Winter Art Fair

Last weekend I went to Lytham Hall where there was a Winter Art Fair being held. There were over 50 different arts and crafts stalls and I had a great time chatting to the stall holders about their work. Most of the artists were local to this area and some of the money raised goes to help with Lytham Hall’s restoration.

winter-art-fair-ajp

I started by applying Winsor & Newton grey watercolour paint with a baby wipe, blending the colour so it was darker round the edges of the page. I toned this colour down by applying a thin layer of white gesso. Next I stamped grey snowflakes using London Fog Memento Ink all around the edge of the page to create a border in keeping with the winter theme. I used the same stamp to add small snowflakes intermittently around the border using blue Memento Ink. I then created a collage with the business cards that I had collected from the stall holders and a picture of Lytham Hall which I cut from a leaflet, sticking them to the page using a UHU Stic. I outlined them with a black fine line Uni Pin marker and then added the snowflakes which are stickers to enhance the winter feel. As the fair was busy I wanted to capture this by creating lots of things to look at on the page. I picked up a flyer advertising the fair, so I used this on the page too, along with “Hopeful and Glorious” who are the people running the fair. They are fussy cut, outlined with a black Sharpie and a Uni Pin marker then stuck to the page using double-sided foam tape. I also added some shimmer and shine to them using a Wink of Stella shimmer pen and glitter glue so they looked like the snowflakes had settled on them. To finish I added the blue glossy gel sticker dots and stars. I think this page captures the Winter Fair’s magic!

ceramics

I particularly liked these 4 stalls, firstly a ceramic artist who makes fine porcelain and uses lace to pattern her items.

typewriter

Secondly, an artist who uses a typewriter to create images – check out the video on her site, it’s an amazing way to create art!

laser-cut

Thirdly, a lady who makes laser cut wooden pictures of our town.

print-fabric

And finally, this lady creates beautiful art pieces from fabrics on which she has printed her own photos, so each piece has a wonderful back story.

I was glad to be able to help support Lytham Hall, which was built in the 1750’s and was the home of the Clifton Family, on whose land our whole town was built. The building and remaining grounds fell into neglect and has now been bought for the benefit of the town and is slowly being restored.

I am also delighted to be able to share our lovely day out with everyone over at Art Journal Journey for this month’s theme “No face, no wings, no leaves but COLLAGE”.  

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Winsor & Newton Cotmann Watercolour (Payne’s Gray)
  • Memento Ink (London Fog, Bahama Blue)
  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush artist pen (Cold Grey IV 233)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Sharpie Permanent Fine Point marker (Black)
  • Clear Impressions stamp set (Woodland Christmas)
  • Home Bargains Season’s Greetings (Wall Stickers 16221)
  • Home Bargains stickers (Mini Gel Stickers 30287)
  • Business cards, leaflets and flyer
  • Zig Memory System Wink of Stella Brush (GL. Clear 999)
  • The Range glitter glue (3D Glue Pen GLT 4321000)
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range Double-sided foam tape
14 thoughts on “Winter Art Fair

  1. A lovely interesting collage page, with all the added pieces to remember your visit to the fair.
    . I was so pleased to see the photos you were able to take of the stalls. Folk where you live seem a lot more photograph friendly than here
    Yvonne xx.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne! It was such a fun day out and after I had chatted with the stall holders I asked if I could take photos of their stalls to share with my blog friends and they were happy to oblige :-). Have a great weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  2. What a fabulous page to commemorate this super event ! Thank you for the photos from the art fair! I was impressed by the typewriter artist! Just super!
    Thank you very much for joining the November theme once more with a beautiful piece of art!
    Happy weekend dear Jo!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Susi! I’m sure we’ll be having a happy and fun weekend – we plan to visit the fair again as there will be some different stalls and it’s our town’s Christmas Light switch on too :-). Wishing you a happy weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  3. I love this type of fair, always interesting and inspiring! And, such a lovely setting too.
    Great page Jo!
    I’m off to my church Christmas bazaar this morning, not quite the same, but will be fun.
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Alison x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a great commemorative journal page about the winter fair. What’s great is how you used the artist cards you picked up, so if you want to find out who they were later on you’ll know where to find it. Better than me-I would lose the cards into the clutter of life. I think you must have really enjoyed this fair. The typewriter art is amazing and how unique. Hope all is well. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve said it before, but I love the way you record your life with these marvellous arty pages, and then share it with us. I like the way the snowflakes are “falling” on your page, the picture of Lytham Hall (what a beautiful frontage) and the way the artists’ cards represent the busy-ness of the event.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

