Have a KitKat

I was amazed to discover this super-sized KitKat chocolate bar so decided to create a journal page to celebrate!

kitkat-ajp1

I cut decoupage paper the same width and length as my KitKat bar and stuck them to the page using a UHU Stic. To balance the page I added two more pieces of decoupage paper which show the width of the bar. I masked these papers and stamped a serpentine background stamp from Art Impressions using Cocoa Memento Ink. This represents the chocolate coloured steam emanating from my teapot.  The borders of the page are stained with Tea Dye Distress Ink which I applied directly to the page using the ink pad. Next I stamped the red wording using a Docrafts alphabet stamp set and Love Letter Memento Ink, then I outlined the letters using a black Uni Pin marker so they stood out more. For the teapot, I drew it freehand onto card then stuck the KitKat wrapper over the top and cut it out. I outlined the lid with a black Sharpie Permanent marker to make it stand out from the background, and then I stuck it to the page using double-sided foam tape. To finish I added red gel stickers to create the steam swirling around the page.

kitkat-and-tea

Here is the super-sized KitKat with my cup of Green tea – it appears that they only made them for a short while as now I can’t find them anymore. Such a shame as it was great fun eating a choccy bar the size of my head – have you seen any of them?  As T Stands for Tuesday I’m sharing my KitKat with the T-Gang, as you can see there is plenty for everyone – Happy T Day!

big

I haven’t had KitKat for a while and thoroughly enjoyed a strip or two with my cup of tea – delicious! (Honestly, I only had a couple of strips, not the whole bar!)

I’m pleased to be able to join Erica from BioArtGal who is hosting this month’s theme “Tell me a Story” over at Art Journal Journey and I hope you like the story of my giant chocolate bar!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye)
  • Memento Ink (Rich Cocoa, Love Letter)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Sharpie Fine Point Permanent Marker (Black)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alpha Folk DCE907115)
  • Art Impressions wood mounted stamp (Serpentine Background T-2773)
  • Viva Gade Decoupage Paper (Helsinki 25586)
  • Home Bargains Gel Stickers (Mini Gel Stickers 30287)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
50 thoughts on “Have a KitKat

  1. Oh my -I have NOT seen a KitKat bar like that-wow!! That would be dangerous as that was always one of my favorite chocolate treats. I love how you can build such wonderful journal pages out of a simple subject and make it special. Cheers , and happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow that is an enormous Kit Kat Bar, it looks like you were about to enjoy eating it. Its ages since I had one of those and have never seen the large size.
    I love your fantastic page and the tea pot you made.
    Happy T Day,
    Yvonne xx
    p.s. Guess what will be on my shopping list this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is one HUGE bar. The problem I would have with it is I would want to eat more than a couple of strips. 🙂 Love how you used the wrapper to make that fantastic page. The red really pops on that background. Smart choices to keep the back black and white. Also thanks again for joining in at AJJ. Happy T daay Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you showed how large the Kit Kat was in your hand, because it was hard to envision it otherwise. I’ve never seen one that large before. I bought some miniatures for Halloween, and was really impressed with the size of yours compared to what I got in the candy section of my local store.

    The teapot is wonderful, and you did a fabulous job drawing it and cutting it out. It’s a beautiful entry.

    Thanks for sharing this lovely Kit Kat teapot journal page and your green tea with us for T this Tuesday. It’s a real beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Holy smokes that is one BIG bar of delicious chocolate! I had to laugh at your photo holding it. You weren’t kidding when you said it was as big as your head!
    Love what you did with the wrapper on your journal page. Very clever!
    Happy T-day

    Like

  6. the piece you made would be a great Advertising page for the Company!
    i love seeing you with that super sized kitkat – never seen such a huge one before, i do not think they were in the supermarkets here. but actually i would have missed them anyway, i don´t remember when i had my last kitkat…
    happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so funny I didn’t realise it was as big as my head until my hubby took the photo … lol. I’m sure your nephew would love this huge KitKat too, do you think he would eat it all at once? lol :-). Thanks very much and Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  7. I have never seen a Kit Kat bar that big! Reminds me of the giant, one pound, Hershey bar my dad would sometimes bring home. You have amazing will power because that Kit Kat bar wouldn’t last long here. And what a steady hand you have! I thought you used a template for the teapot. Loved your page. So bright and happy. We had a storm yesterday and the day is still freezing drizzle with grey skies. Thanks for sharing your chocolate. Happy T Day

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow what an excellent post, I love your KIt Kat piece, it’s delightful and so beautifully made, great seeing you cosy with a good tea and your Kit Kat in hand, a delicious moment shared, such fun this way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! So pleased to hear from you and thanks for stopping by :-). The KitKat provided so much fun and was delicious too when I finally got to eat it … it was so hard while hubby was taking my photo having to hold the bar so close to my mouth I just wanted to take a bite especially with the wonderful smell of chocolate … lol :-). Happy Thursday dear Patty! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

