Carnival

Every summer we attend our local carnival weekend and we always have so much fun watching the parade that it inspired this page! I’m pleased to be able to join Bluebeard and Elizabeth at Altered Book Lover again for the “Summertime Love” theme over at Art Journal Journey.

I started by cutting different decoupage and design pad papers into squares and rectangles to create the background. The papers I choose have seaside theme images and colourful patterns to represent our town, the carnival atmosphere and the fun we had. They are stuck to the page using a UHU Stic and I incorporated some pretty patterned fabric tape into the background design as well. Then I added vertical black lines along the edge of some of the papers using a Uni Posca paint pen. Next I added all the embellishments with the aim of layering them and to only use one of each item or design on my page so that I created an eclectic feel to represent the parade and give the page contrasting pops of colour. This was also a good way to use up bits and pieces I had leftover in my craft stash. This included some cardboard bunting with buttons on from Poundland and glittery bunting from Poundworld, which represent the bunting we saw along the parade route. As there were lots of bands taking part and music played throughout the parade I also added some music note washi tape, along with some camera film washi tape as we and many others were taking photos. There were vintage vehicles in the parade so I added an image of an old vintage car which is a Victorian tag embellishment. I added some pink circle stickers with palm trees and flamingos by The Range and lots of different flowers to represent some of the floats we saw during the parade; the flowers included a lovely sunflower border by Docrafts, a mini white flower, a red rose (for one of the bands) by The Range, a 3D sticker, a blue organza flower recycled from a gift bag and some glittery blue flower rub-on transfers. I also used some foam craft stickers from Wilko; a flower shape, a star, a balloon and lollipop which some floats were giving out to children, a crown to represent the carnival queens in the parade, a lion to represent the jungle theme of one of the school floats and an ice cream as there were bicycle ice cream carts. I especially liked the lorry carrying children from a local football club who had water guns. Needless to say they were having great fun covering everyone in water, so I added a foam football to the page with a half circle of tear shaped gem stones to depict the water droplets from their water guns (grin!). There were actually many children taking part in the parade from schools, clubs and community groups, they are represented by “A,B,C” and “1,2,3” mini gel stickers that I added to my page. As well as the “Sand; Sea; Sun” wording on one of the decoupage papers, I added more words that I associated with the carnival using stickers from Craft Planet, rub-on transfers and a “Hidden Joy” fabric sticker by Little Yellow Bicycle. The garland flag and ticket represent the fun rides and stalls that were in the park as part of the carnival. To finish, I added a glittery heart, some buttons, a couple of ribbons that I had tied into bows and lots of gemstones to add sparkle and interest.

Thought you might want to join in the carnival fun so here’s our Town Crier opening the parade, as you can see we had beautiful sunny weather.

There was lots of music throughout the parade and my favourite was this New Orleans style brass band; they are called Red Rose and played great music, I also enjoyed watching the gentleman with his umbrella, he looked so happy dancing in front of his band!

If you prefer there was also a traditional UK brass band.

Or even bagpipes for those of you who prefer more of a Scottish vibe which was loud and fabulous too.

This is one of the many vintage cars that took part in the parade.

There were quite a few horses in the parade this year and the carnival queen was travelling in style in a Cinderella coach.

Here’s the children from the Football Club, don’t they look pleased with themselves squirting the spectators with their water guns.

There was also a troop of local gymnasts performing in the parade and if you look at the photo closely you can see one of them in mid-air.

I was in awe of the work that must have gone into all the wonderful knitted car – isn’t it amazing!

As we were walking by Anton’s café, we saw some friends sitting at one of the tables outside and they kindly asked if we would like to join them.

Of course we were delighted to and had a great time chatting and enjoying the sunshine. So as T Stands for Tuesday I’m saying a big hello to the T Gang and wishing you all a very Happy T Day! Our drinks were a pot of green tea for me and a hot chocolate for my hubby, you can also see our friend’s cappuccino in the background which I’m sure will please any coffee lovers in the T Gang, namely Valerie and Elizabeth (grin!).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Uni Posca Paint Pens (White, Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Trimcraft Deco Mache Decoupage Papers (Tiled Seaside FEDEC102)
  • VivaGade Decoupage Paper (Helsinki)
  • Craft Sensations Design Pad (Soft Sweetness 154897)
  • The Works (Fabric Tape)
  • Poundland (Handmade Embellishments 138127)
  • Poundworld (Paper Lace U-83197)
  • The Works (3 Washi Tapes)
  • The Works (Victorian Style Embellishments PO/19702)
  • Docrafts Papermania Signature 3D Floral Borders (Sunflower Stickers PMA801100)
  • The Range (Craft Stickers CR1243)
  • Home Bargains Special Occasion (Mini Decorative Stickers 22740)
  • The Range (Rose Garland CR0951)
  • Free & Easy (3D Stickers 002157)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Sentiments (SYN14709, Summer #ROY-505 Rub-on)
  • Blue organza flower (recycled from gift bag)
  • Wilko Little Steps (Safari Foam Stickers)
  • Graham & Brown The Wall (Adhesive Jewels)
  • Home Bargains (Mini Gel Stickers 30287)
  • Craft Planet Metallic Waterfall Stickers (Beach PO#9622)
  • Little Yellow Bicycle Stickers (Fabric Favourites PD-220)
  • Trimcraft Garland Flags (Fun Fair HCGF001)
  • Ticket
  • The Works (Glitter Heart Stickers)
  • Buttons
  • Ribbon
  • The Range (Adhesive Craft Gems)
  • Poundland Self-adhesive gems (504 Gems 128133)
  • Hobbycraft Gem Sticker Strip (Assorted Pink Squares 5971461001)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
54 thoughts on “Carnival

  1. JO! What to comment on??!! First .. i’m early … cause hubby is going fishing and i have the afternoon and evening to myself and i thought i’d get a jump on things..lol LOVE the Town Crier ! How cool is that? ! And the man with the umbrella… i so wanted that to be a video and not a photo! Would have loved to see him dance… Scottish music… YES! There better be a drop of their blood in my veins when i get the results of the DNA test…lol What a great idea for the kids in the Football Club.. I’ll be they loved it…So scary they are doing air stunts on asphalt… grass would be a little softer…AND i cannot forget to mention your ArtJournal page! Love all the bright colors. Definitely brings to mind a carnival… I look forward to the Fall Festivals when its cooler… Happy Early T day Jo! Hugs! deb

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Deb! You picked out all the things I love – the town crier, the man with the umbrella, the Scottish music and the football club 😀. You can see why I was so inspired to create a bright and carnival like page 😉. Wishing you a very Happy T Day too! J 😊

      Like

  2. What a happy summertime love page, Jo. It’s just chock full of things to love about summer 😉
    And so is that Carnival parade. I wish there was audio so I could hear the bands. They all look fabulous! The yarn-bombed car is awesome.

    Thank you for a delightful post 😀

    Happy T-Day! Hugs, Eileen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would have been by sooner, but stopped to see a report on TV about coffee drinking extending life. It seems persons who acquired cancer were unaffected by coffee drinking, but the chance of dying from diabetes, heart disease, and Alzheimers was reduced by drinking several cups of coffee a day. I only mention this because you mentioned that Valerie and I would be pleased to see empty coffee cups. I’ll let you drink your green tea and, if the temperature here wasn’t at least 99 F (36 C), hot chocolate might sound good.

    I really, really enjoyed your lovely Carnival page for Art Journal Journey. Everything about it is a joy to see. I love the way you “stitched” the background together, and how you used so many different embellishments to pull the piece together for the eclectic look you were going for. Just like the parade you shared. This is a stunning page and I’m so glad you shared it with us at Art Journal Journey and T Stands For Tuesday.

    BTW, that high flying act really scared me. Some of the kids couldn’t even see her due to the sun, and one of those catching her was wearing a wrist brace. You got a great photo, but it was an accident waiting to happen, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should have seen my craft area, there was such a big pile of embellishments out at one point … lol 😁. The carnival was so much fun and something we always plan to attend every summer! Totally agree about the gymnasts, it was scary to watch. Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 😊

      Like

  4. oh what a joyful and fun page celebrating that wonderful carnival Jo!!! Of course I would have cheered especially for the bagpipers:) And look at you so cleverly covering the T crew with tea, chocolate and coffee! Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think you made the perfect page for that parade. Your page is fun and I love how you made the mosaic collaged background. 🙂 And I am with you for that knitted car. Now that is something unique but cool. Perfect for a parade! Glad you posted those photos because I can tell you had fun! Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A stunning page that says it all about the wonderful parade. It would make a grand advert in a local paper for next year.

    Happy T day and thank you for sharing the photographs of the terrific event.

    Love Chrissie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carnival in summer… a good time to celebrate! our´s is in feb, often dealing with storm or other bad weather… seems you really had a nice Parade with lots of fun!
    happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your page certainly captures the color and excitement of the carnival. Was a bit like a where’s Waldo trying to find the items in the page like the ice cream cone and the football which took me a little longer to find because I was looking for an American football when DUH! Soccer! I enjoyed the pictures from the parade. Love the town crier and the bands. And yeah, the kids on the float with squirt guns look insufferably pleased with themselves soaking spectators. 😀 After all the noise and excitement sitting at the cafe was a welcome break. Have a Happy T Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow Jo I can just imagine the carnival when I saw your wonderful page with all the interesting additions. It created its own atmosphere of fun and celebration. I loved the photos of the parade, the sunshine brings its own happiness and you could see the folk were having a great time as well.
    Happy T day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh Jo, where to start? What a fab post! Your journal page is so colourful and summery.
    I love seeing the photos of the carneval. I would have enjoyed the dixieland band, and I love that man with his umbrela dancing away! What a charácter! The classic cars and the Cinderella coach, all great things. Those lads were certainly having fun spraying wáter around. All kids love that sort of thing. It’s good that the weather was good too. I bet you had a wonderful time.
    Thank you for taking me with you to the carneval.
    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your carnival page looks great and the photos from the parade look like everyone was having a great time. Thanks for sharing , I can’t remember the last time I went to a parade, Thanks also for stopping by my blog. Lady’s trip to the Vet went well .

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The carnival looked great fun Jo – so glad the weather stayed niced for everyone to enjoy it.
    I would have like to have seen the New Orleans Jazz band, the Cinderella coach and that amazing knitted car especially. Our canival here is early August followed by a week of things like Sandcastle making competions and lots for kids and families.
    I love your happy and colourful journal page – I zoomed in to see all the many details and as always you have captured the spirit of the occassion and memory of the day beautifully.
    Grey and overcast today and still a little breezy – no rain yet..and only one bad night of non stop rain during week.
    Thanks for all the kind comments you left – wishing you a wonderful weekend too.
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had a lovely time at the carnival and it was good that the weather stayed nice 😀. We had a fun time with our friends too and it was nice to sit down and enjoy a drink. The page was fun to create with all those embellishments, I had so much out on my worktop though … lol 😁. We stayed home today as it’s been raining most of the day and now the sun is out again, still quite warm too. Thanks so much and Happy Saturday! J 😊

      Like

    • Thank you! For me nothing can beat a lovely cup of green tea and luckily we find it available in most cafés here. When we are at home we drink loose leaf Gunpowder green tea which seems a harder to come, so we always stock up when we go to a nearby Chinese supermarket 😀. Have a great week! J 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

