The Planets

Whilst out and about on our tandem we discovered some stone mosaic planets in one of our local parks. They were so pretty and unexpected that I thought I would create a space themed page after seeing them.

I started by creating a template of the Earth from white card by drawing the different sections and cutting them out. Using this template I then cut different papers to form the sections choosing designs that linked to the space theme; these included star constellations, space craft, dot shaped numbers, map grids and a denim dark blue to depict the sky at night. I had them sat on my cutting mat and I liked the pattern behind them so much, that I created the mat design on my page as the background. I did this by drawing black lines using a ruler and a Uni Pin marker and stamping lines of a dot and a dash border by Hampton Art using black Archival Ink. Next I edged the Earth sections using a black Sharpie Permanent Marker, stuck them to the page using double-sided tape and outlined the Earth shape using the black Uni Pin marker. To finish I added five space postage stamps from Equatorial Guinea using double-sided foam tape, these large designs are so colourful they really make the page.

As my page includes numerous circles including the shape of the Earth, the small dot border stamp and those contained within the different design papers, I’m pleased to join Rosie who is hosting the “Circles” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

These are the wonderful planets that we saw at the park.

They form part of the play area so that children can learn all about the Solar System.

Me and my hubby saw them on one of our longer tandem rides when we headed up Blackpool prom and although our tandem isn’t quite space travel it sure is fun (grin!).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.2mm)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Hampton Art Doodlebug Design Inc. Cling Mounted Rubber Stamps (Borders ICO160, Thankful ICO162)
  • American Crafts Paper Pad (DIY Shop 366665)
  • Craft paper pack
  • White card
  • Postage Stamps from  my hubby’s childhood collection (Equatorial Guinea)
  • X-press It double-sided tape
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
34 thoughts on “The Planets

  1. I am impressed with this amazing page – a wowser! And you were so perfect with the lines–wow…! The fabulous stamps make a wonderful addition as well!
    Fantastic are these mosaic planets – never saw something like that yet! Thank you for sharing the photos – nice to see your tandem again, I think that must be great fun to use it!
    I say THANK YOU for such an amazing entry linked to Rosie’s circle theme! I love it!
    I wish you a happy weekend Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! The lines were a bit tricky to perfect, that’s why my cutting mat was out … lol πŸ˜€. The mosaic planets were a great find, it’s always fun to find new things while we are out on our tandem. Happy Friday and wishing you a lovely weekend! J 😊

      Like

  2. What a fun, colorful and unique page. I never think to use the things around me as the inspiration for a layout but what a great idea. I will have to work on this more. Thank you for sharing and inspiring!Enjoy your weekend, Jo.
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I like trying out new things for my pages so find inspiration in the most strangest of things … lol! I’m glad you’ve been inspired too πŸ˜€. Happy Friday and have a lovely weekend! J 😊

      Like

  3. This AJJ entry is simply out of this world (no pun intended, of course). I was SO impressed with the world, the lines, the grids, everything. Then of course, the stamps added the final flair that made it even more enjoyable.

    Those planet mosaics are wonderful. Wish they had something like that at the Cosmosphere. This is a great way for children to learn about our solar system.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Those mosaic planet stones looked amazing, I think children would have a great time learning in such a visible tactile way. Fun for adults as well.
    The journal page is fabulous, loved how you created your planet with the coloured segments. the stamps go so well with the design.
    Have a good weekend Jo
    Yvonne xx
    p.s. It was super to see the tandem out and about again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne! It was fun and quite a departure from using all my inks and paints, although it still took some time to create with the precision needed to match the segments πŸ˜€. It’s nice to be out on the tandem again. Have a good weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  5. Those planets are really cool and interesting you hadn’t discovered them before. But glad you decided to show us-I think those kind of things really make the trip interesting. And your page is super. I love those space stamps. They are amazing. Great job of circles for AJJ too. happy weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Erica! It’s quite a small park which we have often cycled passed but it’s on the opposite side of a busy road away from the prom so this time we made a detour πŸ˜€. They were so unexpected and delightful! Thanks again and happy weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  6. Your pages always have some many things I love. You did a fantastic job with your page…so precise. Where do you find your stamps? I love the parks over there. The mosaic planets are awesome! I have never pedalled a tandem bike. So curious how it works..is it like dancing where you have to be in rhythm? Happy. Weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! The postage stamps are from my hubby’s childhood stamp collection which he kindly gave to me for art journalling, he liked the idea that they are being given a second lease of life rather than just sitting in a box πŸ˜€. The tandem pedals are connected so you keep the same rhythm​ as you are cylcing, it does take some getting use to as the person on the back has no controls and can’t see anything at the front so communication is important 😁. Thanks again and wishing you a happy weekend too! J 😊

      Like

  7. The exactly descriptions of the things you used are amazing! Now I read all the other posts I have missed – all so beautiful!
    I think you had a funny tandem tour with your husband?! The planets look really great – and you made a wonderful artjournal page! The stamps fit in a fantastic way!
    Happy Whit Sunday and Monday!
    Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much and for visiting all my other posts too πŸ˜€. Going out on the tandem is always fun especially as the weather has been so good and finding these pretty planets made me happy! Happy Whit Sunday and Monday to you too dear Rike! J 😊

      Like

  8. You’ve made a different sort of page this time, a geometrical page, and I would not have recognised this as your art (that is not a bad thing by the way! – just saying!). These patterned planets in the park are astonishing, but you also manage to see the world in a different way and share it in your art.
    Nice idea to add the colourful stamps, and the earth with its carefully measured sections is terrifically done.
    What fun to bicycle in tandem, one of you never has to look back to see if the other is still there (on separate cycles).
    Have a good week, Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sheila! It was quite a departure for me to use so few materials and so simple in its design πŸ˜€. The world sections took time to perfect and I like the result. The planets were a fun find and we enjoyed our tandem ride, it’s nice to be able to chat and point things out to each other as we are riding along too! Wishing you a wonderful week! J 😊

      Like

  9. Nice to see you out and about on your Tandem Jo – that does look fun πŸ™‚
    I’m guessing you won’t be on it today if your weather like ours – more like a tropical storm with the wind and rain – maybe not tropical as its only 10c – what a drop in temperature 😦
    Love your page and the postage stamps you used – what a great way of journalling what you saw at the park. The mosaic planets are really cool and very unusual.
    Have a great day… Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

