Every Leaf is a Flower

I find Autumn is so inspiring with all its different shades of gold, orange, red, brown and yellow. I love this season and I’m pleased to be able to join Valerie’s “Indian Summer – Autumn – Golden October” challenge over at Art Journal Journey.

every-leaf-is-a-flower-ajp

To start I stippled areas of white gesso over the page using a paint brush. I then added apricot and parchment Liquitex acrylic paint using a palette knife and added some grey watercolour paint, blending all of these paints together using a baby wipe. I stamped leaf images with Royal & Langnickel stamps using Faber-Castell Big Brush marker ink, and then flicked some of their sanguine ink which I had diluted with water onto the page. Next I tore three strips of decoupage paper and stuck it to the page using a UHU Stic. The image of the beautiful lady is the packaging from the decoupage paper and I arranged the image so it looks like she is leaning back onto a wall or pillar. I stamped the quote onto tissue paper using Archival Ink and stuck it to the page using a UHU Stic, when the glue had dried I coloured it with a Spectrum Aqua Marker and outlined it with diluted Big Brush marker ink using a paint brush. I added the flower embellishments using a Zig Memory glue pen to her hair and cascading down the page with the leaves.

wreath

I love flower arranging and in my hall we display a different homemade wreath every season. I never tire of seeing these beautiful autumn leaves.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Liquitex Artist Color Acrylic (Apricot, Parchment)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush artist pen (Sanguine 188 B, Cold Grey IV 233, Dark Sepia 175 B)
  • Range Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Slate)
  • Royal & Langnickel Clear Choice stamps (Pressed Leaves MIN-CCS102)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN Alpha Stmp DCVW0050)
  • Santora Decoupage Paper (SNDEC044)
  • Poundland flowers (Accessories Pack)
  • White tissue paper
  • UHU Stic
  • Zig Memory System 2 Way Glue (The Dual Action Glue Pen)

 

20 thoughts on “Every Leaf is a Flower

  1. This is a stunning page Jo, with the beautiful thoughtful look on the lady’s face. I think she loves autumn. I have that quote in mind to use as well this month, it is a lovely one to go with your page. Your door decoration looks so welcoming and colourful.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a beautiful page Jo. Your lady is so princess like, only minus her crown.:) I’m with you, fall is a gorgeous season. I love the cooler temperatures and the colors of fall. Hope all is well. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Erica! The decoupage packaging was so nice I just had to use the beautiful lady on my page :-). Glad you are enjoying the cooler temperatures and the fall colours – I love autumn too! Wishing you a great week! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

