The Possibilities are Endless

I hope you’re all enjoying this month’s theme “Poetry in Motion” over at Art Journal Journey.  Today I have created a steampunk page using leftover materials from previous projects to depict “Dream, hope, believe … and the possibilities are endless”.

I started by applying the inks onto the page, which were leftover from a 21st birthday card that I had made; this involved dripping the remaining diluted blue Distress Ink from an acrylic block onto the page and letting it dry, then applying the leftover black Distress Ink that was on my blending tool using a Viva Décor stencil that I had also used for the card. As you can see, I moved the stencil around the page to produce a lovely shaded effect as the leftover ink was gradually used up. I then added leftover letters from a set of rub-on transfers by Letraset to give a grunge look to the page. Next I stamped three frames, some postal marks and texture stamps by The Works and a key image by Royal & Langnickel using black Archival Ink. To start my sentiment I added the words “dream; hope; believe” which are rub-on transfers by Royal & Langnickel. I stamped the rest of the sentiment onto a piece of white tissue paper using black Archival Ink and stuck it onto the tag using a UHU Stic. The tag was also leftover from a previous project; I had stamped a Kaisercraft Script stamp using black Archival Ink over the whole tag, edged it with Tea Dye Distress Ink, drawn a stitched look border using a black Uni Pin marker and tied on some paper twine which I distressed using the same Tea Dye ink. I also stamped the texture and key stamps onto the tag so it matched the page background. I outlined the edges of the tissue paper and the letters on the tag with a white Uniball gel pen and stuck it to the page using double-sided foam tape. Then I used the Royal & Langnickel rub-on transfers again to add the “dream; hope; believe” definitions around the sides of the page. To finish, I sourced three postage stamps from my hubby’s childhood stamp collection that tied into the steampunk feel. They are all from Great Britain and I placed them inside the stamped frames using double-sided foam tape.

Here’s the 21st Birthday card that I made for one of my godsons, like my page it has a steampunk feel to it. I find like many of my projects that I had some bits and pieces left over, so I was inspired to create a page from leftovers to demonstrate that the possibilities are endless!

I hope you also think that the possibilities are endless for this month’s theme “Poetry in Motion” over at Art Journal Journey. I’m so looking forward to visiting you and seeing your creations. Thanks for joining me today!

If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Black Soot, Peacock Feathers, Tea Dye)
  • Range Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • The Works clear stamps (CRO274/TW3)
  • Royal & Langnickel Clear Choice Stamps (Journey MIN-CCS104)
  • Viva Décor Universal Stencil (Past Times 9002 703 00)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752)
  • Dovecraft lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN ALPHA STMP DCVW0050)
  • White tissue paper
  • Hobbycraft(Kraft Medium Luggage Tag 5776581000)
  • Letraset Transfer (Helvetica Bold Condensed 5mm RDC0251)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on sentiments (Motivate Sentiments #ROY510 RUB-ON)
  • Postage stamps (Great Britain 1972, 1975)
  • Wilko (10m Paper Twine 0314169)
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range Double-sided foam tape
24 thoughts on “The Possibilities are Endless

  1. wow jo,your dream page looks fantastic,love the little tag on it and the poem is wonderful,looks like steampunk, i love this too:-)
    and yes,dream,hope,belive is important,love the the images and the stencil in grey of your beautiful page 🙂
    wishing you a happy sunday,dear jo!

    Jenny

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Morning, Jo, first I say thank you for your lovely comment on my blog.
    Your Steampunk page is just gorgeous, love the background and the fantastic elements on the page.

    Have a wonderful Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you dear Rike! It was great fun getting creative with all the leftovers, I hate to throwing things away and if I don’t use them they take up valuable space in my craft room that could be used for new items … lol 😉 . Wishing you a very Happy Sunday too! J 😊

      Like

  3. Your steampunk page is just GORGEOUS – I love all about it – so well composed and such a lightness in it – so beautiful ! Your birthday card is beautiful as well!
    I hope you had a great weekend!
    Thank you for yet another inspiring page linked to your wonderful theme!
    You are an amazing hostess!
    Good start of the new week for you dear Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. oooh a double Steampunk fix for me – great stuff Jo!
    Love LOVE your main page especially and all the lovely details. The stamps you pinched from your husbands stamp collection were genius – sorry did I say ‘pinched’ of course I meant ‘sourced’ ha ha … imaging a stripy jumpered burglar with mask and swag bag over shoulder now 🙂
    Sorry not joined in so much this month at AJJ – can’t remember if I said was busy saving some software tutorial notes for a scrapbooking site that was closing down and now closed – took longer than I thought.
    Hope all well with you and that you had a great weekend
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • So funny and thanks for making me smile with your burglar description and the comic imagery it conjured up in my mind … lol 😉. Glad you managed to get all the software saved, I figured that was keeping you busy, it must have been a lot of work. Its always lovely chatting with you, have a wonderful week! J 😊

      Like

  5. Trying to play catch up here. Sorry I’m so late visiting. This is a glorious AJJ entry. I love, love, love your endless possibilities and I also adore the steampunk inspired birthday card, too. The postage stamps are definitely the icing on the cake, as are the dictionary words and descriptions. Great entry, dear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

