Journey, Destination and Adventure

This week we have had family staying over, so we have been on journeys, travelled to destinations and had a few adventures along the way too (grin!). So I created this page to remember their visit and capture our time together; the background depicts the ripples of the water at high tide on our walks, the car reminds me of our outing to a local car show, the natural colours and pretty flower serves as a reminder of all the nature we saw on our walks as we walked their dog three times a day, and then the maps, clocks, compass and postage stamps to remember our days out and adventures exploring new places.

I started by applying Pébéo white gesso with a brayer and then I added dots of black DecoArt acrylic paint and also Bright Aqua Green Heavy Body Liquitex paint over the top and used the brayer to create the wonderful texture. When the paint was dry, I stencilled a large clock on the right-hand side of the page using black Archival Ink and a blending tool. I stamped some Vintage Circles from Woodware Craft Collection using black Archival Ink and then I applied Rusty Hinge and Ground Espresso Distress Ink through a stencil by Andy Skinner using a blending tool. The white circles are stamped using a cardboard tube and white DecoArt acrylic paint, I used the Andy Skinner stencil and Distress Inks again to pattern the inside of the circles and defined the edges more using a white Uniball gel pen and a black Uni Pin marker. Next I added three pieces of washi tape horizontally across the page and then stamped lots of different images using black Archival Ink onto some paper from American Crafts. The stamped images included: some postage stamps, lace and a clock from Kaisercraft; a car stamp from Tim Holtz which I cut up to produce the car, bingo sheet, map and ruler; a patterned circle from Kaisercraft; a compass by Graphic 45 from Hampton Art; a hand pointing the way from a Steampunk stamp set from Docrafts; and some numbers from a Collage Number stamp from Gummpanian Stamps. I fussy cut all the stamped pieces out, edged them with Rusty Hinge and Ground Espresso Distress Ink and then a black Faber-Castell Big Brush marker. They are stuck to the page using a glue stick and Liquitex matte gel medium. Once the glue was dry, I edged them with a black Uni Pin marker and added white detail to both the images and stamping in the background using a Uniball gel pen. Next I cut a wildflower out of white cardstock using a die cut by Tim Holtz from Sizzix and my big shot machine, stuck it in place and outlined it using a black Uni Pin marker. I added two Small Talk stickers from Tim Holtz idea-ology collection which read “the journey is the destination” and also “and so the adventure begins”, again they are outlined using a black Uni Pin marker. To finish, I added some Pébéo white gesso using a palette knife through a Vintage Diamond stencil from Creative Expressions.

Last Sunday we went to a Vintage Car Show with our visitors. It is a local show and was held on the green by the beach just round the corner from our house. We saw some beautiful cars including this one which is an Austin and looks a bit like the one on my page (grin!).

There were so many different cars there and we liked this one which was originally from Canada.

Or maybe this is more to your liking, it’s a Wolseley and I’m not sure my hubby would fit in it (grin!).

Some cars are Vintage now, even though I remember them whilst growing up … does that mean I’m getting old (double grin!). VW Beetles for example and we often see this gold one driving around town and look at the kettle and mugs, just right for T Stands for Tuesday!

Then we have local car clubs like this Land Rover Club which I thought Yvonne from Meggy’s way may like (triple grin!).

It turned into quite the adventure as we also saw the high tide which we don’t see that often and some kitesurfers right next to the beach.

Challenges

I’m glad I found out about Challenge Blogs as I enjoy taking part, they provide me with inspiration for my pages and are a wonderful way to meet like-minded arty people. So here are the challenges I’m joining today:

I’m pleased to join the lovely Yvonne from Meggy’s way, who is hosting A World of Fantasy challenge over at Art Journal Journey with my Journey, Destination and Adventure art journal page.

As this page includes circles, I’m also joining the Circles challenge over at Moo Mania & More.

As I included circles on this page, I’m also joining the Going Round & Round challenge over at The Artistic Stamper too.

I used 3 different stencils on this art journal page, so I’m also joining in the fun over at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge and there Use More Than One Stencil challenge.

Over at Country View Challenges their challenge is Planes, Trains & Automobiles so I’m pleased to join them with the car and journey art journal page.

With the quote and all the stamping I used to create this page I’m also joining Fashionable Stamping Challenges and their Quote Away challenge.

As I used quite a few Tim Holtz products to create this page I thought of A Vintage Journey, so I’m pleased to join their Back To Nature challenge this month as I was inspired by the nature we saw on our walks so included the natural colours and pretty flower on my Art Journaling and Vintage style page.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (Black, White)
  • Liquitex Heavy Body Acrylic (Bright Aqua Green)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Rusty Hinge, Ground Espresso)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Derwent Graphik Line Marker (Black 0.1mm, 0.8mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • DecoArt Andy Skinner Mixed Media Stencils (Shedded ANDY08)
  • Woodware Craft Collection Clear Magic Singles (Vintage Circles FRS665)
  • Cardboard tube – stamp
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Magnolia Grove CS822, Provincial CS243)
  • Tim Holtz Components Collection (COM013CAR)
  • Hampton Art Graphic 45 cling mounted rubber stamps (Tropical Travelogue ICO135)
  • Docrafts Creativity Essentials A5 Clear Stamp Set (Steampunk DCE907125)
  • Gummpanian Stamp (Collage Numbers 14030103)
  • Sizzix Thinlets by Tim Holtz (Wildflowers 661190)
  • Creative Expressions Mini Stencil (Vintage Diamond CEMSDIAM)
  • American Crafts Papers (DIY Store 366665)
  • White Cardstock
  • Poundland (Washi Tapes 156456-GE16)
  • The Works (3 Washi Tapes)
  • Tim Holtz idea-ology Stickers (Small Talk #TH93193)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Pritt Stick

52 thoughts on “Journey, Destination and Adventure

  1. I am in love with your fabulous journal page Jo. It sounds like you have had a great week with your visitors and have had many memories to store. You added so many interesting details, I sat ages just looking at them all.
    I am also thrilled that you added this to my theme at Art Journal Journey,
    Your photos of the car show are great and of course i really loved the one of the Landrover Club.
    I will get my hubby to have a look later.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend Jo.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. love destinations and adventures dont you, and walking a dog let you get to see so much if you let yourself to new places..and I LOVE your vibriant page really cool also love the vintage car to think the world once drowe in those..and at first they really did not know HOW to drive propper..fun to think about..do have a great sunday and enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am in awe of this fantastic detailed and absolutely wonderful designed page and so happy to see it linked not only to Yvonne’s “A World of Fantasy” theme but also to the Circles at Moo Mania & More! Thank you for your wonderful support of the challenges! What a fantastic week you seem to have had, filled with a richness of adventure , big and small! The photos of the oldtimers and vintage cars are fantastic!!! I am in love with this Wolseley! Showed the images to my hubby and he said: The British cars are the most beautiful cars and you even can have a relationship to them! We had a 1981 Austin Princess 2 HL for many years and so loved her!
    Your handsome hubby would fit each of the cars!

    Happy Sunday and start of the new week ahead!
    Big hugs and LOVE from
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Austin Princess is such a stylish car 😁. My hubby had an Austin Allegro and I had an Austin Maxi when we were younger too, not as stylish as your beautiful princess but they have such happy memories associated with them…lol 😉. I hope you are feeling much better now and enjoyed the birthday celebrations, it’s my dad’s birthday next weekend too. Thanks so much dear Susi and happy Sunday and start of the week ahead too my friend! J 😊 x

      Like

      • The Allegro was a car I always wanted to have as well!
        I am nearly recovered and we had a nice celebration with Dad and I stay at his home for a few days more to be with him. Family is precious!
        Happy new week Jo!
        See you tomorrow at Dr.E.’s TSFT!
        Hugs, Susi

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I bet there was lots of happy smiles creating this page Jo, you’ve captured those cars and teamed it up with the vintage stencil perfectly. Love those chosen colour tones. How fab to have this show on you doorstep, Happy times shared with family.
    I felt that wind blowing as i’ve experienced it many time rolling off the Irish Sea hee hee.
    Sunday Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Tracey! We had lots of smiles throughout the week and it was nice to look around the car show, although I’m not sure if Sophie (our four-legged doggie guest) was impressed she just wanted to play ball …lol 😉. Happy Sunday! J 😊 x

      Like

  5. What a super page Jo. You really did some fabulous layering. And I know what you mean about the “antiques” at car shows. I remember some of the cars too from my childhood. But at least it takes people a lot longer than cars to become antiques. 😀. Enjoy what’s left to your weekend and glad you had a good visit. Hugs Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I want one of those small vintage cars. Only not vintage 😉 Cars these days seem so much too big for me lol And that beach! I think it’d be amazing to live so close to a beach -though people in the path of Florence won’t think I know what I’m talking about 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean, I’m not sure I have ever seen a small car when visiting America …lol 😉. There are plenty of small cars here to chose from though 😀. Those who are in the path of Hurricane Florence are in my thoughts and prayers too! J 😊 x

      Like

  7. What a gorgeous page, Jo! I love the background and the stamps you used, they are perfect together! A great one for our Country View Challenge too, especially with all the photos of classic cars…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jo, this page is so great!!! I feel like I could look at it over and over and over. All the depth and the details are really wonderful!!! The colors are fabulous!!! Totally love it !!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A fabulous page Jo, there’s so many details I need to go back for a second look, love the background and wonderful colour combo. The vintage car show looks fun and yes, strange to think that the VW Beetle is vintage!
    Have a great week, Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jo, I am SO sorry. Somehow I missed this,but I am so far behind, I may never catch up. What a perfect journal page. I loved the journey, the adventure, and the way you wove the tale, too. It’s a fabulous entry for Art Journal Journey.

    Of course, I was also quite impressed with those cars. I’m surprised you didn’t save the car with the teapot and mug sitting under the boot (trunk to those who don’t speak British). I really enjoyed seeing these cars, because I have a love for them, too. Thanks to you and your husband for taking us on this journey, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Jo x This is such a wonderful project to evoke memories of your time with family/friends. Love the colourful details and design and that lovely flower x Great to have you on board with us here at AVJ for Jennie’s Back To Nature Challenge.
    Best wishes
    Annie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Spotlights and Winner for Use More Than One Stencil - Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.