Rise and Shine

In our beach themed room we have a little plaque that our friends from America bought us when they came to stay, so I thought I’d pay tribute to it for the “Poetry in Motion” challenge over at Art Journal Journey. I’m sure those of you who know my love for walking will think this saying is very appropriate …

I started by prepping the page with a thin layer of Pébéo white gesso to give a smoother finish in readiness to apply the Faber-Castell Gelatos. Once the gesso had dried I scribbled patches of Snow Cone, Lemon and Lime gelatos onto my page to represent the beach; the blue for the sea and sky, yellow for the sand and green for the grassy dunes. Then I dipped my finger into water and rubbed the gelato scribbles to blend the colours; I didn’t use too much water as I wanted a heavier coverage of gelato for the next technique. I covered each of the different coloured areas of the page with a different stencil by Creative Expressions. I rubbed the gelatos through the stencils with a baby wipe to remove and lighten the colour; the stencils I choose were of dots to represent the sea breeze as we take our walk, birds in flight as we often see birds on our beach walks, cogs and a clock face to represent time which ties into the saying. I then used the stencils again to apply Black Soot Distress Ink using a blending tool, lining up the images so they were slightly off centre to add contrast and depth. Next I secondary stamped some arrow images by Hampton Art, using black Archival Ink, to depict the different directions that we can take on our beach walk. Then I used the same ink to add the saying using a Papermania alphabet stamp set. The page is edged with black and white polka dot washi tape which I ripped the tape in half to create an uneven edge. To finish, I added some paper flowers and three wooden polka dot butterfly buttons which I had tied black paper twine through; they are all stuck down using Glossy Accents.

We feel very blessed to live right by the sea so we often go for a walk along our beach. There are lots of different directions that you can choose from … you can walk over the dunes and to a pebbled coastal path.  On the right of this picture are the mudflats where we often see birds (see previous post).

If you walk along this path or through the dunes it leads to Fairhaven Lake.

Go the other way and there are beaches and a promenade with lots of things to see and do such as beach huts, pitch & putt golf, cinema etc.

Eventually you’ll reach the pier, this is my hubby with one of our friends from America when they came to stay – hence why they bought us the sign (grin!).

Of course sometimes the tide is in, the structure on the left of the photo at the end of the pier used to be attached to the pier at one time; in Victorian times it was where ships dropped off their passengers unfortunately it was claimed by a fire.

And when the tide is out you can even walk out to sea, that’s the pier you can see in the distance! It actually feels like you are on another planet the way the sand blows in ripples across the surface of the beach (grin!).

Here’s the plaque that inspired my page; it always makes me smile when I see it and it’s a lovely reminder of our forever friends! In case you’re wondering the lamp in the background is made by my hubby out of drift wood that we collected from our beach too (isn’t he clever!).

So as you can see with all the different walks we have to offer, it’s so easy for us to say “Rise and shine it’s beach walkin’ time!”

“Poetry in Motion”

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Black Soot)
  • Faber-Castell Gelatos (Snow Cone, Lemon, Lime)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Papermania Alphamania A-Z Clear Stamps (Leftovers Alphabet PMA9071102)
  • Craft Sensations (Deco Stencil Set 154892)
  • Hampton Art Bella Blvd cling mounted rubber stamps (Sand & Surf ICO226)
  • Poundland (Washi Tape 156456-GE16)
  • The Works (Butterfly Wooden Buttons)
  • The Works (Mini Paper Flower Embellishment)
  • Wilko (Paper Twine)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
29 thoughts on “Rise and Shine

  1. Your page is so vibrant and bright – it just makes happy – the quote is fabulous and I love all the beautiful details! I can see that this lovely quote on the cube from your friends had inspired you wonderful! I love the clever idea with the black and white washi tape for edging. Especially the uneven edges makes it so interesting!
    Your hubby did a fab job creating this drift wood lamp – looks very good! You are really
    blessed to live right by the sea!
    What an inspiring hostess you are!
    Thank you for all the support and inspiration for Art Journal Journey Challenge dear Jo!
    Happy Wednesday!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to walk the beach and so your page really resonated with me. Your inspiration was great. You live near a gorgeous beach. I would walk it a lot too. 🙂 Makes me want to go walk the beach today. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cool page. Great beachy colors. I wish I lived closer to the beach. The sunlight reflecting off the water, the sound of the waves, the salty air, all so healing to the soul. Thank you for sharing your beach as close as I will get today.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It must be fabulous to live by the sea. I am simply amazed because there is no water anywhere near me, except in my basement when rain turns to floods (grin). Two things I really enjoyed and took away from this spread were the torn washi tape and the thread in the butterflies to cover up the button holes.

    The photos of the beach and the way it looked when the tide was out made it really look like a different planet. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing areas of your town and was surprised by how many brick buildings there were. Simply lovely! As was your beach inspired room you shared with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This page really made me smile, such beautiful, bright and sunny colours! I wish more than ever that I lived near a beach, but we do have lovely woods and countryside to walk through.
    Enjoy today’s walk, wherever it may take you Jo!
    Alison xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Alison! It was fun using the gelatos to create this page 😁. Walking in woods and countryside sounds lovely too. Today we walked 5 miles along the beach as it was a lovely sunny day, we enjoyed watching all the holidaymakers too. Enjoy your week! J 😊

      Like

  6. These fresh colors from the beach and sun and sea are wonderful for your artjournal page, and the quote is great!
    You are lucky to leave nearby the sea to make such happy walks! I can imagine that the sand looks like on another planet when the tide is out.
    The lamp made of wood is really a clever idea!
    Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you dear Rike! We feel very blessed to live by the sea and walking along the beach makes me very happy. We bumped into friends today whilst out walking and it was so nice to catch up with them. The sand rippling along the surface of the beach looks very strange and amazing at the same time … lol 😉. Enjoy your week! J 😊

      Like

  7. This sounds like you had finger painting fun Jo. its so bright and cheerful to see and your quote is another good one. You are indeed lucky to live close to the sea, the photos you shared look fantastic, such wide open spaces, it doesn’t seem like many folk were about, it looks like you had the beach to yourselves.
    Yvonne xx
    p.s. Your lamp looks great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Yvonne! Don’t you just love finger painting and getting messy … lol 😉. We love living by the sea and I tried timber photos without a lot of people in them. There can be 3km of beach when the tide goes out so there is plenty of room for everyone. Saying that it does get very busy on hot sunny days during school holidays and of course at weekends … lol 😉. Enjoy your week! J 😊

      Like

  8. Hi Jo! First of all, thank you for the wonderful AJJ theme this month! And wow! I absolutely LOVE your gorgeous photos. I am in awe that you live so close to the beach and get to see it nearly every single day! What lovely walks you must have! And your work of art is so pretty. I love the background very much, and the sentiment is perfect! (I also like that you were inspired by your wonderful plaque!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. We are a day’s drive from salt water, and I often think it’d be lovely to live close enough to take frequent walks along such a gorgeous beach. Your pictures are as close as I’m likely to get anytime soon, and I enjoyed my virtual walk out past the pier. Cool! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

