By Air, By Land And Sea

I am so honoured and excited to have been asked to join Try it on Tuesday as a Guest Designer for their fabulous theme of “Transport”.

My art journal page is inspired by all different types of transport that you can use when travelling “By Air, By Land And Sea”.

I started by stamping two ticket images by Docrafts Papermania Urban Stamps and a “travel” and a “destination” word stamp by Royal & Langnickel using black Archival Ink across the background of the page. I stained the page with Tea Dye, Crushed Corduroy and Black Soot Distress Inks using a blending tool, concentrating the colour around the edge of the page. I dripped water onto the page and blotted it with a piece of kitchen towel which removed some of the ink and then I added some fine splatters of the black acrylic paint; I like the worn vintage look these created. I tore the edges of a map paper from an American Crafts Paper Pad and edged it with a black Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen which I then stuck to the page using a UHU Stic. To tie into the transport theme, I added a series of transport and postage mark stamps using the same black Archival Ink, these included a plane, a train, a car and a ship. I added some wooden arrow and star embellishments and created some wood effect wording. I did this by firstly adding black alphabet rub-on transfers, then I scratched the surface of the transfers with a craft knife and stained the paper I had exposed with a Fawn Spectrum Aqua marker. I scratch the letter surfaces some more and then I painted the letters with white gesso using a very fine paint brush. Once the gesso had dried I coloured the letters with the same Aqua marker a couple of times. To finish the page, I found some beautiful and colourful postage stamps from my hubby’s childhood collection featuring a plane, a helicopter, trains, a baggage truck, a car, a truck, a bus and a coach. These postage stamps are from Romania and I stuck them to the page using double-sided foam tape.

As any of these modes of transport can take you on a “Magical Mystery Tour”, I’m also pleased to join Hazel again at Art Journal Journey.

We enjoy travelling by air, by land and sea! Having travelled to Prague a number of times we found they have a great public transport network which includes trains, buses and trams. We had lots of fun exploring the city by tram.

The river and bridges are beautiful and you can experience the city by boat if you wish. In this photo you can also see two of the most famous and amazing landmarks in Prague – Charles Bridge which is a historic bridge dating back to 1357 that crosses the Vltava River and also high on the hill in the old part of town is St. Vitus Cathedral.

We didn’t see many bikes though, only this cyclist who ventured out in the snow. I really don’t think this mode of transport would be very enjoyable because of the cobbled streets and tram tracks (grin!).

On one of our visits we even saw this gold SUV – now that’s really travelling in style!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye, Brushed Corduroy, Black Soot)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (Black)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Fawn)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Docrafts Papermania Urban Stamps (All Aboard – Tags PMA907178 )
  • The Works (Clear Stamps CR0274/TW3)
  • Royal & Langnickel Clear Choice Stamps (Traveler MIN-CCS103)
  • Hampton Art 7 Gypsies Vintage Collection cling mounted rubber stamps (Bird Song ICO151)
  • Art Impressions wood mounted stamp (Taxis I3108)
  • American Crafts DIY Shop Collection (366665)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Transfers (Helvetica ¾ inch #ROY-804 Rub-on)
  • The Works (Wooden Decorations)
  • Postage stamps – Romania
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
40 thoughts on “By Air, By Land And Sea

  1. Wow.. what an AMAZING post and page Jo! This golden car — stunning!!!That is style!
    Great to have you as a guest designer at TioT! That’s SUPER!!!
    I would love to see this page also linked to AJJ – Magical Mystery Tours – it fits the theme perfect as well.
    hugs
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A fabulous page Jo with lots of interest and details. Loved seeing the pics of Prague – it’s a few years since I was there and we used the Metro which was so easy, such a fabulous city.
    It was lovely to have you join us as our Guest Designer for this challenge.
    Hugs, Avril xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Avril! Prague is a wonderful place and the Metro is easy to use 🙂 . Thanks again for inviting me to join you as a Guest Designer at TIOT! I had fun creating my transport page and there are some great projects being posted. Have a great weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Jo! What a fabulous journal page! All the different elements of transport are perfectly integrated on it. Love the postage stamps!
    Thank you for being our Guest Designer for this challenge.
    Mar xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its a fabulous page Jo, I love all the modes of transport and the stamps, they really draw the eye to look closer. They were wonderful photos as well.
    Thank you for being our Guest Designer this month at TioT’s, its lovely to have you share this page with us ,
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A wonderful collage of themes about transport and travelling! These beautiful post stamps really pop up!
    I like the photo of the tram, and -of course – the golden SUV!
    Wish you a good week!
    Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I love the bright colours of the postage stamps too and they make the page extra special to me because they come from my hubby’s childhood collection 🙂 . I hope you had a good week, wishing you a happy weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  6. Congrats on your hosting Jo. I love your page. Adding those postage stamps makes the page really cool. And as I have never been to Prague, I love seeing your photos of transportation from the city, and wow, a gold car. That’s a little ostentatious. 🙂 I’m working on my page for TIOT, almost done. 🙂 Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Erica! Prague is such a fantastic city, the architecture is amazing 🙂 . This challenge is so much fun and I can’t wait to see your page, glad you are joining us 🙂 . Have a great weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Phew – I see I have about 7 days still to join in – this looks a fabulous challenge Jo and I adore your page and the lovely imagery and postage stamps 🙂 and great photos too.
    Hope you are having a lovely long weekend – weather a bit iffy here – typical bank holiday weather.
    Happy May …. Gill x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Gill! It’s nice to catch up with you and yes you still have time to join in the fun at Try it on Tuesday – I’m looking forward to seeing your transport page 🙂 . Glad to see you are hosting AJJ this month too, you choose a great theme and I’ll be sure to join in soon 🙂 . Lol … the weather is sunny and cloudy here, no rain which is always a bonus. Happy May Day and wishing you a lovely week! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

