A very fine swan indeed!

On a warm sunny day whilst walking alongside the Lancaster Canal, my hubby captured a fantastic photo of a swan looking very regal whilst showing off his plumage; this swan definitely wasn’t an ugly duckling in fact “You’re a very fine swan indeed!” as the well-known song says.

The background is Yellow, Aquamarine and Slate Spectrum Aqua markers which I scribbled onto an acrylic block, spritzed with water and pressed onto the page. Then I used the same technique to add some Cracked Pistachio Distress Ink over the top. Next I added a series of stamps using London Fog Memento Ink and a Hobbycraft silver pigment ink; these stamps included a Script stamp by Kaisercraft to represent the Ugly Duckling lyrics, a feather stamp by Craft Sensations to depict those beautiful feathers and two crown stamps as he looked very regal. Next I stamped the swan images by Urban Stamps using Rich Cocoa Memento Ink and added torn pieces of a blue-green paper from a design pad using a UHU Stic. The swan is a print of the actual photo my hubby took which has been edited to give a vintage monochrome look and stuck to the page using the UHU Stic. Once the glue had dried I outlined the image and the papers with a black Uni Pin Marker and silver metallic paint. I added silver border outline stickers to the blue paper, as well as the small silver cross-like stickers, white diamante-centred flowers, colourful flower shaped stickers and purple rhinestone flowers across the whole page. I added a feather that I picked up alongside the canal on the day of our walk which I’m pretty sure is from a swan, and also some decorative diamante chain to hold it down. To finish I used the same decorative chain under each of the swans that I had stamped.

I’m pleased to be able to join Try it on Tuesday’s theme of “Feathered Friends” and Gill from gibbyfrogettcraftations who is hosting the “Elegance & Grunge” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

Here’s the original photo my hubby took of the swan, isn’t he magnificent! I can just imagine him singing (grin!):

“Not a quack, not a quack, not a waddle or a quack
But a glide and a whistle and a snowy white back
And a head so noble and high
Say who’s an ugly duckling?
Not I!”

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Yellow, Aquamarine, Slate)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Cracked Pistachio)
  • Memento Ink (London Fog, Rich Cocoa)
  • Hobbycraft Pigment Ink (Silver)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Poundland Metallic Paint (Silver)
  • Script Metallic Pen (Silver)
  • Craft Sensations (Clear Stamps CRO274/16R1)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752)
  • Docrafts Urban Stamps (12 Days of Christmas – Icons PMA907909)
  • Hampton Art 7 Gypsies Cling Mounted Rubber Stamps (Birdsong ICO151)
  • Poundland Design Pad (Vintage Chic Creations CRO701/PL4)
  • Swan printed photo
  • Docrafts Anita’s Outline Stickers (Timeless Borders ANT810117)
  • Fancy Stickers (Flowers & Butterflies 28965)
  • Home Bargains Special Occasion (Mini Decorative Stickers 22740, Decorative Diamante Chain 26254)
  • The Works Stickers (Rhinestone Flowers)
  • Feather
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • UHU Stic
34 thoughts on “A very fine swan indeed!

  1. A beautiful page. I really love the addition of the chain under the swans to look like ripples in the water. And now that you gave me the delightful earworm, I just might have to dig out Danny Kaye singing the song.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a very fine swan indeed. What a fabulous photo! And you did it justice with your gorgeous page Jo. I love those little swans you added to the background. They look so well behaved compared to the feisty one in the photo. Have a fabulous weekend Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh – that is one AMAZING page ! Gorgeous! The ugly duckling from H.C. Andersen was my favourite fairytale as I was a little- my mum had to read it at least hundres times to me…lol.
    I am in love with this great page and more than happy to see it linked to AJJ and MM& More as well!
    Thank you for all your support to the challenges Jo!
    Happy weekend!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely adore everything about this page, Jo. I like the little diamond embellishments you used under the swans. It makes them look like the swans are swimming.

    And that photo is fantastic. You mentioned photo editing, but when I first saw it, I thought you had scratched it using a sanding block. It’s really very cleverly done and became the really beautiful focal point of your journal page.

    Your husband took a fantastic photo. Very, very impressive photo and great art journal page!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thats such a gorgeous photo of the swan Jo (clever hubby! ) and great editing of it for your beautiful page. Love all the details on the b/g and especially the crown and lovely feather. As always, thanks so much for linking to AJJ its much appreciated. I’m keeping away from the sea front and bank holiday crowds, plus we had a summer storm with thunder earlier and now hot and humid again – so a break from gardening today and relaxing and wil do some arty/craft stuff instead. I bet you’ve lots planned for the weekend so hope you have a lovely time and weather nice as well. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Gill! I’m enjoying taking part in the theme you chose this month at AJJ 😁. We might go out on our tandem to see what the holiday crowds are up too if the weather improves, otherwise it’s art journalling for me too. It’s hot and humid here even though we had some rain this morning. Stay cool and enjoy your day, Happy Weekend! J 😊

      Like

  6. A beautiful page Jo, gorgeous coloured background that compliments the wonderfully edited photo. Such a magnificent and graceful bird and your hubby captured the scene so well.
    Think you might have me singing that song tonight, it was a favorite film of mine when I was young.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This really is a most beautiful page! Love how you altered the photo – it looks great against the wonderful background you created! So pleased you joined us at Try It On Tuesday! Tried to comment yesterday and lost my connection! Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That is a great photo your hubby took of the swan and I also like the way you have changed it for your page. I always spend ages reading your description of how you made it (as you know) and comparing the description to the artwork. Your attention to detail is amazing and always very effective, like each swan swimming along a diamante sea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t normally dabble with digital artwork but I had fun playing around with the photo 😀. I enjoy creating pages with meaning so I can look back on them and remember the fond memories associated with it. I love the thought of a diamante sea and can imagine all that sparkle, perfect! Wishing you happy week! J 😊

      Like

  9. I love how you changed the photo which was beautiful, to make this fabulous page Jo. The background is lovely and you always share great details as to how you create your art.
    Thank you for sharing this page with us at TioT’s.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A local park here had a pair of swans for a while. They were strikingly beautiful but territorial aggression ended up getting them moved to a less peopled environment. I did love them while they were around, though 🙂 Your hubby got a great shot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, there were quite a few swans along the canal and I think this one decoded to show off … lol! I’m glad I got to create a page using my hubby’s fantastic photo too 🙂 . Have a wonderful week! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

