Thank You Party at The Taps

To thank us for helping at last year’s Lytham Beer Festival we were treated to free beer and food at The Taps, an award-winning pub in Lytham. We had such a wonderful time with our friends and fellow beer enthusiasts! Here is a page to show my appreciation of the great evening we had!

the-taps-ajp

I collaged pieces of the pub quiz, that we were given to complete as part of the evening, using a UHU Stic, and then I covered them with white gesso to tone them down a bit. To create a weathered and aged look, I used Distress Inks and a copper Scrumptious spray over the whole page, I think that it looks like the old plaster that was in the pub. I added more grunge detail using a Sketchy texture stamp from Kaisercraft, Memento Ink and the same Distress Inks. I then stamped the answers to the quiz questions under each image using black Archival Ink. Next I surrounded the quiz pictures and answers with a wood grain effect using Colourcraft Brusho powder and Liquitex matte gel medium to depict a wall and it’s wooden beams. The pub had lots of Gallery Walls of mirrors, clocks and frames so I cut out a variety of frames and mirrors from magazines and brochures and then filled them with a butterfly design paper and reminders of our time at the pub. This included images from the pump clips of our two favourite beers of the evening, a raffle ticket we were given to pay for our beers at the bar, The Taps signage and a ‘thank you’ which I stamped on a piece of the butterfly paper. I used a black Uni Pin marker and white Uniball gel pen to emphasis the wood grain on the wooden beams and to add detail to the frames and pictures.  There were lots of different lamps at the pub too so I added a lovely copper shade image which I fussy cut from a brochure. The number stickers are coloured black using a Sharpie permanent marker, they signify the number of beers we had and our first place in the pub quiz. To finish I added the pint glasses and coloured the beer using Spectrum Aqua markers, these colours match our two favourite beers.

As this page is telling the story of the fun time we had at the thank you party, I’m pleased to be able to join Erica who is hosting this month’s theme “Tell me a Story” over at Art Journal Journey.

bar-2

The Taps has recently been renovated and has a lovely old pub feel with a modern twist. One thing that hasn’t changed is the large selection of quality beers on offer, with 12 hand pumps at the bar.

bathroom

Many of the areas had Gallery Walls and I particularly liked this butterfly wallpaper and bank of framed mirrors – as you might have guessed this is the ladies toilets/restroom.

bottled-beer

The quiz was fun; you had to work out the names of the breweries from the pictures provided. We managed to get eight out of the ten correct and won first prize, taking home some bottled beer.

beer

My favourite beer was the Farmers Belgian Blue by Bradfield brewery in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, which is a dark winter beer with Christmassy berry flavours (4.9% abv) and was actually a blue purple colour when it was first poured before settling down to a normal dark chestnut shade. My hubby preferred a golden beer called Hopstar Saaz Blonde from Darwen, Lancashire which was brewed with extra pale malt and Saaz hops for a light refreshing finish (4%). As T Stands for Tuesday I’m joining the T Gang and wishing everyone a very Happy T Day!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye, Crushed Corduroy)
  • Michele Marsden Crafts Scrumptious Precious Metal Sprizer (Copper)
  • Colourcraft Brusho Colours (Dark Brown)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Dark Sepia 175, Black 199)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Yellow, Burgundy)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm and 0.8mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Sharpie Fine Point Permanent Marker (Black)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamps (WDW Alpha Stamp DCVW0030)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Sketchy CS878)
  • Hampton Arts Doddlebug Design Inc. cling mounted rubber stamps (Thankful ICO162)
  • Poundland Design Pad (Urban Style CR0701/16PL2)
  • Pub Quiz page
  • Raffle ticket
  • Magazines and brochures
  • Anita’s Outline Stickers (Mixed Numbers Silver ANT8101013)
  • Hobbycraft Outline Stickers (Gold Harmony 5934031001)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
45 thoughts on “Thank You Party at The Taps

  1. I love everything about this journal page, including the circles with butterflies that reminded me of the mirrors in the restroom. Congrats on winning for prize with your beer answers.

    I loved the look of the pub and your beer. I really enjoyed the beauty of it echoed in your lovely journal page. Thanks for sharing this with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post – for sure – brings a smile in the face of every beer- enthusiast!
    Great Journal page to memorate the nice event and so well done!
    I love how beautiful the collage turned out!
    Happy T-Day dear Jo!
    Thank you for linking the fab page to AJJ!
    Great!

    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. this pub Looks so cool! i would like to have the Label on the ghost ship bottle. and to me it is no surprise you won – you are a beer expert! congratulations!
    happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure I’m an expert, but it was fun taking part :-). I love the ghost ship label too and it’s brewed by a great brewery too. Once we have drunk the delicious beer, it will probably make it’s way onto onto a onto a journal page :-). Thanks so much and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  4. What a great journal page. I love the olde worlde look about it and when you explain what it all represents, it’s even greater!
    That bar is certainly beer-heaven. I love going to places like that. We went to a similar place in Kopenhagen. They were famous for having so many different beers and we ordered a taster platter with several different beers (plus info). But they didn’t have that many draught as far as I can remember. It was so busy that we couldn’t easily get to the bar.
    Welldone for winning the quiz. Sounds like you had a fab evening!
    Have a good week,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your journal page and the bar! What a lovely place! I love black beer but I can’t drink it due to liver problems. Love your photos. How interesting to get to know different cultures!Happy T Day! J 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A fantastic journal page to keep your memories of the evening out. The pub looks so traditional, it must have had a lovely atmosphere to be in with friends. Godd for you to win the quiz as well.
    Happy T day
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mr Magpie would be extra excited with such a fine array of draft beers on tap.
    The bottled beers all look and sound special too.
    We like trying beer “flights” as it is a nice way to sample five or so brews at a time.
    Great thank you for your volunteer work.
    The background of your journal page mesmerizes me and creates a perfect backdrop for the bits you’ve added. Brilliant creation once again Jo!
    I so appreciate a thoughtfully decorated bathrooms and enjoy snapping photos of them too 😉
    Those mirrors sure are fun.
    Wishing you a Happy T Day from rainy and grey Virginia, USA
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Patty! It was a fun evening and we enjoyed trying all the different beers :-). G really likes the background too and I had fun adding all the different materials to achieve this old pub look. Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  8. They should post your great journal page at Taps. What fun it must be to enter the beer quiz. Since I know nearly nothing about beer I wouldnt be much competition but I’m sure I would enjoy myself just the same. Blue beer might make me a beer drinker after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a fun evening it must have been: very cool place; free dinner; fun quiz; and 1st prize! Congratulations. You made a great journal page to commemorate a special time. Happy T Day, Jo!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congratulations on winning the trivia contest! Your journal page certainly captured the atmosphere of the pub. They could use your page as the background of the bar! I loved the bar with its beautiful wood and the light from the glasses and taps. I have never seen so many taps. Happy T Day

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So many details – I am very impressed, your page is stunning! I like the “old”-effect and the frames! Gratulation to the first prize!
    I did not know, that there exist so many different beers!
    Rike xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

