Seaside Days

We feel really blessed to live right by the sea and with it being summer it’s great fun to see all the holidaymakers who visit our beach. Having also seen the lovely seaside and beach hut photos that my good friend Gill from Gibbyfrogettcraftations had posted of her home town I was doubly inspired to create a page to remember the sunny seaside days we have been having of late.

The background textures and colours represent the sand, sea, dunes and pebbles of our shoreline. I started by applying Yellow, Moss and Teal Spectrum Aqua Markers to an acrylic block, spritzing the block with water and pressing it onto the page, gradually building up layers of colour. I then stamped a pebble pattern using a homemade polystyrene stamp using Tea Dye Distress Ink and London Fog Memento Ink.  Next I added a piece of netting using a UHU Glue Pen to stick it down and I chose some words to add to the background with a seaside theme which are rub-on transfers. I positioned an old postcard onto my page which was from my mum and dad when they were on holiday in Cromer, Norfolk. This beach hut image is called “Seaside Days” by M.Heath and as I wanted to be able to read the back of the postcard I attached it to my page using hooks that I secured into place using Glossy Accents. The hooks are from a pack of Hook & Eye Bar Fasteners by Newey which were in my sewing box.

I like the way the postcard is securely held into place by the hooks and also slides out with ease so I can still view the back. I fussy cut the crab, boat and seagulls from a leaflet and also some nautical images and paper squares from a wallpaper sample. I stamped the letters on the paper squares using black Archival Ink and then I stuck everything onto the page using matte gel medium. I used a Slate Spectrum Aqua marker to add shadows once the gel medium had dried. To finish, I added some dried palm leaves to the page, using Glossy Accents, so they looked like grasses.

For me seaside days celebrate summertime so I’m pleased to be able to join Bleubeard and Elizabeth from Altered Book Lover for the “Summertime Love” theme over at Art Journal Journey.

We have beach huts on our beach front too and and these huts can be rented for the day. This time of year they are very popular, more so at weekends and some evenings.  They have a lovely outlook on the promenade overlooking the beach and you often find people sitting in the sunshine and enjoying the facilities the beach hut provides. People often bring a picnic with them, walk into town to get fish and chips or arrange for a pizza to be delivered to their hut. They always seem to be having so much fun!

On our particular beach there is plenty of space for everyone (the tide often goes out 1.8miles that’s 3km) and for the children there is usually a bouncy castle and also donkey rides, which are traditional at seaside resorts here in the UK. The donkeys usually have their names on their harnesses, so let me introduce you to Rambo, Teddy and Bobby who were being very well looked after by their owners.  I remember as a child going on donkey rides up and down the beach which were definitely happy seaside days (grin!).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Memento Ink (London Fog)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Yellow, Moss, Teal, Slate)
  • Docrafts A5 Clear Stamp Set (Alphas Folk DCE907115)
  • Homemade polystyrene stamp
  • Postcard “Seaside Days” by M.Heath
  • Wallpaper sample
  • Craft Planet Metallic Waterfall Stickers (Beach)
  • Newey No.2 Hooks & Eye Bar Fasteners
  • Netting
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Glue Pen
32 thoughts on “Seaside Days

  1. There is SO much to love in this spread and the beautiful photos you shared, too. The idea of attaching the post card with eyelet hooks was brilliant. It’s a great way to keep the card intact, yet be able to take it off the page to view it when you want to. That is impressive, indeed.

    Your beach huts in the postcard are very colorful. They are clever and fun to see sitting in the sand. And the ones at the shore, although not as colorful, are far more plentiful that I would have imagined. That photo showed how many there are in a row. I also like that you rented them by the day and some people had pizza delivered from town (seems like something we Americans would do). Thanks so much for sharing your lovely journal page with us at Art Journal Journey today. It’s a gorgeous entry!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was surprised how easy it was to place and attach the hooks too and you may have noticed I staggered the hooks on each side so the postcard was easier to place in its holder. There are about 25 of these huts on our beach front and there are more planned 😀. Happy Friday and Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  2. I love your colorful beach huts and the surf and sand of your postcard. I’ve never seen beach huts like you have here in New England. Facilities are usually near the parking area well away from the water. As a Doctor Who fan, the beach huts remind me of Tardises. And the donkeys are so cute.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your beach huts are beautiful – you are a lucky person to live there where others visit to make holidays. Your page is wonderful – I love all the fabulous layers of colours and the clever addition of texture. I wish you a happy weekend ahead and say “Thank you ” for another beautiful entry linked to Elizabeth’s AJJ theme. I still will be away from home until next Tuesday.
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous seaside page Jo! The hook & eye fasteners are a great idea to keep that lovely postcard in place! Love the donkeys too!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Alison xx
    P.S. You’re so lucky to live by the sea! Wish I did!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jo! WOW! Your page is absolutely beauitufl. I love the photo so much and your background is simply amazing. So perfect for a summer love page!!!! Thanks also for sharing the photo of the beach huts near you! So cool! And the fact that you can take a donkey ride is even more cool! I loved your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much for stopping by and your lovely comments! We often walk or cycle passed the beach huts as we like to see everyone enjoying themselves and the donkeys are adorable 😀. Happy Friday and Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  6. Jo, As always I love your page; your composition and color choice are great. My daughter has moved from London to an area 100 miles north for her work; it is a big change, very rural. She and her boyfriend will be moving again in a couple of weeks to more permanent digs. They went to a beach last week, about an hours drive from where she is living. I will have to ask if she know the name of it. She did say she was surprised because it was a nude beach. Is that common over there? Maybe the people leave the clothes in the beach huts so that they won’t get wet or sandy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! As for your question, I think I would be surprised to find a nude beach here too as they are not that common (I only know of two and I think they are in the South of the country as the weather tends to be warmer there … lol 😁). I hope your daughter is settling in well and enjoying herself here in the UK 😀. Happy Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  7. Jo your post has really touched my memories tonight, I love your beach huts and fabulous page. It was a clever way to attach the postcard, all the images you used look great.
    The photos were the ones that got me thinking, especially the donkeys, it was good to see them and they all look so healthy. It was a special seaside treat to have a donkey ride, I hope children these days feel the same.
    Have a good weekend.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Yvonne! I always loved donkey rides too, it was such a special treat 😀. Looking at the smiles on the children’s faces I think they enjoy the rides as much as we did 😁. Have a good weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  8. We don’t have beach huts like that here in the US, and I think they are smart. here we have one big beach house that everyone uses. Kind of icky actually. Loving your page. It feels like a day at the beach. And lucky you to have so much sun. The last few days have been so gray here. Ugh. Happy weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! The photos were taken this week (on Thursday), it was such a lovely sunny day 😀. We now have rain this morning, no worries though I’ve plenty to do indoors and the plants will appreciate it too … lol 😁. Happy Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  9. aww thanks for the lovely mention Jo. I adore your journal page with its beautiful background – the colours and details are so cleverly thought out. And that hook idea was genius! Nice to see your lovely beachuts and beach – and donkeys (lucky you) I think our beach is too small and health and safety banned them, but I have fond memories of donkey rides as a child, just a bit further along the coast though at St Osyths.
    Hope you’ve had great day doing something fun.
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I loved your photos and you captured the beach huts beautifully, who could not be inspired 😀. The donkeys were my favourite too, it was a special treat to ride them, such fun! As it’s been raining I’ve spent the day baking and catching up on house chores, I did manage to find some time for crafting though … lol 😉. Hope you are having a lovely weekend too, enjoy! J 😊

      Like

  10. You made a very beautiful background for this stunning beach huts photo! You are lucky to live nearby the sea – I always enjoy it very much when I am on holiday at the beach! I am living far away from the sea.
    Best wishes, Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

  11. hi jo,woow,love your soo beautiful seaside page,love the all littles deatils,and the backround just amazing,i love your lucky art and you a happy person with so much fun,great with you chatting again 🙂
    love the donkeys too,and thank you for the nice photos,love this.
    wishing you a happy sunday dear jo 🙂
    blessings from jenny 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

