Always in my heart

This time of year my thoughts are filled with fond memories of my hubby’s dad who passed away in February 2011 and those who loved him so dearly (my hubby and M, his widow) – they are always in my heart!

always-in-my-heart-ajp

I started by creating my own decoupage paper using stamps, black Archival Ink and tissue paper. First I selected white and brown tissue paper and stamped them with a music sheet stamp and a script stamp respectfully. I chose these stamps to represent music and reading which are two past times my hubby’s dad loved; in fact me and hubby often listen to some of his favourite songs. I also stamped a small heart outline and the words “beautiful” and “lovely” onto white tissue paper as well as a series of images on the brown tissue paper; some of which are from a new Steampunk stamp set that M very kindly bought me for Christmas, I think they give the page a lovely vintage look and feel.

papers

I used my papers along with torn pieces of star tissue paper, dictionary pages, music and script pages from a magazine part work to create my background. They are stuck down using a UHU Stic and Liquitex matte gel medium. As you can see I selected the dictionary pages that defined Love and Valentine as this page is dedicated to those I love. The hearts are red tissue paper and they are stuck to the page using the same gel medium. I really like the way it melts into the page so that the detail underneath shows through. When the gel medium had dried I outlined the heart with a black Faber-Castell Big Brush marker smudging the ink with a baby wipe to give a worn look. I added more detail and definition to the hearts using a black Uni Pin marker and a white Uniball gel pen. I also highlighted the top right hand side of each heart using Docrafts white pigment ink, which I applied using a baby wipe.

close-up-1

To make my sentiment, I fussy cut a banner from a chalkboard tag and made it longer, so it would fit the heart, by inserting another piece of card in the middle and cutting it to shape. I continued the white outline and dots along the additional piece using a gel pen to mask the joins.  Next I stuck white tissue paper over the top of red tissue paper and stamped the sentiment on top using black Archival Ink. I stuck it to the banner and when it had thoroughly dried I added a border with a black Uni Pin marker. To continue the vintage look, I scrapped the tissue paper around the sentiment using a craft knife to reveal the red tissue paper and black card underneath and then I covered it with a thin layer of matte gel medium to hold everything in position. I placed the banner over one of the hearts using double-sided foam tape which finished my page.

I’m pleased to be able to join Linda over at Art Journal Journey and her very apt theme for February of “Fifty Shades of Red”.

dad

I have very happy and cherished memories of my father-in-law, he was a very down to earth, straight talking person and a gentleman in every sense of the word. He’d do anything for you and he used to tease me terribly about my height (I’m five foot nothing). I couldn’t help but love him and I’m so pleased his memory lives on always in my heart!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Docrafts Pigment Ink Pad (White)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo Gel Pen (White)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamps (Script CS752)
  • Woodware Clear Magic Singles (Sheet Music JG5111)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Steampunk DCE907125)
  • Eco Green Crafts Recycled Rubber Art Stamps (Petal Party #04309)
  • Hampton Arts Graphic 45 cling mounted rubber stamps (Tropical Travelogue ICO134)
  • Papermania Hallmark Cards wood mounted stamp (Adornment – G PMA9062904)
  • Hampton Art Studio G clear stamps (V54911)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN ALPHA STMP DCVW0050)
  • The Pocket Oxford Dictionary
  • The Great Musicians Part Work
  • White, brown, red and star tissue paper
  • Studiolight Creative with Chalk (EASYCH465)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
29 thoughts on “Always in my heart

    • Thank you, that is so very kind of you! I really enjoyed making the stamped tissue paper, it was great fun :-). I also had plenty left over so I was used it to make some birthday cards for my friends as well :-). Wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  1. What a wonderful page and tribute to your hubby’s dad! I love the way you made your own decoupage paper and the red hearts are so special on it!
    That’s an AMAZING piece and a heartwarming post Jo!
    Thank you very much for joining Linda’s theme again with such a beautiful piece and post!
    Have a great weekend !
    oxo
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. what a beautiful page to represent the love and memories of your dear father in law! Very clever how you created your own decoupage paper-love it Jo! Thanks for another brilliant entry for AJJ!

    Like

  3. I spent the past two days out of town with my friend Kathy, so I’ve been MIA. I just got home and rushed over to see your latest artistic journal entry.

    I can’t believe it. You are so much taller than me. I am 4’11” and I have been the brunt of short jokes before. Better than blond jokes, I guess!

    Your journal page is amazing. The hearts and the banner holding the sentiment are incredible. But I think I was most impressed with the tissue paper stamping. You must be a great stamper, because I would never get all of them to work that well. This is an amazing tribute to your late father-in-law. I am super impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MIA … so funny :-). My hubby is 6″2′ so my shortness is magnified … lol! I have a growing stock of recycled tissue papers to use up so I’ll definitely be making some more :-). Thanks so much and wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  4. A beautiful page, great techniques, and a wonderful tribute to your father in law Jo! My lovely FIL has terminal cancer, and we are spending as much time with him as we can. Not an easy thing to watch such a sweet man fading away.
    Axxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

