And they swam …

This month’s theme over at Art Journal Journey is “Poetry in Motion” so I was inspired to create this fun page based on a nursery rhyme from my childhood which we used to sing at school, you may know it …

I added turquoise coloured tissue paper to the centre of the page using Liquitex Matte Gel Medium, then sprinkled on Ultramarine Colourcraft Brusho powder. I applied more matte gel medium to activate the powder pulling the Brusho colour across the page, as I did this I also wrinkled the tissue paper to add texture so it looked like the sea. I like the way the Brushos added different depths of blue colour.  Then I painted Pébéo white gesso over parts of the page using my finger to push some of the colour back and splattered the page with a paintbrush dipped in black and white acrylic paint to look like air bubbles. Next I arranged the fun orange fish, which are brads, so they appeared to be swimming in shoals across the page.  I pushed each brad through the page and then covered the back with a piece of masking tape to prevent any damage to the next journal page. To finish, I stamped the speech bubbles onto white tissue paper using black Archival Ink, fussy cut them out and added the wording from the rhyme; they are stuck in place using a UHU stic.

Of course there were only “three little fishies” in the original rhyme so I applied some artistic licence when I created this page (grin!).

  Me and my hubby both enjoy snorkeling and diving whilst on holiday, so we have spent many happy hours swimming with the fishes in the sea.

 These pictures were taken in Cyprus where there are always plenty of fish to see.

It always makes me smile when I imagine the fish swimming along singing this song (grin!) – you can find the full lyrics here.

I’d like to thank everyone for their amazing support and participation in this month’s “Poetry in Motion” challenge over at Art Journal Journey and I’m really pleased that you are enjoying the theme so much!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo white gesso
  • Colorcraft Brusho Colours (Ultramarine)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Hampton Art Doodlebug Design Inc. cling mounted rubber stamps (Thankful ICO162)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN Alpha Stmp DCVW0050)
  • Tissue paper (Blue, White)
  • Fish brads (Orange)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
22 thoughts on “And they swam …

  1. HOW WONDERFUL. I really LOVE this. I think I remember that song because someone used it once while I was teaching my altered book class. I adore how you used the tissue paper and it implied motion, as did the fish. It is a great example of your Poetry in Motion and I simply adore it.

    You and your husband really get around. You are two genuine jet setters and I’m loving that you not only share a journal page, but one you also can relate to in real life.

    Again, totally off topic phrase:
    I always thought a “car park” was a designated area where you left your car and took a bus, tram, or other transportation to your final destination. Now I think
    car park -> a parking lot, like those found at supermarkets, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a fun fun page today Jo. I happen to like fish and so all those little goldfish on your page are a riot. I don’t remember this song , but it sounds like a good little ditty to sing. 🙂 Love seeing you diving. I’m a little claustrophobic so when it comes to diving I’ll pass, but snorkeling is fun! The hubby is a diver though, and I love all the world below the waterline you see when snorkeling. 🙂 Happy rest of your weekend. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Erica! I liked creating this fun page and getting a bit messy with the Brushos … lol 😉. I love the sea and could happily spend all day snorkeling while I’m on holiday … lol! Thanks for the smiles and Happy Sunday! J 😊

      Like

  3. I never heard this song but it sounds a little terrifying, kind of similar to the Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Whoever thought these were appropriate for children?? Haha. Somehow, we survived though.
    Anyway, I love those photos of you and your hubby snorkeling. You always seem to take the most amazing trips. Your journal page is a great depiction of your journey through the ocean.
    Have a great weekend,
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know that song but I love your wonderful page – reminds me of one of my favourites books for kids called “Swimmy” by Leo Lionni. Oh wow you both are divers as well – wow!
    Fantastic photos – I love how wonderful your posts always are – this here is no exception!
    Just GREAT!
    It seems the folk at AJJ is most impressed with all the inspiration you share this month !
    All are so busy linking their art even though August is a holiday month and one should think they are all on holidays.
    Happy Sunday Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much dear Susi, you are very kind! Glad my page reminds you of happy childhood memories too, I had fun creating this page and we always enjoy swimming in the sea 😁. I’m glad that people are enjoying the theme so much 😁. Hope you are having a lovely weekend and Happy Sunday! J 😊

      Like

  5. Maybe only 3 little fishies in the original song, but I bet they went to “School” and taught their “chums”. 😀 I love your happy page. The scuba pictures are very cool. I’ve never been snorkeling. I;m a bit of a cat when it comes to water. I like being by it, not in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful funny page! Those little red fishes swim in a form like it’s itself a fish – I see it!
    Wonderful photos of your diving with your hubby – I would have too much fear to get so deeply under water, really I have fear to get a little bit under water! I admire you!
    Happy new week!
    Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very observant dear Rike … how cool is that 😉. My hubby is an excellent swimmer and has helped me build my confidence swimming so now as the saying goes ” I’m like a fish in water” …. lol 😀. Thanks for the smiles today and wishing you a happy new week too! J 😊

      Like

  7. Its a real fun page with those little fishes Jo.. A fantastic verse to go with the page.
    What couple of active folk you both are, the photos under the sea looked amazing, it must be quite an experience to see the fish so close.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot! It makes me smile swimming along and thinking the fish sing the song too 😁. I love swimming and I’m lucky my husband is a fantastic swimmer (trained life guard) as he’s really helped build my confidence in the water 😀. Have a lovely week! J 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

