Merry and Bright

With December finally here, it’s time to start putting up our Christmas decorations and make the house Merry & Bright. This page is inspired by the colourful tissue paper that wrapped three beautiful felt trees that my friends from America sent us for Christmas last year.

merry-bright-ajp

I started by gluing the patterned tissue paper onto the whole page using Winsor & Newton Matt Gel. Then I drew and cut out three tree templates and a circle, and used them to mask off the tissue paper. I covered the background with white gesso, it took quite a few coats of gesso to cover the tissue paper and I soon realised that I had to be careful as the wet gesso made the dye in the tissue paper run. I really like how it turned out with the pattern just showing through which is just the look I wanted. I arranged four different stamps featuring framed festive images and also the words “winter wonderland wishes” onto an acrylic block, this allowed the spacing of the stamps to be consistent across the page. I then applied a different colour ink to each stamp on the acrylic block and stamped it over the background of the page in a repeating pattern. Next I added blue shading around the Christmas trees using ink and a blending tool so it looked like the trees are glowing with light. I removed the template masks and stamped a blue bow onto the top of each tree. Then I outlined the circle, bows and trees with glitter paint, filling in the trunks with the paint and left it to dry overnight as it smudges easily. The glitter paint really adds so much sparkle and shimmer to this page, which isn’t fully captured in the photo. I added a heart gemstone in the centre of each bow and also gem embellishments to each framed festive stamp. For the sentiment, I cut out a circle of white card and coloured it using blue ink and a blending tool so it was slightly darker around the edges. I then stamped the sentiment in the centre using two different stamps and stuck it over the tissue paper circle using double-sided foam tape. Then to finish I added gem embellishments and painted glitter paint to the edge of the sentiment and the light bulbs to add a twinkle effect.

trees

Whilst decorating the house for Christmas, these three lovely trees and their tissue paper fired up my imagination. Here they are in all their splendour hanging in our hallway on the cloakroom door. I love how the different shades of green from the felt trees echoes some of our beautiful stained glass windows. Our house was built in the 1920’s in an Edwardian style and still has 10 of the original stained glass windows left. As we make our houses Merry & Bright with decorations for Christmas, I am pleased to be able to join Valerie over at Art Journal Journey, with her new December theme of “Light and Darkness”.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Winsor & Newton White Gesso
  • Dylon 3D Glitter Paint (Silver)
  • Hobbycraft (Assorted Ink Pads)
  • Kars cleat stamps (Christmas figures in window 18009/2037)
  • Hallmark Cards (Christmas stamp set)
  • Stamp sets free with magazines (Simply Cards and Papercraft Issue 142 – Winter Wonderland & Wishes, Quick Cards Made Easy Issue 146 – Festive Silhouettes Luxury Stamp Set)
  • Tissue paper
  • White card
  • Habico 3mm self-adhesive gem stones (Festive Assortment)
  • The Range (Shaped Gem Stickers CR0521)
  • Hobbycraft Self Adhesive Gems (Assorted Square 5666141000)
  • Winsor & Newton Matt Gel
  • The Range Double-sided foam tape
20 thoughts on “Merry and Bright

  1. This is a gorgeous page, merry and bright indeed, and glittering as well, just lovely. There are so many details to see. Thanks for joining us at AJJ, much appreciated, as always. I am very envious of those wonderful stained glass windows, how good that they have survived over the years. Have a lovely evening, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy joyful colours – great page Jo. The ‘Merry and Bright’ very apt! 🙂
    Love your stained glass windows – I had to make do with making some faux effects on some double doors here, but now they are fading – can’t beat the real thing can you.
    Hope you’ve had a great weekend and it’s not too cold up at your end of the world.
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Gill! I’ve had a great weekend thank you, busy putting up decorations and baking :-). Been out for some walks too, it’s been lovely – sunny and cold so I made sure I wrapped up warm :-). Wishing you a great start to the week! J 🙂

      Like

  3. A gorgeous page, I feel the festive season is close by when looking at it. The stained glass on your window looks beautiful as well. the light on them must be wonderful. You sound like you had a great weekend decorating your home.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning and gorgeous! Once again, I am in awe of the way you echo your own life in your journal pages. Those felt trees are stunning, but the windows really set the trees off. Then, your journal trees turn the page into something that is a masterpiece. Your art always makes me happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Smart idea for the latest AJJ theme Jo. I love the happy feel to your trees. And love your door decorations too. The stained glass above your door is really beautiful. I really like the colors. Happy December. Wow, can you believe its 3 weeks until Christmas. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A wonderful page Jo, just adorable! Thank you for linking to AJJ!
    Your wonderful decoration matches this beautiful stained glass window perfectly!
    Wishing you a goodl new week and thank you for your visits and lovely comments on my blog!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your page looks really merry & bright! Wonderful with all the details, the glittering and fresh colors!
    I can imagine how spectacular the glass window is when there the sun is shining through!
    Happy new week!
    Rike xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

