Flying Carpet

I’m joining in the fun over at Art Journal Journey with my Flying Carpet page to tie into Hazel’s theme of “Magical Mystery Tour”. With a flying carpet you would be able to instantly fly wherever your heart desires.

I started by mixing acrylic paints to produce a turquoise blue and applied it to the page with a baby wipe. To push the colour back I also applied a thin coat of white gesso. I ripped strips of two different shades of blue-green decoupage paper and stuck them to the page using Liquitex Matte Gel Medium to create clouds. Once the gel medium had dried I outlined the decoupage pieces with a black Uni Pin fine line marker.  The buildings and palm trees are fussy cut from a children’s book, stuck to the page using a UHU Stic and outlined with a black Uni Pin marker. Next I added sequins to the sky sticking them to the page individually with Ranger Glossy Accents. The flying carpet and rule card are from the same book and are edged with a black Faber-Castell marker and then stuck to the page using double-sided foam tape. To finish I added a piece of self-adhesive fabric border along the left hand side of the page.

It’s also important not to forget the rules when flying your carpet … tee hee!

The buildings on my page remind me of what is known locally as “The White Church” not far from where we live. This beautiful church dates back to 1912 and was built in a Byzantine style. Its glazed white tiles make it a very distinctive and well-known landmark on the Fylde coast.

We only planned to take photos of the outside of the church for this post because like so many churches nowadays it is not open all the time. Whilst we were taking the photos, we met one of the church elders who very kindly invited us inside and showed us around the church.

We had never been inside before and I found myself mesmerised by its beauty and tranquil ambiance.

The way it is designed maximises the light with large stained glass style windows on all four walls.

The windows feature historical events which have been hand painted onto the glass; if you stop and stare you can see all the wonderful details. It is a stunning building!

It must be a magical place because if you look closely at the sky you can see quite a few flying carpets trails … tee hee! So I’m interested to know, if you had a flying carpet where would you travel to?

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Liquitex Artist Colour Acrylic (Swedish Blue, Christmas Green)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (White)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Book purchased from a Charity Shop called A Guide to Wizards of the World
  • Poundworld (Patch Paper DS9454)
  • Poundland (Assorted Sequins)
  • The Range (Adhesive Border Strips CR0517)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
23 thoughts on “Flying Carpet

  1. Wow, oh WOW. This is is a beauty. I love the page, and will remember the three rules if I ever get to ride a magic carpet.

    That church is exquisite. It is art and a history lesson rolled into one in those stained glass windows. I am like you, mesmerized and in awe of the beauty of this church. Love the magic carpet trails, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so important to remember the rules when flying your carpet (grin!). We were so lucky to go inside and must have timed it just right when we visited , it really is such a beautiful building! Thanks very much for your kind comments and wishing you a lovely week and weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow.. a fantastic page is that Jo! Amazing.. and I would love to visit this church! Looks fantastic. I would love to take a magic carpet for traveling! Yes! And I would be a slow flyer for sure – I promised to abide by the rules.
    Thank you very much for such a fantastic entry to Art Journal Journey!
    Happy weekend ahead!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think we should all have access to a magic carpet, your rules for flying one were great.
    The journal page was awesome it must have taken you ages to fussy cut the buildings etc.
    The church was also interesting to see inside, those stained glass windows looked beautiful. and the building did look magical in the sunshine. Super photos for us to see it in all its beauty
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What an amazing journal page! I love the flying carpet. I would love to have a go, I wouldn’t have to learn to shift gear then…. I would definitely be a slow flyer. I like to see a bit of the surrounding landscape. I would only fly it locally on short journeys. I live in such a beautiful area and the weather is ideal for carpet flying I reckon. Not too windy and not too cold. Perfect!
    What a beautiful church! I’ve googled it and found out it is a United Reformed church. You were so lucky that you were able to go in and photograph the interior. So beautiful. I love those windows. I bet the atmosphere was very peaceful.
    As for the flying carpet trails….I don’t think I would like to fly in those. They are chemtrails and as such full of bad chemicals. We must promote carpet travel as I’m sure they are less polluting, lol.
    Have a good week and keep smiling,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A magic carpet ride would be amazing, wouldn’t it? I love your rules Jo. So common sense, but then if I went up on a magic carpet I would probably be so excited to look around I wouldn’t pay very good attention for trees, etc. I love your building images on your page. Cool church too. It was quite the building.:) I hope you are having a great day (or had a great day-depending when you see this.) Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great idea to use a flying carpet for your travelling on the Mystery Tour! The rules are very interesting … lol!
    Oh, I have missed so many of your posts in the meantime (I was ill), now I scrolled through – and they are all so much beautiful!
    Wish you a sunny Sunday!
    Rike x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot dear Rike! I’ve been thinking of you and wondering if you were ok, I do hope you are feeling better and fully recovered! I missed visiting you and our chats 🙂 . Wishing you a happy Sunday and great start to the week! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Hello Jo, what a great piece for the theme, it’s magical art itself and of course I read all the details of how you made it. Your fussy cutting is top class, I think you must have magic scissors.
    I like the illustration in the middle and of course we have to have rules. I don’t think I would go on the carpet as I can’t see a way of holding on, so would be very nervous and a bit of a scaredy-cat.
    The church looks marvellous from the outside and how good that you were invited in, it is very beautiful inside. I’m thinking the windows must be modern as they have such clear colours. I would have spent ages looking at them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sheila, thanks so much I know how much you enjoy reading the process and materials I used 🙂 . It was quite a straight forward page to create and I loved all the detail on the buildings. I think we could add a seat belt so you felt safe on the flying carpet … haha! It was so nice to be invited into the church to look around and the windows were amazing! Thanks for stopping by and your lovely comments! J 🙂

      Like

  8. Just been catching up with your latest pages Jo! We’re in Scotland, and internet is very limited where we’ve stayed.
    Those stained glass windows are stunning. I’m always interested as I was part of a team that created a large rose window for my church, such an amazing experience!
    I saw Beauty and the Beast in Harrogate recently, and loved it too. Was singing the songs for a week afterwards! Lol!
    Hope you have a lovely week. We are now on Orkney for a few days, and looking forward to some good walking and whale spotting.
    Alison x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, creating the rose window for your church must have been such an amazing experience! I’ll be singing the songs again now you mentioned the film … lol 🙂 . Hope you have a lovely week too, your stay in Scotland sounds wonderful and so relaxing 🙂 . Thanks so much and have fun! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

