Always Kiss Me Goodnight

I saw a wall sticker whilst I was out shopping the other day and the romantic in me thought it would be perfect for the “Poetry in Motion” theme over at Art Journal Journey, so it inspired my page and it says:

“Always Kiss Me Goodnight”

To create my grungy background, I covered some of the page with a thin layer of watered down Tea Dye Distress Ink; I did this by applying the ink pad to an acrylic block and spritzing generously with water and then using a paintbrush to apply it to the page.  Then I added some Parchment Liquitex acrylic paint using a craft knife so that you could still see the patches of paint. Once dried, I added some texture by stamping a Hessian stamp by Kaisercraft using a Slate Spectrum Aqua marker and then to add some contrast I stamped a Script stamp, again by Kaisercraft, using Black Soot Distress Ink. The silver lip, words, kisses and hugs images are metallic rub-on transfers by Royal & Langnickel. I cut the wall sticker to separate the words and once they were stuck in place, I outlined them with a ruler using a black Uni Pin marker and a white Uniball gel pen so they stood out more. The flower is fussy cut from some leftover wallpaper that we have in our bedroom, stuck to the page using Liquitex Matte Gel Medium and outlined with a silver metallic pen and a white Uniball gel pen. I thought the flower looked a bit like applique so I added some faux stitching to the page using a stamp and Burgandy Spectrum Aqua Marker. I used a paper punch to create the hearts from the same wallpaper and stuck them in place with matte gel medium. To finish, I added shadows with the Slate Spectrum Aqua marker to the images and outlined them all with a black Uni Pin marker.

With my applique design and faux stitching, I’m also pleased to be able to join the “Stitch it” theme over at Try it on Tuesday.

You may have caught a glimpse of the wallpaper in a previous post. My hubby choose the red accent colour for our bedroom, it’s one of his favourite colours and I love it too (grin!).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Liquitex Artist Color Acrylic (Parchment)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye, Black Soot)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Slate, Burgandy)
  • Script Metallic Pen (Silver)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Hessian CS153, Script CS752)
  • Wallpaper – leftover
  • Tonic Studios Paper Punch Accent (Heart Sider 830E)
  • Home Bargains (Bedroom Wall Sticker 47759)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Transfers Metallic Foils (Kisses & Hugs Silver #ROY-790SV Rub-on)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
26 thoughts on “Always Kiss Me Goodnight

  1. I would never have guessed it was wallpaper until you linked us back. Its pretty paper and you used the image so well in your latest piece. I like that quote and you really created a gorgeous romantic journal page based on it. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the softness of your work and I love the romantic feel to it and those light blue touches with the rub- ons are just amazing and you brought all the elements so beautiful together! As I read how you made it I got excited that you even used a scrap of the wallpaper of your bedroom- ♥♥♥ and that hubby has chosen the pattern.
    It really shows that your handsome hubby keeps proving good taste – a wonderful wallpaper and such a beautiful woman! Lovely photo of you both!
    What a wonderful couple!
    I don’t have a last page for AJJ this month – I am sorry but we have so much going on here with the renovation and my daughter still has holidays and needs me as a taxi driver.
    I hope you don’t mind! I enjoyed your hosting so much – you did an AMAZING job !
    Thank you ♥ dear Jo!
    Happy day!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say! I thought the wallpaper from our bedroom would be fitting for this page given the quote 😁. The picture hasn’t really captured the silver colour of the rub-ons very well, I think the blue may be the reflection of the sky as I took the photo outside …lol 😉. There is no need to apologise dear Susi, I really appreciate all the inspirational pages you have created for my theme and all the support and encouragement you have given me over the month – you’re a star! Enjoy your week! J 😊

      Like

  3. First off, I love that pic of you and your hubby! You have a beautiful smile!! I love your journal page especially that big red flower. It is so pretty with the silver accents. One I would love to have in my garden! Your background is very fun and Of course the quote is true. I always think something is wrong if my hubby doesn’t kiss me goodnight. It is a great code to keep to in a marriage. Along with ‘Don’t go to bed angry.’
    Happy Wednesday,
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A really beautiful and romantic page, Jo! Love the words and the lovely design.
    The faux stitching looks fantastic! That photo of you and your attractive hubby complements this great post perfectly!
    Thank you for joining us at Try It On Tuesday.
    Mar x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Its a fabulous page, I love how you created the base adding layers of paint and details to the wallpaper. I love the quote, a kiss from our loved ones is special no matter what time of the day.
    Its a super photo of you and your hubby, you have lovely smiles.
    Thank you Jo, for popping over to TioT’s to share this beautiful page.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

