Brush up your Shakespeare

Today my journal page pays homage to (one of) the greatest poets and playwrights of all time – William Shakespeare.

brush-up-your-shakespeare-ajp-1

To make the page look old and worn I used Tea Dye Distress Ink and applied the ink with a blending tool around the edges of the page and to patches of the page, blending the ink so the colour almost faded out. I stamped a script stamp over the page using black Archival Ink to suggest his writing. The image of the building is reminiscent of the era and I found the picture of William Shakespeare in an old magazine. I collaged these along with some torn pieces of an old family tree onto the page, and I used the same family tree paper that was leftover to stamp his name, the square script document and the crow using Archival Ink and then I fussy cut them all out. All of these pieces were edged with Tea Dye ink using a blending tool to make them look old and I stuck them to the page using matte gel medium or double-sided foam tape. To represent the clothing and costumes that were worn in that era I stamped the lace ruffle to the top right hand side of the page using the same Archival Ink. I also added cream lace tape and then flower outline stickers, which I coloured black with a Sharpie permanent marker and a Faber-Castell Big Brush marker before I stuck them onto the page. The information about Shakespeare’s life and plays is cut from a Pears Cyclopaedia and I drew a box around them using a black Uni Pin marker to make them stand out. To finish I added two postage stamps from my hubby’s childhood collection, the first of Shakespeare himself with Puck and Bottom from a Midsummer’s Night Dream issued in 1964 to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the bard’s birth and the second of Queen Elizabeth 1 who reigned when Shakespeare was writing his plays, this is a commemorative postage stamp from 1968. I didn’t realise how much Shakespeare had been part of our lives until I started creating this page. I studied Midsummer’s Night Dream by Shakespeare when I was at school for my O-levels, so the postage stamp I used on my journal page is even more special.cottage-collage

When we visited Stratford-upon-Avon, we toured inside Anne Hathaway’s Cottage and stepped upon what is thought to be the only exposed original floor in the house where William Shakespeare and his wife Anne Hathaway had walked many times.

library-collage

We were also lucky enough to see a wonderful exhibition of his works to commemorate 400 years since his death when we visited Liverpool Library for my Birthday last year. The image of Shakespeare I chose for my page is a copy from one of the earliest books of his plays and we were lucky enough to see an actual second edition of the book which was printed in 1632 at the exhibition.

I’m pleased to be able to join Erica who is hosting this month’s theme “Tell me a Story” over at Art Journal Journey.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Slate)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Sharpie Fine Point Permanent Marker (Black)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script CS752)
  • Hampton Arts 7 Gypsies cling mounted rubber stamps (Birdsong ICO151)
  • Eco Green Crafts recycled rubber art stamps (Petal Party #04309)
  • Docrafts Curiosity Corner clear stamps (A5 Lace and Diole DCCS009)
  • Docrafts Papermania Bellissima 4×4 clear stamps (Alphas PMA 907212)
  • Crafter’s Companion Vintage Collection acrylic stamp (Floral Sentiments VF-ST-FSENT)
  • Pears Cyclopaedia 2007
  • The Great Musicians Part Work
  • Magazine
  • UK Postage stamps (1964 and 1968)
  • Docrafts Outline Stickers (Fanciful Floral Corners Silver ANT 8101411)
  • Home Bargains Self-Adhesive Tape (Pretty Lace 22750)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • X-Press It double-sided tape
16 thoughts on “Brush up your Shakespeare

  1. Wonderful page, Shakespeare is always a great subject., and one of my faves. Stratford-Upon-Avon is a great place, I would love to go there again. Thanks for making another lovely page for Erika’s lovely theme! Hugs, Valerie
    Did you get the mail I sent you?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its a fantastic collage page , the Shakespeare details all look great on the page, especially with the aged and vintage look you have created. Super photos as well of your visit to his home.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love reading about your visit to Stratford-on-Avon and the Liverpool Library. Its amazing what Shakespeare wrote and all the quotes from his work that are familiar. I think your journal page is a great collection and collage. It feels very Renaissance. I think using the ink to age it all was smart. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great weekend Jo, and thanks for joining in at AJJ. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am in total AWE of this page. It is wonderful, and I love both postage stamps you used. I have/had one of Elizabeth 1, but never saw the one with Elizabeth 2. It’s fabulous, as is the entire entry. I am in awe of how you made it, too.

    Of course, I enjoyed the trips you attach to your pages. It was wonderful to see the cottage and your trip to Stratford-on-Avon. That’s on my wish list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow wow wow wow wow …I am thrilled about your page and that you visited Stratford-upon-Avon-!
    I currently enjoy a series about Shakespeare:
    Shakespeare – The Legacy- With John Nettles
    on Netflix …
    Thank you very much for joining ART JOURNAL JOURNEY again!
    A wonderful post and page!!!
    Happy Sunday and new week ahead dear Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Like

    • Thanks very much Susi! We had such a wonderful time in Stratford-Upon-Avon with our American friends. We even had time to explore the little village where Anne Hathaway’s Cottage is with all the lovely thatched cottages and had lunch at the pub there, fabulous :-). Happy Sunday and next week to you too! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

