There’s always time for tea

When I’m out and about with my mum, there is always time for tea at our local café. So I thought I would capture this using a new set of Distress Inks and a stencil that my mum kindly bought me as a gift.

always-time-for-tea-ajp-1

For the background I used only two Distress Inks, they were Hickory Smoke and Ground Espresso. I applied the ink pad directly to an acrylic block, then I spritzed it with water and I pressed it onto my page. Then using the same two Distress Inks, I used a stencil by DecoArt, a Script stamp and a Hessian stamp by Kaisercraft and a postage mark stamp from The Works. To add contrast I used black Archival Ink to stamp a grid design with a homemade stamp. Then I stamped a clock image from my Steampunk stamp set by Docrafts using black Archival Ink, which ties into the “Time for tea” theme. The words, teapot and teacup are fussy cut from a print of a sign I saw whilst out and about with my mum. It took quite some time to fussy cut them out, stick them to the page, colour them with Faber-Castell Big Brush marker ink and outline them with a black Uni Pin marker and a white Uniball gel pen. For the flower embellishments I cut dried used teabags into flower shapes, layered them with some lace flowers and used a pretty grey resin rose for the centre, using Glossy Accents to stick them together. I cut strips of the same teabags and used them to create tea pouring out of the teapot, covering them in a layer of glossy accents to give a liquid appearance. As some of the tea leaves had dried in the bag I also sprinkled them onto the page and then I covered them with a thin layer of matte gel medium. To finish I added a clock that I recycled from a gift tag, using double-sided foam tape to stick it down.

As this page is about having time for tea while I’m out and about, I am joining Try It on Tuesday’s theme “Time for Tea” and Yvonne’s (from Meggy’s Way) challenge “Out and About” over at Art Journal Journey.

tea

I’m also pleased to join Bleubeard and Elizabeth and the rest of the T Gang as T Stands for Tuesday with the green tea and fruit loaf I enjoyed with my mum. The fruit loaf is so big we always order it to share. Happy T Day!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Hotlz Distress Ink (Hickory Smoke, Ground Espresso)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Sanguine 188 B, Dark Sepia 175 B, Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm, 0.3mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • DecoArt Andy Skinner Mixed Media Stencil (Shedded ANDY08)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Steampunk  DCE907125)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752, Hessian CS153)
  • The Works (Clear Stamps CR0274/TW3)
  • Homemade wood mounted stamp with Plasterboard/drywall tape
  • Sign printout
  • Gift tag
  • Dried used teabag
  • Home Bargains (Fabulous Florals 22803)
  • Trimcraft A Beautiful Life (Resin Flowers LCFLW001)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
50 thoughts on “There’s always time for tea

  1. Its a fabulous journal page Jo and all that wonderful fussy cutting must have taken ages to do.
    The background with the sprinkled tea leaves looks great as well.
    The fruit loaf looks delicious, it looks like you had a super day out with your mom.
    Happy T day
    Yvonne xx
    p.s. Thank you for linking this super page with us at TioT’s and to AJJ as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How sweet of your mom – oops – mum. More toys to journal with! What a lovely page you made and how clever that it suits three challenges! I’m trying to pick up tips as I go along the challenge learning curve 😉
    Happy T-day, Jo! Hugs, Eileen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely page – I love those neutrals! The fruit loaf does look quite large – hubby and I often share something sweet as I shouldn’t really indulge too often – trying to keep my sugar levels on an even keel! So pleased you joined us at Try It On Tuesday! Happy T Day! Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The first things I saw were the cup and teapot. I read with anticipation about how you created it, and when I saw you fussy cut it, I was in awe. It must have taken you forever. I was truly impressed. It’s a beautiful journal page for both AJJ and TioT.

    I haven’t eaten all day, so was drolling over the fruit loaf. I thought the cup and square saucer were really adorable, too. You picked a great place to have tea with your mother.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely art and your tea and fruit loaf with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We always enjoy the fruit loaf and it would be lovely for breakfast :-). It did seem like I spent a lot of time on the words alone for this page, I’m glad you like the results. Thanks for your lovely comments and Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  5. what a perfectly lovely looking vintage journal page Jo! How nice of your Mum and that you could spend this time together too. Your cake looks so good. Great job hitting the challenges too! Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How fun to go out and about with your Mom and even better to stop and have tea. Time with Mom is always special. I love your tea page too. I am impressed with your fussy cutting skills too. I could never make it so neat, both with the cutting and the coloring. I like how your words have a feel of whimsy and fun too, like I am guessing your day was. Happy T day Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  7. it really Looks like a lot of effort, but well worth it! the tea pot Looks like pouring tea into the Cup for real. so many clever and original Details!
    have a great week, jo – and happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. An adorable journal page Jo! You did a great job with fussy cutting here… wonderful page- I love to see it at Try It On Tuesday and Art Journal Journey! Thank you so much for joining TioT and AJJ again Jo! The food you ate looks so yummie, that fruit loaf must taste great – I would like to taste it! Happy T Day my friend!
    oxo Susi,

    Liked by 1 person

  9. How special to get to be out and about with your mum and enjoy tea and more!
    The cake looks scrumptious.
    I Love how your tea page came together.
    Your color choices are brilliant and the way you’ve incorporated the time pieces works beautifully too. Nice having one of your hand carved stamps to add depth and mystery to your background too. Love it all ♥ Happy T Day Dear Jo oxo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Always love your ArtJournal pages Jo… i think they will be lovely to look back on one day… I miss spending time like that with my daughter who lives half the country away…. Happy happy T day! Hugs! deb

    Liked by 1 person

  11. oh my goodness, what a lot of work to cut out that lettering! I thought it was stenciled, until you explained…great job! Love this collage…you do a fabulous job with the backgrounds and all of the elements, so pretty. Happy T day…I’ll gladly join you for some fruit bread! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That’s a lovely journal page. Well done you for fussy cutting all those letters!
    It’s so good to be able to go out with your mum, that’s quality time. (mine is in a different country). Oh fruit cake is yummy, especially if it is toasted (I always called it a toasted tea cake). I remember it well. (my mouth waters). Btw, I love the teapot in the photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love toasted teacakes too :-). Although this fruity treat is not quite as light as a toasted teacake, it is still very yummy – I’m sure that you would enjoy it :-). Thanks so much for your lovely comments and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  13. I’ve been here for a while. As I read your description of each technique I went back to see it on your page, just because you used such fascinating ways to create your art.
    Loved the names of your two Distress Inks and loved the actual colours.
    Special mention must go to fussy-cutting the words and using strips of the teabag to create pouring tea.
    Now after all that work I would love to have a slice of that delicious looking fruit loaf and a cup of tea.
    It’s a great page.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very kind Sheila, thanks so much for your lovely comments! I really appreciate your interest in my techniques and creativity too, I always enjoy reading this type of information myself :-). Thanks again and wishing you a great week! J 🙂

      Like

  14. Good morning and Happy T day but on a thursday lol just now getting to the computer this morning.
    I love your art! perfect for tea time the tea looks delicious along with the bread
    enjoy your weekend Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

