Gift It … for Simon Says Stamp

Hi everyone!

I’m really enjoying my time in the Designer Spotlight this month over at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

This week the theme is Gift It.

I’ve made packs of note cards for my friends, but you could also make a gift tag, gift bag or even wrapping paper etc.

I created two packs of note cards; these gift sets consist of a pink or blue wallet containing two note card designs with matching envelopes.  If you are interested to find out how I made everything, the details are below.

For the note cards, I started by cutting a panel out of white cardstock slightly smaller than 6×4 inch to fit my blank cards using my Fiskars paper trimmer. Then for the first design I stamped the circles from the Altenew Halftone Circles Stamp Set using Picked Raspberry, Mermaid Lagoon and Mustard Seed Distress Ink onto the panels. The sentiment is from the same stamp set and stamped using black Ranger Archival Ink.

Next I die cut a flower from white card stock using Tim Holtz Sizzix Garden Greens Thinlets and my Big Shot machine, then I stuck the flower in place using a Zig glue pen. When the glue was dry, I outlined the flower with a black fine line marker to make it stand out more.

For the second note card design I followed the same process but I used Mowed Lawn, Salty Ocean and Seedless Preserves Distress Inks for the circle stamping, one of the other sentiments from the same stamp set and also a different flower thinlet.

To finish, I edged the panels using a black Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and then I stuck each panel onto a blank card that I also made from the white card stock, using double-sided tape.

As these note cards are a gift I also created a wallet to present them in. The wallets are made from either Simon Says Stamp Cornflower Blue or Cotton Candy card stock which I scored to create fold lines on my Fiskars paper trimmer using a scoring tool.

I adorned them using the same stamp set and inks and die cuts but rather than repeating the card design, I created the die cut flowers out of white cardstock stamped using the circle stamps and Distress Inks, stuck them to the front of the wallet and outlined them so they stood out more. I then I stamped the sentiment using the black Archival Ink.

I inserted the card into the wallets with the matching envelopes – I hope my friends like them (grin!).

As I included bursts of colour as part of my gift set design, I’m also pleased to join Stamps and Stencils and their Remember, Remember 5th November challenge too.

I enjoyed making these gift sets and I hope that you will be inspired to join the Gift It challenge too! For more inspiration please check out the amazing creations from the Design Team over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

Don’t forget that Simon Says Stamp are generously giving away a $50 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store! and one lucky participant will be randomly drawn to win this voucher. How amazing is that! Good Luck to everyone!

As this is my last week in the Designer Spotlight this month with Simon Says  Stamp, I’d like to thank everyone for all your kind comments and support throughout the month and also say a special thank you to Simon Says Stamp for giving me the opportunity to design for them; I’ve had the most wonderful time!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of the materials over at Simon Says Stamp that were used to create this art journal page:

20 thoughts on “Gift It … for Simon Says Stamp

  1. What a beautiful gift Jo, your hand created cards are subtle and beautiful. Who ever receives this will be so lucky along with those that receive a card from within it.
    Thank you for sharing the process, fabulous use of those glorious crafty supplies.
    Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool packets of note cards. I do love those neat circle stamps and the effect you get from them. I love the multicolored effect! They plain die cut flower looks great against those images Jo. Happy new week. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Greetings from a chilly Glasgow!! 😉
    Gorgeous sets! the design and colours are fabulous and I am sure whoever recieves these will love them! beautifully done and a very lovely gift 🙂
    It has been such a pleasure having you along with us this month and I hope we get to do this again very soon 🙂 XX
    Hope you have a great week!
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo, it’s been wonderful having you with us this month!! Love your card packs – what great gifts! I really like the simplicity of the design, but the complexity of color, and that saying is perfect. hugs, Maura

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great idea for a gift set! I love the cards you created and the wonderful colors and sentiments. You even made a pretty folder. When I was a child, I loved these types of note card sets and letter-writing sets, and I I still have some of them, since I thought the papers were almost to pretty to send to anyone. 😉 Thank you so much for having been our guest designer this month!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.