet like-minded arty people. So here are the challenges I’m joining today:

I’m pleased to join the Vintage/Past Times challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge with my vintage styled springtime page.

I’m pleased to join in the fun over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge and their Anything Goes challenge with my Hello Springtime page.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Yellow, Aquamarine)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye, Frayed Burlap, Black Soot)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Cold Grey IV 233)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.05mm)
  • Creative Expressions That Special Touch of Mica Masks (Moroccan)
  • Woodware Craft Collection Clear Magic Singles (Vintage Circles FRS665, Sheet Music JGS111)
  • Kaisercraft Clear Stamp (Script CS752)
  • Stampendous! (Cling Blossom Spray CRP136)
  • Docrafts X Cut A5 Die Cut Set (Folk Alphabet XCU503286)
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology Paper Stash (Halloween #TH93712)
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology (Pocket Cards #TH93208)
  • Kaisercraft Collectables (Anthology CT938)
  • The Range (Craft Tags CRO740)
  • Kaisercraft Sticker Sheet (Fly Free SS289)
  • K & Company Susan Winget (Floral Die-Cut Cardstock)
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology (Label Letters #TH93072)
  • American Crafts Papers (DIY Shop 366665)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Stix2 double-sided tape
  • Pritt Stick

26 thoughts on “Hello Springtime

  1. This is an absolutely incredible entry for our homepage, Jo. You always have such great attention to detail and share exactly how you created each part of the spread. I was most impressed with the die cut “Hello Springtime.” Of course the entire entry is fabulous and truly makes me wish spring was truly here. At least I know I’ll find it on your journal pages this month. Thank you for this great theme.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This page is simply perfect – so beautiful! I love that you even created your own wording with the stickers. All is so cheery and artsy Jo! I am just happy to see you hosting AJJ again! I am really looking forward to this lovely theme – right my alley and how the AJJ participants will interpret it.
    Have a great month with sun, spring , birdies and flowers and have fun at AJJ!
    Happy day dear Jo. We have made special buttons for hostesses to take with them – if you want to – they are to find at the left sidebar of AJJ.
    Hugs, Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comments and for letting me know about the buttons, I’ll be sure to use them 😁. I’m so pleased to be hosting AJJ again, it’ll be a fun month! Happy Friday and weekend dear Susi! J 😊 x

      Like

  3. Congrats on being host Jo and a fabulous theme! Your page looks wonderful and I am hugely impressed with the way you created the spring themed words, – a great technique which I will definitely remember! Happy March and happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its a gorgeous Springtime page. I have spent ages looking at all the great detail on your inspiration page. I am really looking forward to joining in this theme Jo.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a fabulous new theme Jo. Love celebrating spring ! Your page feels like spring too. I will join in once I am home ( flying tonight) as I have some perfect pages already made that will work wonderfully for this theme. Love yours. And those spring flower photos too. Happy March. Hugs Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your page is so beautiful. I would love to have that as a gift wrap print. I envy you for flowers in your garden. Two back to back snowstorms this weekend will leave us with a foot of snow. We won’t see Spring flowers until July! 😀 Enjoy your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your Art page is absolutelly Gorgeous Jo !! Congratulations for hosting AJJ this month !! That ´s a great theme ! Amazing background and colours! And I love all the details you have added to create this so so wonderful springtime page !!
    Thanks too for the so fabulous photographs you have shared with us, love them.
    I wish you a very happy weekend
    Big hugs, Caty

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely to see you as this months host over at AJJ Jo i’m going to try hard to have a day or two this month just for me and play along. I love all that dreamy ephemera used on this page it a great way to show it all off giving a real pop of spring. Great how you have documented each area like little springtime prompts. Beautiful way to start of this months journey.
    Wishing you a super day & Hugs for the weekend Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the theme you’ve chosen at AJJ this month Jo and thats a beautiful page giving lots of inspiration. Gorgeous spring photos form your garden, the weather was wonderful at the beginning of the week and its lovely to see all the colour in the garden.
    Have a great weekend. Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Stunning first page for your theme Jo – love the soft colours and all the fabulous imagery/ephemera. Looking forward to joining in with this 🙂
    After being spoilt by the recent lovely sunny wam days it’s more like winter again outside here..
    Hope its better up there with you…
    Gill x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.