This is Your Time to Shine

I particularly like this quote and thought it would look great for Autumn so I created this page, I hope you like it. I am also pleased to be able to join Valerie over at Art Journal Journey with this month’s theme “Indian Summer – Golden October – Autumn”.

this-is-your-time-to-shine-ajp

I decided to experiment and use only Spectrum Aqua markers for the colour on this page, so I diluted gold Spectrum Aqua marker ink with water on an acrylic block, then smooshed it onto the page. I kept the colour around the edge of the page pulling it towards the centre so the intensity of colour faded as it reached the middle. Then I painted white gesso in the centre of the page and pulled it outwards towards the edge making sure the gold border could still be seen. Next I stamped different leaves over the gold border making sure that each leaf design was a different colour. I did this by applying the Spectrum Aqua marker directly to the stamp then stamping it, gradually building up the leaves to frame the page. I stamped the quote into the centre over the white gesso using Archival Ink because it gives the lettering a cleaner finish. Next I added the fabric leaves, red gem stones and gold sequins, which finish the page nicely.sun-leaves

Erica’s recent post prompted me into reminiscing about the spectacular fall foliage in New England which we saw on our last holiday in that area. This picture was taken along the Kancamagus Highway in New Hampshire and I think it really captures my journal page design beautifully and as you can see the leaves really do shine!

us

We also took this photo too and we loved it so much that it is in our hallway, it is a lovely reminder of our trip which was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

waterfalls

This was a little way down the road, we stopped to walk amongst the breathtaking autumn foliage and followed the trail up to some beautiful waterfalls.

fire-truck

We travelled to New Hampshire from Maine and stopped to visit the Fryeburg Fair on the way. This photo was taken as we were entering the fair and was near a display of vintage fire trucks/engines  – the scene made me smile as the tree looks like it’s on fire!

leaves

The foliage was stunning and we have such happy memories of our trip!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Gold, Orange, Sepia, Terracotta, Scarlet, Burgundy)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • BoBunny stamp (Falling Leaves #12105154)
  • Papermania 2 pack A-Z clear stamps (Leftover Alphabet PMA9071102)
  • The Works (Craft Leaves)
  • Poundland (Assorted Accessories)
  • Poundland (504 Gems)
  • UHU Stic
  • Zig Memory System 2 Way Glue (The Dual Action Glue Pen)
16 thoughts on “This is Your Time to Shine

  1. Your journal page is lovely, the leaves and glitter and shine really give an autumnal feeling. The photos are wonderful, too, those colours are always so gorgeous. Glad you had a great journey to New Hampshire. Have a nice weekend, and thanks so much for joining us again at AJJ, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderful page Jo -.– and fantastic photos! Gosh that colors are so beautiful! I can imagine that you enjoyed that trip at that time of the year there!
    Thank you for sharing and thank you for another fabulous entry to AJJ!
    Happy start of the weekend!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Susi! We love autumn and have always wanted to see the fall foliage in New England, I have to say it didn’t disappoint – the colours were spectacular and we had a fabulous time :-). Wishing you a very happy weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  3. Its a gorgeous page, the colours are breathtaking,I loved the fabric ones you added as well.
    The foliage where you live and take your trips to looks beautiful in the autumn, super photos of you and your husband.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I even showed my hubby this post. Love your piece- but how fun to see your photos from the Kancamagus. I had never been there during foliage time and I can tell 3 years ago it was as beautiful as it was last weekend. Its fun to see other photos. That is a great one of your and your husband. I can see why you framed it. I have never been to the Fryeburg Fair (I have been to some other fairs) and maybe I should put that on my list for next year. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your journal page is really lovely Jo, and you certainly have captured all the beautiful colours in your fabulous photos… the scenery is amazing – thanks for sharing.
    Have a lovely week… Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! What great inspiration you had for this beautiful page! I love the range of colours you have used! I think I would love New Hampshire but don’t suppose I will ever visit so it was especially lovely to see your photos! Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

