Two for Tea

This page celebrates friendships and tea as there’s nothing better than chatting over a cuppa with friends (grin!).

I wanted to recycle some pretty greeting card envelopes so I ripped a brown, cream, white and two different shades of pink into pieces and collaged them onto the page using Liquitex matte gel medium. I added two rose rub-on transfers and then I stencilled modelling paste, using a lace stencil, over the pink sections and once dry applied some white gesso using a baby wipe to tone the colours down a bit. Next I splattered white DecoArt acrylic paint over the whole page using a paintbrush. The teacups and saucers are fussy cut from a magazine, edged with Dark Sepia Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and stuck in place using double-sided foam tape. I created two vintage style envelopes to hold the teabags using a small white tag envelope. For the centre panel of each envelope I used a pretty bird sticker and also a piece of card from the same sticker packaging which I stamped with a Bella Rossi stamp which details tea and other drinks. Both panels are edged with pearls and leftover borders from a Penny Black Stickeroo set. I inserted a recycled empty teabag that I had dried into the top of each one and stuck them to the page using glue dots. I also arranged them onto the page with a piece of string which is recycled greeting card trim, so it looked like a teabag string and held the end of the string down with a pretty cream rose. The small tag is from the same greetings card as the trim and it is embellished with a piece of the Stickeroo border and also one of the pearls. It is stuck down using double-sided foam tape and I added another cream rose to secure the string. To finish the page, I added some pearls to the background.

As I used the lace stencil, this page is also for the Stencil, Die Cuts or Both challenge over at Try it on Tuesday where you still have another week to join in the fun!

Flowers and birds means this page also matches the Flora and Fauna theme over at Art Journal Journey that I’m hosting this month. This page marks the second week for this theme and I’d like to thank all of you who have joined in the fun, I hope you are enjoying getting creative with this theme!

A trip to the Blackbird café with friends is always welcome, today I’m sharing our tea – green tea for me and earl grey for my forever friend!

As it T Stands for Tuesday I’m saying a big hello to my T Gang friends and wishing you all a Happy T Day!

We often visit this café and I have posted about it a few times, you may remember these beautiful birdcages (grin!). If you want to see more of the café then here’s a link to my previous post.

Challenges

I’m glad I found out about Challenge Blogs as I enjoy taking part, they provide me with inspiration for my pages and are a wonderful way to meet like-minded arty people. So here are the challenges I’m joining today:

With the neutral colours I used, I’m also pleased to join the Simply Neutrals Tuesday party over at Apple Apricot.

Over at Moo Mania and More the theme is Flowers which I’m also joining with the roses and violets that I included on my page.

I’m pleased to join a new challenge blog today where the lovely Valerie is on the Design Team, it’s at Mixed Media World and their theme is Anything Goes…optional Pink.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo Modeling Paste
  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (White)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Dark Sepia B 175)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Prima Marketing Clear Stamps (Rossi Belle 587499)
  • Craft Sensations (Deco Stencil Set 154892)
  • Old Magazine
  • Small tag envelopes
  • Docrafts Papermania Label Stickers (Botanicals PMA157234)
  • Recycled birthday card tag and string trim
  • Dried teabags
  • Penny Black Stickeroos (Vintage Roses #10-142)
  • Poundworld (Pearl Embellishments 137920-A)
  • Craft Sensations (Ivory Deco Flowers CR0736-GE)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Wilko (Sticky Dots)
  • The Range double-sided foam tape

45 thoughts on “Two for Tea

  1. I was blown away by this journal page. First of all, I thought I was looking down on a table with two cups of tea. As I began reading, I was even more impressed with your treatment of this journal page. You can’t begin to imagine how much I adore this gorgeous entry you provided for your theme at Art Journal Journey. It’s simply stunning and out of this world gorgeous. It’s a great T day entry, too.

    Speaking of T day, I always enjoy when you go to the Blackbird. As a collector of birdcages myself, these are simply beautiful and very unique cages. Of course, I was also pleased to see you shared your tea with us, too. I even have those loose leaf holders and used one with a friend last week. Thanks for sharing these teacups, teapots, and trip to the Blackbird with us for T this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! My hubby thought the same thing …lol … I think the teacups and saucers turned out more 3D with the double-sided foam tape and shadowing underneath 😉. Wishing you a very Happy T Day! J 😊 x

      Like

  2. This is so English love! It reminds me of lovely English holidays. The background is wonderful. All the little pieces and the beautiful English teacups. The teabags, are they really like this? So nice Jo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you dear Lenie! In cafés sometimes teabags do come in little envelopes normally advertising the brand and type of tea, they aren’t usually embellished like this, I did use some artistic licence …lol 😉. Wishing you a wonderful week! J 😊 x

      Like

  3. I just can say that I feel the same about that posting as Elizabeth does! This wonderful page made with so much LOVE and fantastic hand looks so very “British” to me – I simply adore it and I also adore your photos of your tea at the Blackbird café! I really adore your posting and I am sure all the other visitors do so as well! Your theme at Art Journal Journey is so beautiful and wow all those Challenges – this fantastic page fits so many themes! So clever of you! Thank you for joining Moo Mania & More again. Happy T-Day and Happy AJJ and Simple Neutrals Tuesday and happy TioT and not to forget the fabulous Mixed Media World!
    Big hugs and a happy and creative week my friend!
    Hugs, Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much dear Susi, you are very kind! Glad you like this page as much as me …lol 😀. I saw the cups of tea in a magazine and thought they would be cool to use and it does look like you could actually sit down and drink the tea, doesn’t it …lol 😉. Wishing you a wonderful week too my friend! J 😊 x

      Like

  4. Same from me as Elizabeth and Susi, I simply can’t believe those beautiful tea cups and saucers are not real! Also, so many, many, many challenges, how do you do it, Jo?! Everything is so perfect, do you sleep and eat? Lol. You are an amazingly prolific artist, and a true inspiration (not to mention with the most beautiful smile).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, that’s a lovely thing to say! I love entering challenges they give me inspiration to design a page based on the different themes which to me is such fun 😁. I experiment a lot on my pages too so there are always imperfections but that’s ok with me too, I have to keep telling myself nothings ever perfect …lol 😉. Hope your having a lovely week! J 😊 x

      Like

  5. I can’t believe either that your journal page is real-you are amazing!
    Loved everything the teapots and tea cups are so welcoming too-I love tea with a friend-hugs
    Happy T Day Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow Jo. Your page is so well done that it looks like you just photographed a Tea table. I m impressed. I’m with you, having tea or coffee with a friend or family member is always a warm and welcoming time. Happy T day to you. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a fun tea related post Jo and a great page! Love how the teacups match the other elements on the page! And you are so right, nothing better than going to a cafe with a good friend (though in my case it would probably be a cappucino) :o) Happy Tuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, this is a lovely page and an outstanding 3D artwork! I first thought the tea cups are REAL – standing on your page!
    Wonderful photos of the Blackbird café too!
    Happy T Day, dear Jo!
    Rike xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. All I needed to do was pull up a chair and join you Jo. It is a fabulous setting for tea on your great journal page.
    The photos and those pretty birdcages were lovely. We move today so i hope the weather and the internet comes with uys.
    Happy T day wishes Jo.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a lovely journal page. I love the tea cups. My mum used tgo have a set of those with the pink flowers and we used them daily when I was a child. (Woolworths?)
    I remember you blogged about this cafe. Very nice indeed. The bird cages are wonderful.
    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lisca! I remember Woolworths, it closed down quite a few years ago in the UK and I’m not sure if these cups were from there as they were from a recent food magazine 😁. Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 😊

      Like

  11. Beautiful background,Jo, and I love those tea cups you fussy cut. They look so real! vVry pretty layout overall.

    I vicariousy enjoy your visits to the Blackbird cafe. It’s such a charming place and seeing the different china tea cups is always a treat.

    Happy T-day! Hugs, Eileen

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is a fabulous page Jo, you’ve really tricked my eyes this morning as I did actually think what I was seeing was a real set table. Don’t know how I missed this post but migraine hasn’t helped my vision this week. The Blackbird Cafe looks like an amazing place to visit. Happy T Day albeit a little late.
    Hugs Tracey xx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hello dear Jo, I’m so sorry to be so very late with my blog visits for SNT this time… Your collage is so beautiful! You know, at first I honestly thought it was a photo of your tea table, lol! So you did a very great job here, fooling me with your gorgeous remake of a happy tea party! Wishing you a beautiful week, big hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.