Bloom where you are planted

In May we always start planning our bedding plants for the pots and containers in our garden. I’m always excited to visit the plant nursery to select our plants and then plant them up, and we really enjoy watching the flowers bloom over the summer months, hence my page “Bloom where you are planted”.

To start the earthy background I applied Cracked Pistachio, Twisted Citron, Blueprint Sketch and Tea Dye ink from Distress Ink pads directly to the page, and then added water using a paint brush so the ink mixed and blended together. I stamped a Sketchy stamp by Kaisercraft using Potter’s Clay Memento Ink and black Archival Ink. Once the inks had dried I first painted Parchment acrylic paint and then white gesso using my finger to push some of the brighter colours back. Next I added some Mowed Lawn Distress Ink, again by blotting the ink pad onto the page and adding water with a paintbrush and I stenciled a honeycomb pattern by Craft Sensations using Rich Cocoa Memento Ink. Then I splattered and dripped grey and black Faber-Castell Big Brush markers; I did this by scribbling the marker onto an acrylic block, adding water and then dripping it onto the page. I also used Sanguine and Dark Sepia Big Brush markers to edge the page, smearing the ink with my finger and then I stamped the Sketchy stamp again using the Dark Sepia marker. To create the list of plants that we had bought at the plant nursery, I used a sheet from my “To do list” pad and then I stamped the plant names using black Archival Ink and added the ticks (check-marks) using a black UniPin marker. Next I distressed the edges using a pair of scissors, edged it and splattered it with the grey Big Brush Marker and stuck it to the page using a UHU Stic and washi tape at the corners. I added the rub-on transfer flower pot images and also the sentiment which I think links nicely with the theme. I also added the other wording which signifies that we start planting our bedding plants in May, ready to enjoy them flowering during June, July and August. To finish I added some paper flower embellishments in various colours that match the colours we have chosen for our containers this year.

As I created a grungy feel to my page I’m joining Gill from gibbyfrogettcraftations who is hosting the “Elegance & Grunge” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

We decided to try a new plant nursery that was recommended to us and we were amazed by the large plant selection on offer, the quality of the plants and the very reasonable prices. The nursery sold both annuals and perennials but as there were three huge greenhouses of annuals alone, we only looked round these to make our selections for our containers and pots. The plants were fantastic and we will definitely be going back again to look around some more.

On our way back home from the plant nursery we passed a little village called Great Eccleston that has the most wonderful bakery, so we called in, well it would be rude not too (grin!).

There is lots of choice here with home baked breads, cakes, pies and a delicatessen counter. Needless to say we stocked up on quite a few treats.

The breads are amazing, especially the Spelt and Honey bread! As you can see by the empty shelves, their bread is really popular and it was only mid-morning. I like that the staff wear a traditional straw boater and a modern apron.

Their cakes are delicious too, so we bought a cream filled meringue for me and a black forest gateau for my hubby. The portions were huge (that’s a normal tea plate they are served on) so we only ate half each which meant we had two days of treats – yum! We enjoyed them at home with of usual cup of green tea and as T stands for Tuesday I’m saying a big hello to the T Gang – Happy T Day my friends!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Liquitex Artist Color Acrylic (Parchment)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (White)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Cracked Pistachio, Twisted Citron, Blueprint Sketch, Tea Dye, Mowed Lawn)
  • Memento Ink (Potter’s Clay, Rich Cocoa)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199, Cold Grey IV 233, Sanguine 188 B, Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.5mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Sketchy CS878)
  • Dovecraft Alphabet Stamp Set (WDN ALPHA STMP DCVW0050)
  • Craft Sensations (Deco Stencil Set 154892)
  • “Things to do … People to see” pad
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Sentiments (Summer #ROY-505 Rub-on, Spring #ROY506 Rub-on, Spring is coming #CUR-666 Rub-on)
  • The Works Washi Tape (Enjoy the Ride)
  • Poundland (Accessories Pack 60911)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • UHU Stic
48 thoughts on “Bloom where you are planted

  1. Love your pretty journal page, the sentiment is one my auntie was always quoting. The nursery looks great, we have a nice one near here, too, as soon as I am finished at the clinic I will get my plants going. But I must confess to liking the Patisserie and those gorgeous cakes the best! Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks a great nursery garden you visited and I hope you managed to get all the plants. planted out that you listed on the fabulous journal page you made.
    I couldn’t have passed by that bakers shop either. The cakes all looked delicious on the counter and the ones you chose would probably been my choice as well.
    Happy T day Jo
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne! The plants on my list are all planted in their pots, baskets and containers. Only the snapdragons remain as I’m planting them in my garden border this year and I knew we had some colder weather coming 🙂 . When we visit this area the bakery just calls to me … lol! Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. I love the grungy page. You have given me an idea for a page, since I still need to buy seeds and plants, too. Most all my friends have their gardens in already, but I haven’t even started mine yet. I hope your plants do well. Marigolds and Cosmos will reseed if you are able to find and keep the seeds. I’ve had cosmos for years, and only planted them once.

    Wow, that bakery is amazing. I want that egg custard, but I also really liked your choices, too. I think I would prefer your husband’s black forest gateau, because it looked so rich and chocolatey (I think I made that word up,but it fit the bill).
    Thanks for sharing your grungy AJJ entry, your trip to the nursery, and your tea and pastries with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! So glad you got some inspiration for one of your pages too – perfect! I’ll be sure to check for seeds later this year, thanks for the tip. The egg custards are divine, a great choice! Thanks for stopping by and wishing you very Happy T Day too! J 🙂

      Like

  4. You have the most quaint and wonderful little places to stop for a drink and a treat-I’ll have that black forest one please! Such a lovely journal page and ode to Spring planting. And that is some large nursery you visited too. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot! I’m looking forward to seeing the plants bloom over summer 🙂 . Although my garden will not be as magnificent as yours looked last summer and captured in the beautiful pages of your garden journal! Wishing you a happy week! J 🙂

      Like

  5. Love your journal page. Cosmos on your floral list made me smile as that was one of my mom’s favorites. I like the honeycomb pattern you stenciled at that reminds me of garden stepping stones. Over the weekend, my friend, Red, gave me some milkweed plants. We had some heavy rains so I’m waiting for things to clear so I can plant them and attract butterflies. That bakery looks awesome. I love bread and wouldn’t turn my nose up at a slice or two of cake. Happy T Day

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thanks so much and thank you for sharing the wonderful memories of your mum too 🙂 . That’s kind of your friend and how lovely to have milkweed to plant in your garden to attract the butterflies – perfect! I’m sure a slice of two of cake could be arranged … lol … Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  6. A lovely spring page full of promise for a colourful summer. Looks like a huge Garden Centre, good job you were focused or it could have taken hours and that fabulous bakery might have sold out! Cakes look delicious.
    Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Avril! I’m looking forward to seeing the colourful displays now they are all planted up :-). Yes I think you could spend all day looking around and I wouldn’t want to miss out on my baked treats … lol 😉. Have a lovely week! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Always a great time of year when you can go and chose the plants for the garden that will delight you all summer. A wonderful page to celebrate this time of year

    Wow to the cake shop and the cakes and how you set them out with such style-bet they tasted amazing.

    Happy T Day Jo

    Love Chrissie xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Alison! Hope you had a great week and weekend, sorry I haven’t been around to catch up, we’ve been so busy 🙂 . I’ll be visiting later today to see what you have been up to 🙂 . Have a lovely week! J 🙂

      Like

  8. A fantastic page – so elegant and charming Jo ! You never cease to amaze me with your brilliant makes! Thank you for another fantastic entry linked to this month’s AJJ theme!
    The plant nursery seems to be fabulous. We have two nice ones here as well, but not as large as this one seems to be.The bakery looks like a heavenly place! This looks all so darn yummie – good that I have had my late breakfast just now – otherwise my mouth would get started to water just now.
    Happy T-Day to you!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you dear Susi! The plant nursery was amazing and who could pass that bakery when it was just down the road :-). Luckily we arrived a bit to early for lunch at Great Eccleston otherwise we may have ended up in the fish and chip shop too … lol 😉 . Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  9. That’s a lovely journal page, Jo. You’ve used one of my favorite phrases, “Bloom where you …” I love the muted background sprinkled with flower pots and especially how you grunged it up – so subtle yet very eye catching.

    The bakery looks scrumptious! I’d love a bite of that black forest gateau.

    Thanks for listing the exact supplies you used on your page. I’m filling up my Amazon wish list for a trip to Texas in the fall!

    Happy T-Day! Hugs, Eileen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! Your trip to Texas sounds fun especially if you are crafting too 🙂 . Glad you found some things to add to your wish list, I bought a few things of my list for my birthday which I still have to use – so exciting … I’m so easily pleased … lol 😉. Have a great week and Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I haven’t been to a traditional bakery in a looong time Jo… One with the big glass cases… all those yummy treats..however did you choose?? I think my heart would have chose something chocolate…lol I do miss my flowers.. .i keep saying next year… next year… but perhaps it really will be next year as the house should be very close to done by then.. happy t day hugs deb

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Be still my heart! those cakes took my breath away…as did your beautiful gardening page! Such lovely texture with all the techniques you’ve used, and the dimensionality of the flowers. When I was looking for the ‘ticks’ I realized you were referring to what I think of as ‘check-marks.’ I was wondering why you would put an image of a tick (the blood-sucking insect kind) on your page! lol! I so enjoy the turns of phrase that are a bit different than what we Americans are used to! And I sure wish we had such charming bakeries with delectable goodies in my neighborhood…happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my what a horrible thought … I have added check-marks to my text to stop any further confusion … lol 😀. Thanks for highlighting this. I enjoyed using the different techniques to build up the layers and create the texture for this page. Thanks so much for your kind comments and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 😊

      Like

  12. Love this Jo – and what a fabulously soft and grungy b/g (love the colours).
    Your garden is going to look lovely – and what a great idea to punch the flowers in the colours your are having also. Thanks so much for joining in again at AJJ and for your lovely message also. Looks like you had the rain yesterday whereas we have it today. Yesterday was 10 degrees warmer than today and I think I got a bit of heat stroke – I probably made matters worse by going out after having lunch and a bottle of wine. ( half of course 🙂
    Yummy cakes (I’m not envious as just had a homemade (by Dave not me) chocolate brownie ha ha) but those cakes look huge and would have taken me all week to eat 🙂
    Have a great day.. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot! It’s nice to get out and enjoy the sunshine, drinking plenty of water may help with your heat stroke and I hope you feel much better soon 😀. Mmm, your chocolate brownies sound yummy and must taste even better if they are homemade by someone else … lol! Wishing you a great day too! J 😊

      Like

  13. It’s great to get the annuals each year, they seem to grow so enthusiastically over a long period.
    I just love your page and that tremendous background, especially after reading how you made it. You would give wonderful workshops, I’m sure, introducing people to new techniques and colours. The people at Distress Inks knew what they were doing when they named their colours.
    The bakery looks great too, both from the outside and inside – all too tempting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Sheila! I’d love that, it would be so much fun to run workshops on Art Journalling ☺. The plants are all potted up now and growing beautifully with the warm weather we are having, they’ll be so pretty this summer. The bakery is fab and who could drive passed all those delicious treats… lol! Hope you are having a great week! J 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

