Be the reason someone smiles

When I heard about Linda’s exciting new challenge of “50 Shades of Red” over at Art Journal Journey  I knew exactly what the inspiration would be for my first submission – a little pottery sign I look at every morning that is hung on my dressing table mirror, it says “Be the reason someone SMILES today”.

be-the-reason-someone-smiles-ajp-1

I started by diluting Desert Spectrum Aqua marker ink and Love Letter Memento Ink onto an acrylic block with water and smooshing and painting it onto the page. To add more texture and layers I put Spectrum Aqua Marker ink onto a trellis stencil and used it to ‘stamp’ the design onto the page. I also stamped a diamond background using the same Aqua marker and a script stamp by Kaisercraft using the same Memento Ink. Then using the same trellis stencil I applied a thick layer of Fired Brick Distress Ink using a blending tool to different areas of the page. To use up the ink remaining on the blending tool I applied it using the trellis stencil over the pink/red areas of the smooshed Memento Ink background, I liked this effect as it gave a faint impression of the stencil whilst intensifying the background colour.  Next I added pieces of paper from a vintage Design Pad using a UHU Stic and the rose and heart images which are stickers by Penny Black. I outlined all of them with a Spectrum Aqua marker and a black Uni Pin, this added shadows and made them stand out from the background more. To make the sign, I stamped the wording and the three red hearts using the Memento Ink and outlined them with a very fine Derwent marker, then added a diamond border using the diamond background stamp and Aqua marker. I then glued it to a piece of recycled red card using a UHU Stic and stuck it to the page using double-sided foam tape. To add some bling I edged the sign with red gemstones and added some single gemstones around the page along with some red hearts which I stamped using the Memento Ink, these finishing touches tie the design of my sentiment to the page.

sign

This is the lovely red pottery sign that hangs in my bedroom, I choose this as a gift some years ago when I received a voucher for Christmas. It makes me happy when I see it and always inspires me by giving me a daily goal to make someone smile.

jo-smiles

This is my hubby’s favourite photo of me; I’m always smiling and as Dolly Parton once said “If you see someone without a smile, give them one of yours”. I recently read a poll on what makes us smile and it revealed that on average we smile thirteen times a day and laugh three times a day. It also said the top things that make us smile are seeing an old friend or hearing a song from the past, other favourites were getting into a tight pair of jeans, receiving a thank you from someone and jumping into a bed with freshly made sheets.  So now I’d love to know – what makes you smile?

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist Marker (Desert)
  • Memento Ink (Love Letter)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Fired Brick)
  • Derwent Graphik Line Marker (Black 0.05mm)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Art Impressions wood mounted rubber stamp (Diamond Background T-3335)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752)
  • Hobbycraft clear stamp (Love Hearts 50402HC)
  • Creative Expressions That Special Touch of Mica Masks (Moroccan)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alpha Folk DCE907115)
  • Hampton Art Mini Wood Peg Rubber Stamps (Alphabet Set #1037)
  • Creative Expressions Design Pad (Vintage Romance CRO730/R)
  • Red Card (recycled Christmas card)
  • Penny Black 2006 Stickeroos (From the Heart #10-189)
  • Oaktree UK Eleganza Craft Stickers (3mm 418 Gems Red No. 16)
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape

 

42 thoughts on “Be the reason someone smiles

  1. You made me smile more times now..THANK you ♥♥♥
    I love that page –wonderful soft and the layering and all the details make it so special!
    I can imagine that your hubby loves this photo of you!
    It’s fantastic !
    Absolutely lovely smiling and a beautiful happy looking woman!
    Great to see it as a new avatar now!
    This little red sign is just lovely as well!!!
    It is often that when I smile on people – for example when I go grocery shopping – they smile back on me… and I can feel that they love to see smiling friendly faces and it perhaps brought pleasure in their hearts– and I always tell my daughter a greeting and a smile doesn’t cost anything and can be so much! Be generous with it!
    Your smiling makes one happy for sure Jo!
    Thank you for this wonderful post and entry shared with Art Journal Journey!
    Wishing you a HAPPY weekend !
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comments, that is very kind of you!
      I thought I needed to change my avatar to a more up to date image as people have commented my old photo didn’t look like much me when they compared them to the ones I often post :-).
      You have taught your daughter well – a smile doesn’t cost anything and can really brighten someones day! It was fun creating this page so I could join in the fun at AJJ -glad you like it :-). Wishing you a very HAPPY weekend too dear Susi! J 🙂

      Like

  2. This whole post makes me smile all over Jo! Your page is so beautiful (what a great stencil!!) and I love the sign. Like you I love to smile at people and am quite the happy and positive person -perhaps a bit pollyanna like too:) Thanks for joining in at AJJ with your fabulous entry!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Linda! The stencil is brand new (i bought it in the Sales) and I was so excited to use it as stenciling is something I plan to do more of this year :-). Oh, I just love the film Pollyanna and I think being happy and positive is one of the true elixirs of life! Happy Friday and wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  3. Danke für deinen lieben Kommentar bei mir.
    Ich habe mich sehr darüber gefreut, besonders da ich ja noch ein Neuling bin 😉
    Dein Lächeln ist wirklich zauberhaft, ich hoffe, dass du es behältst.
    Und deine Arbeit gefällt mir auch sehr.
    Du hast gute Ideen !
    Liebe Grüße

    Internet translation to English:
    Thanks for your lovely comment.
    I was very happy about it, especially since I am still a novice. 😉
    Your smile is really magical, I hope you keep it.
    And I like your work very much.
    You have good ideas!
    Best Regards

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very welcome and thanks for your kind words! Wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Internet-Übersetzung ins Deutsche:
      Sie sind herzlich willkommen und vielen Dank für Ihre freundlichen Worte! Wir wünschen Ihnen ein schönes Wochenende! J 🙂

      Like

  4. You AND your lovely smile along with that sweet sign
    AND your super page really make me smile dear Jo!
    You stenciled background has so much depth and interest.
    That certainly is a great photo of you lovely lady ♥
    I often smile at strangers and it is always interesting the various responses you get…no matter what I smile anyway.
    A feel like our smile is such a nice thing to share.
    Happy Weekend to you and thank you for always making me smile whenever you come to visit my Magpie’s Nest.
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you as always dear Patty! Visiting Magpie’s Nest always brings a smile to my face and I’m pleased my happiness shows through in my comments and makes you smile too :-). The stencilling is a new-ish technique for me and it was fun to experiment to get the depth of pattern, I learnt a lot which is one of the things I love about art jounaling :-). Wishing you a happy weekend! J 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your new photo was the first thing I saw when I got to your site. What a gorgeous smile. It made me smile. Keep them coming!
    You are absolutely right. A smile costs nothing. I myself smile a lot. To people in the street or in the shop. Often I get a smile back, even from the (outwardly) grumpy Andalucians.
    The little red sign is lovely. I totally understand you just had to have that.
    Have a fab weekend,
    Hugs,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lisca! I thought you’d like the photo, it was taken by my hubby :-). It’s funny, when people are grumpy the saying “turn that frown upside down” always makes me smile… lol! Wishing you a weekend full of smiles! J 🙂

      Like

  6. That’s a fantastic quote. You were smart to hang it where you will always see it because what better can we do in a day than make someone happy. Your quote inspired such a beautiful piece too. Perfect for this great new theme. That is a wonderful photo of you. I do love that necklace you are wearing in it. Did you make it? Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Erica! There is nothing better than making someone happy and a smile costs nothing :-). I have quite a collection of necklaces and this one is from a shop in Cheshire. I found a wonderful shop on our travels to Maine called Brighton which sells the most wonderful jewelry and accessories – maybe you know it? Thanks again and have a lovely weekend! Go Pats! J 🙂

      Like

  7. I really loved the journal page you created. I can see that red is a big part of your dressing area, too. It certainly compliments your beautiful journal page.

    I read somewhere that the face you end up with is the one you have at 40. So, if you are smiling at 40, your face will be smiling when you are 90. I try to keep a smile on my face wherever I am, even if I’m just talking to my cats. They seem to recognize the smile and when I’m not smiling, they know I’m either sad or unhappy. When that happens, one or both are there to cheer me, and of course, that makes me smile. It carries over into the rest of the world, too. Thank you for sharing your beautiful smile with us, too. Your husband took a lovely photo of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! My hubby loves red and chose this colour for our bedroom and with all the matching cream and gold accents it looks lovely :-). Well let’s hope that’s true, I’d like this face at 90 … lol :-). Your cats are so sweet and it’s wonderful that they know your mood and come to cheer you up – thanks for sharing, that fact alone makes me smile too! Have a great weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  8. well that photo makes me smile too what a great photo of you. Great page and I like little reminders around the house for inspiration as well.. At the moment I am sorting out all the cupboards in the house as with a big family with lots of sons I need to be more organised but its also nice to have a little corner me space which is what really makes me smile away from nerf , lego and guitars x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. a wonderful Piece of artwork with such a nice Quote. your photo with the smile really is great! i just read yesterday that there are two things that cause a similar reaction: you yawn if you see another Person yawning, and you smile if anybody smiles to you! i never thought about the smiling reaction, but it is true! i will Keep it in mind and do it more often with Intention 🙂
    have a great Weekend,
    smiles, johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you for the smile today, it has made me feel happier reading your post. Its a fantastic journal page.
    Yvonne xx
    p.s. Thank you for the kind words you left for me on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This is fabulous page! Love the smile quotes – which made me smile!! I used to get in trouble for having too much fun when I was teaching – my Classroom assistant and I used to smile a lot at the children and found it encouraged them! I smile at strangers too! Ha! Ha! That gets some funny looks!! Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Well I think I have caught up with your posts now Jo and I’m glad it ended with your lovely happy post and lovely smiling photo which made me smile too.
    I was surprised that the average number a person smiles a day is only 13 and laughter even less at 3 – I bet your number would be way higher. We just finished lunch and had some hot English mustard – ooh that rush is a bit like the shock you get when eating cold ice-cream – but Dave and I were still laughing even though we were in ‘mustard agony’ 🙂
    Loved your beautiful page and words today – thanks for all the smiles.
    Have great weekend…. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

