Wintry Lighthouse

I received a Christmas card with a lighthouse on from my friend which inspired this page. I thought it would also tie into this month’s theme “Light & Darkness” over at Art Journal Journey, so I have created this lighthouse page which brings light to the wintry darkness.

wintry-lighthouse-ajp-2I applied Distress ink onto an acrylic block and spritzed it with water, then smooshed it onto the page. Next I stamped a diamond background, an abstract star burst and stars using different colours of Memento Ink, layering the stamp images across the page to create a patterned background. The beams of light are paper cut from a vintage paper design pad and are stuck down using a UHU Stic. The lighthouse is drawn onto paper from the same pad and also cut out, the stripes are washi tape and I added detail with a black Uni Pin marker. For the sea I drew wave outlines with a black Uni Pin and a white Uniball gel pen, then with a craft knife I cut the waves where the lighthouse is positioned. I inserted the lighthouse through the page and stuck it down with a UHU Stic, securing it on the back of the page with tape. I like the way the waves look like they are crashing against the lighthouse and to define them more I stencilled dots using Distress Ink and a blending tool. I cut a piece of white card and covered it with tin foil to create the moon in the night sky, it is stuck to the page using a UHU Stic. To create a winter theme I splattered the page with white acrylic paint and added snowflake and white dot sparkly stickers. To finish I added small silver stickers to the side of the lighthouse beacon to depict the light that shines out.

stars

Just as the lighthouse glows in the dark so do the snowflake stickers on my page.

dscf0962-copya

The lighthouse on the card reminded me of our travels to Maine in America. This is the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth which is the oldest lighthouse in Maine dating back to 1791.

cormarants

The lighthouse is located in Fort Williams Park with several other historic buildings and we had a lovely walk along the pathway looking down over the rocks and saw some cormorants too!

dscf1327-copy2a

On the way back we spotted a sailing boat coming round the Head Light.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Chipped Sapphire)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog, Paris Dusk, Grape Jelly)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Script metallic pen (Silver)
  • Colvin & Co Artist’s Acrylic (Titanium White)
  • Art Impressions wood mounted rubber stamp (Diamond Background T3335)
  • Sugerloaf Inc. Anita’s wood mounted rubber stamps (7146 Size G, 7140 Size A)
  • Creative Expressions That Special Touch Of Mica Masks (Distressed Dots)
  • The Works M&C Boutique paper pad (Design Block 25×25 cm)
  • White card
  • Tin Foil
  • The Works (3 Washi Tapes)
  • Home Bargains Wall Stickers (16221 & 16216)
  • Docraft’s Anita’s Glitterations (Dots – White ANT8181041)
  • UHU Stic
  • Masking tape
20 thoughts on “Wintry Lighthouse

  1. oh my goodness,your lihgthousepage looks awesome,love the dark stars and the blue touch of your page,beautiful.
    love your lighthouse photos,so beautiful nature,i wish be would be a there,
    wish you a nice sunday 🙂

    hugs jenny

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stunning results, especially the way the lighthouse seems to glow in the dark. That was a very clever addition.

    I also enjoyed seeing the lighthouse in Maine. It’s amazing that ship sailed by about the time you were taking your walk. It’s a beautiful photo and a once in a lifetime memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this is brilliant! All the different patterns in it! Wow! An amazing page is this!
    The photos are beautiful as well – a lighthouse is a great idea to the theme – very inspiring!
    Thanks for joining us again at Art Journal Journey Jo and I wish you a good new week ahead!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is totally amazing how you made it, and the picture is amazing too, I seriously love it.
    Yes, I have a question – how on earth do you think of all these techniques and materials? I’m riveted as I read each one. I was going to mention a few, but how can I choose? – the waves. the beam of light, the washi tape stripes on the lighthouse, the diamonds in the sky, the tin foil moon – everything really.
    Love the last photo with the sweet boat and the lighthouse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very kind, thanks for your lovely comments on my blog! In answer to your question … I have to say I’m quite a creative person and think outside the norm when it comes to materials, anything goes in my book :-). I prefer to create as I go and not think to much otherwise I procrastinate. I usually have an idea for a page and look through my craft stash for inspiration too :-). I also have to say sometimes my inspiration comes from the need to cover up something I don’t like – an idea doesn’t always work out (hee, hee) :-). I always learn something from each page I create and I like to experiment on my pages – these are two of the things I love about art journaling! By the way, I’m so glad you a blogging again and I hope you are fully rested now and enjoying the festive season and that your Christmas preparations are going to plan.
      Wishing you happiness! J 🙂 x

      Like

  5. Nice idea for light and darkness. A lighthouse…really clever. And I like your idea of the winter lighthouse too. You have such intricate details! And great seeing your photos of Portland Headlight. I love visiting there. My husband is actually from Cape Elizabeth. In the winter they put a giant wreath on it which is very festive. I really enjoyed your post today Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many great ideas and fantastic details and techniques.
    Your page is really magical Jo and would make such a wonderful Christmas card.
    Love the addition of the glow in the dark snowflakes. There’s some Pebeo paint that does that, I used some on some ornaments but not sure I put enough on – so still experimenting with that.
    Thanks for the lovely comments about my Steampunk tree too.
    Hope you have a great week.. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

