Lilacs

With the lilacs in full bloom I’m reminded of friends, which makes me smile! They seem to be flowering earlier this year and many gardens around here have them. They remind me of one of my friends in particular who lives in Maine, America and just loves lilacs!

To start, around the edges of the page I applied Potter’s Clay Memento Ink by dabbing the ink pad directly onto my page. Then I used a small brayer by Ranger to apply Liquitex Parchment acrylic paint and then white DecoArt acrylic paint; I didn’t wait for the paint to dry between applications as I wanted to play around and create some texture. Once dry, I stamped a Script stamp by Kaisercraft using London Fog and Potter’s Clay Memento Ink. Then I stenciled a Shabby Harlequin pattern by Creative Expressions using Rich Cocoa Memento Ink. To create the lilacs, I stamped the images with a stamp designed by Tina Higgins using coloured Memento Inks then overlaid the image again with black Archival Ink. I added more colour to the petals, stem and leaves using Spectrum Aqua markers and a white Uniball gel pen. I found an old and crumpled airmail envelope in my hubby’s stamp collection that he had kindly given to me for my art journaling, which I tore, edged with Sanguine Faber-Castell Big Brush marker and stuck to the page using a UHU Stic. This reminded me of my friend in Maine because although we often Skype we like to send each other cards and notelets in the post throughout the year too.  To continue the postage theme, I stamped some postage marks and small script on the page using black Archival Ink and found a blank white postcard in my craft stash and added the sentiment which is a rub-on transfer by Royal & Langnickel. I thought this sentiment was so appropriate considering that the lilacs remind me of my friend. I tore the edges of the postcard, stained it with Distress Inks using a blending tool and edged it with the Sanguine marker. Then I added a United States postage stamp and stuck the postcard over the envelope using double-sided tape and a green paperclip; I like the grungy feel this created. I edged the page with the Sanguine marker using my finger to smudge the ink and to finish I added two butterfly stickers and the “lilac” wording.

I’m really pleased to be able to join Gill from gibbyfrogettcraftations again who is hosting the “Elegance & Grunge” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

There are some wonderful displays of lilacs around our neighbourhood.

These are the deep purple lilacs that inspired my page, aren’t they just gorgeous and they have a lovely sweet fragrance too!

This lilac is so pretty with its paler delicate blossoms. If you are interested, here are some fun facts about lilacs:

  • Lilacs belong to the olive family, Oleaceae.
  • There are more than 1,000 varieties of lilac bushes and trees.
  • Lilacs only flower for about three to six weeks in the spring.
  • In the language of flowers, purple lilacs are the symbol of first love.
  • Purple lilacs are most fragrant on a warm sunny day.
  • The flowers are good for cutting and attractive to butterflies.
  • Lilac blossoms are edible (I didn’t know this – did you?).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Liquitex Artist Color Acrylic (Parchment)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (White)
  • Memento Ink (Potter’s Clay, London Fog, Lilac Posies, Grape Jelly, Pistachio, Rich Cocoa)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Ground Espresso, Tea Dye)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Red Violet, Magenta, Purple, Wildflower, Moss, Bud Green, Chocolate)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Sanguine 188 B)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Docrafts Papermanina Tina Higgins wooden stamp (Lilac PMA9061108)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752)
  • Creative Expressions Mini Stencils (Shabby Harlequin CEMSHARL)
  • The Works (Clear Stamps CR0274/TW3)
  • Airmail envelope
  • Lion Brand Postcard
  • Postage Stamp (United States)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Sentiments (Spring #ROY506 Rub-on)
  • Home Bargains (Beautiful Butterflies 22742)
  • Green paperclip
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided tape
37 thoughts on “Lilacs

    • Thank you Alison, that’s so kind of you! It’s hot and sunny here today so we are off for a walk with one of our friends 🙂 . What you up to? Hope you are enjoying your month of celebrations – Happy May! J 🙂

      Like

  1. Your page is just AMAZING, I always love your pages and I also always love to read how you create them ! You found all this things around – your hubby is nice to give you his stamp collection♥ – and brought it together in a beautiful masterly manner!
    The lilacs in your area are blooming wonderful, we have bushes here in the neighbourhood – but they are not in full bloom yet – but I think on Mother’s Day, which we celebrate this Sunday their time should be right .
    I neither didn’t know that the blossoms are edible — stunning .. have to look after recipes in the net?!
    In Austria ( and Germany as well) lilac is called “FLIEDER” and it was traditional that the kids (at least in Vienna) in former times ( including me as a child) went ” FLIEDER FLADERN” ( stealing lilac) in public parks and other places for Mother’s Day!

    Happy rest of the week and a big THANK YOU for such a beautiful page to Gill’s theme over at Art Journal Joureny!
    oxo
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an amazing page! The flowers look like you picked them straight out of the garden where you made those beautiful photo’s! Love the colours that you used and it is such a beautiful flower/blossem! It is great to walk in the spring and smell all the new flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your page is beautiful, and a fitting tribute to the wonderful lilac blooming everywhere just now. I stop and smell them on my way to the clinic and back home each day, I will be sad when the blooms are over. Have lovely day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its a gorgeous page Jo and a lovely sentiment you added.
    We have an old Lilac bush in the garden and the scent today has been lovely, you have prompted me to take a photo tomorrow, just hope it will be sunny.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo I am so happy I found your blog, and thank you for your visit to mine! I was completely bowled over my your beautiful lilac page! At first I thought it was digital work, – those lilacs look so amazing! I went on a big google search for those stamps and eventually found a place, so thanks so much for all your detailed product descriptions (and that one plus a few more by Tina Higgins rolled into my basket, how do these things always happen)…. Anyway, your lilac photographs are stunning too, like you I adore them! Off to explore your blog a bit further now.
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, you are very kind! So glad you liked the stamps so much and managed to track them down from my product list 🙂 . So funny a few more rolled into your basket, sounds very familiar … lol! Nice to meet you here in blog land and wishing you a great weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  6. Lilacs are my favorite too. So I just adore your page. Ours are getting close to blooming. But not quite yet. Glad you shared because I am loving the preview of what is to come. Hope all is well. Hugs erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Erica! I’m pleased to know you love lilacs too, they are such a beautiful flower and smell divine so you have lots to look forward too 🙂 . I’ve been thinking of you and your hubby and wishing you well. Wishing you a great weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  7. oh this is gorgeous Jo ( thank you x ) and I love the grungy bits too ha ha ( the crumpled envelope was a great idea). Those lilac stamps are great also and you’ve coloured them so realistically – brilliant!
    Lovely to see the Lilac photos as well – big sigh as ours would have looked like that this year if we hadn’t had to have them pruned drastically to reduce height last year.
    Hope you’ve had a good week and enjoyed all your walks – have a great weekend…Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much! Glad you like the grungy bits … lol! Your lilacs will be spectacular next year as a result of your pruning 🙂 . It’s been busy this week as we wanted to take advantage of the warm sunny weather before the rain that was forecast, so lots of walks, tandem rides and gardening 🙂 . Hope you’ve had a good week and wishing you a great weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  8. A beautiful page Jo, the lilac looks stunning, originally I thought you’d used napkins. Beautiful background and a lovely way to display your sentiment. I love lilac and usually think of my Mum as we had a lilac tree at home in the garden and she always used to cut me the first bunch. Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I spent some time getting the shading and colours right on the lilacs which was fun 🙂 . I so enjoyed hearing about how your mum picked the first bunch of lilacs for you, thanks for sharing such a cherished memory. Wishing you a wonderful weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  9. That’s a lovely, lovely page, Jo. The colors you used on the background go beautifully together and the effect is very subtle but eye-catching. I love how you did the lilacs. They look almost real! You must have a MISTI or other positioning tool. I’m looking at the different options. I’d love to get one but they’re pricey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Eileen! I don’t have a MISTI or other positioning tool either, so I actually placed the stamps by eye 🙂 . I looked into them too, some time ago, and they are pricey so I’m not getting one anytime soon … lol! Wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Like

      • I’m also trying to figure out if I can DIY one to save money 😉 There are a bunch of video tutorials but the materials don’t seem easy to find.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Wonderful tribute to one of spinngs most beautiful flowers. Truly adore the idea of creating an envelope. Enjoyed the photos of the various varieties of lilacs. I took an afternoon drive and snapped photos of all different ones I could find. I discovered a white bush just up the road.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Dianne! Glad you liked the page, it’s one of my favourites! I seem to remember reading that there are many varieties of lilac and how lovely to have seen the white variety too 😀. Happy Sunday and enjoy the rest of your weekend! J 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

