Hello Sunshine

Whilst out shopping with my mum recently, we saw cushion which she thought was perfect for me because it had “hello sunshine” written on it. To my surprise she picked it up straight away and said she was buying it for me (grin!). When I see it, it always makes me smile so I thought I’d create a page to share this happiness with you – I hope my page brightens your day and makes you smile too!

Inspired by the cushion design I started with the colour yellow. I sprinkled Yellow, Lemon and Dark Brown Colourcraft Brusho powders onto my page and then I spritzed them with water and watched the magic happen as the colours burst into life. While the Brushos were drying, I cut the flower petals out of some used dried teabags that I had saved and stamped them using black Archival Ink and a stamp set from the Tilly Daydream Collection by Docrafts. I stamped half the petals with a dotty ribbon design and the other half with a wavy ribbon design; these dots and lines were chosen to depict the fabric print of the cushion. I used the same black Archival Ink to stamp “hello sunshine”, from Bella Blvd by Hampton Art, in the centre of the flower which is also a teabag that I had cut into a circular shape as the words and circular design match the cushion. I stuck the teabag pieces to the page using a UHU Stic and when the glue was dry I outlined them with a black Derwent Graphik marker. To create more interest in the background, I stamped dots from a Woodware Françoise Collection stamp set using Mustard Seed Distress Ink; being a similar colour to the Brushos they add a subtle texture. Then I stamped a dotty garland from Craft Sensations, around the edges of the page using black Archival Ink. I added more detail by colouring the centre of the dots that I had stamped on the flower petals and the background using a white Uni Posca paint pen. Then to depict the cushion design, I coiled some pearl decorative wire to decorate the centre of the flower and used Glossy Accents to hold it in place. For the leaves surrounding the daisies, I stamped some leaf images, from the same Hampton Art stamp set, onto a teabag using black Archival Ink, fussy cut them out and stuck them down using a UHU stic. To finish, I arranged the daisies around the leaves with some of the pearl wire and stuck them into place using Glossy Accents.

Here is the wonderful cushion that my mum bought for me, it has pride of place on our rocking chair which sits in the bay window of our Beach/front room – I love it!

As happiness soothes my soul, I’m pleased to join Elke from Meerwolkenleben who is hosting the “Landscapes of the Soul” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

With the autumnal yellows, browns and a spot of orange I’m joining the “Mixed Media with Autumnal Hues” challenge over at Country View Challenges.

Creating my page using these autumnal colours allows me to join a new challenge today over at A Vintage Journey, whose theme is “Crazy for Autumn Colour”, and I’m pleased to have focused on their “Mixed Media” genre as I have used different mediums to create this page and also their “Art Journaling” genre as it is a personal record of my mum’s lovely gift which was my inspiration.

It also makes me happy to be joining the “Not a Card” challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge with my art journal page.

I had fun using all the stamps on this page so I’m also pleased to join the lovely Guest Designers and Design Team over at Stamping Sensations for their “Autumn Glory” challenge

I’m also pleased to join the “October Challenge: Anything Goes!: (stamping MUST be included)” over at Craft Stamper with my unique teabag stamped page.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Colourcraft Brusho Crystals (Yellow, Lemon, Dark Brown)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Mustard Seed)
  • Uni Posca Paint Pen (White)
  • Derwent Graphik Line Marker (Black 0.8mm)
  • Docrafts Tilly Daydream Mini Clear Stamp Set (Ribbons TIL907104)
  • Hampton Arts Bella Blvd cling mounted stamp set (Surf & Sand ICO226)
  • Woodware Craft Collection Françoise Collection stamp set (Flower Style FRSWS003)
  • Craft Sensations (Clear Stamps CRO274/16R2)
  • Used dried teabags
  • Home Bargains Special Occasions (Decorative Chain 26253)
  • Hobbycraft Wired Paper Flowers (Daisy 16101642)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • UHU Stic
45 thoughts on “Hello Sunshine

    • Thanks so much Alison! It took me a while to get enough teabags for this piece as I drink loose tea as a rule …lol 😉. My mum is so thoughtful, I was surprised when she picked it up 😁. Wishing you a lovely week! J 😊

      Like

  1. Your Mom must have been having a fun day out and she wanted to share that with you. How nice of her to get you such a happy cushion. I love your page too Jo.That big flower is so sunny and I think adding the little ones makes even sunnier. They have such bright yellow centers. 🙂 Hope you are having a great week beyond the cushion event. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am in awe of your fantastic page – I love the background and the brown paper piecing on the leaves – just gorgeous – and I like this cushion and your fabulous rocking chair!
    A wonderful entry for Elke’s InnerLandscapes collection – thank you my friend!
    Wish you a happy rest of the week!
    oxo
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oohh my gosh,what a beautiful dreamy page,love the yellow fantastic backround with the teabagflower,the brown with the yellow is a super combination 🙂
    the chair rocks from your mum,when i see this i must smili 🙂
    wishing you a happy rest week,and a happy weekend,dear jo!
    Jenny

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo, your happy page did make me smile. It is a beautiful flower, a super way to use the dried tea bags, its wonderful a sunny background.
    Your mum’s gift is lovely and I am sure every time you see the cushion it will make you smile as well and remember the occasion she gave it to you, it sounded like you had a good day out.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Jo this is such a happy and sunny page, I just love your flower and how amazing you made it from teabags!!! A true work of love and patience with the added stamping and details! I adore the Brusho background too, the whole page is just glorious and what a wonderful tribute to your mum’s lovely gift. The cushion itself looks lovely on that cosy rocking chair! And of course thanks for adding it to our challenge at AVJ!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! It was fun to create this flower out of the teabag papers and stamps, and such a lovely way to remember happy times with my mum too 😁. Hope you are having a lovely time with your family and wishing you a happy weekend! J 😊

      Like

  6. I simply adore this gorgeous art journal entry. I love how you stamped on the tea bags and that pearl wire you used. That’s something I’ve never seen before. I also enjoyed the bright, happy colors you used, too. The page certainly goes quite well with that darling pillow your mother purchased for you. It goes so well in that beach inspired room. Hope you had a great day. I was out all day, just got home and saw your post. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I loved the pearl wire as soon as I saw it and I found it in the crafting section specifically for weddings, it seems making you own wedding decorations is very popular here …lol 😉. Have a great day too! J 😊

      Like

  7. I can totally see why this phrase reminds your mother of you if your profile pic is any indication. Your beautiful smile says it all! I love your sunshine page, the pearls and all the texture on each individual leaf. The water colored background is perfect!
    Have a great weekend Jo!
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! I love this bright and cheery page, the Colourcraft Brushos are such fun when you spritz them and they explode with colour on your page 😁. It’s always a pleasure to join you at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge too. Wishing you a happy weekend! J 😊

      Like

    • Thanks very much! This page provides instant sunshine especially on a grey day like today …lol 😉. I had so much fun using some of my stamps to join your challenge too, thanks! Wishing you a happy Friday and weekend! J 😊

      Like

    • Thanks very much for stopping by and your lovely comments! The pillow always makes me smile and it was fun to capture it in my Art Journal​ 😁. It’s nice to meet you at A Vintage Journey and wishing you a happy weekend! J 😊

      Like

  8. Hello Sunshine! That’s perfect for you. The brusho colors really pop, so vibrant and a great contrast with the tea stained petals. I love the addition of the daisies , such a happy flower,! Your page and the pillow from your mom are lovely reminders of a happy day. My most prized possessions are the gifts I have received from people I love. Wishing you a happy weekend!☀️🌻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

